We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Right downtown, excellent service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt At Olive 8

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt At Olive 8 to your Saves list
Hyatt At Olive 8
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1635 8th Avenue, Seattle, WA 98101   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Bed & Breakfast for Two
Ranked #20 of 95 Hotels in Seattle
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Palo Alto, CA
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Right downtown, excellent service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

We stayed overnight for the UW graduation on June. The front desk staff was very welcoming. The room was spacious and quiet. We were on the 8th floor and the view is what I would call "downtown", looking at other buildings, yet not bad. Ask for a higher floor to get the better views. Room rate was reasonable for a graduation weekend. Overall, if you're looking for a central location in Seattle, this is a good bet.

Room Tip: Upper floor, ask for a corner room.
See more room tips
Green Features: Very green. Recently remodeled to LEED certification.
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeattleHyattHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt At Olive 8, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Thank you for your comments. We're very glad that you had an enjoyable stay with us. We love that our central downtown location allows our guests easy access to local attractions, restaurants and entertainment. We look forward to having you back with us on your next visit to Seattle.

Sarah S.
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    653
    379
    78
    20
    11
See reviews for
186
369
93
343
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

Stayed here for three nights for a conference. Great environmentally-friendly hotel with good service. The rooms are nicely-sized with great, modern bathrooms. Stay on the 8th floor and you get a nice rooftop view of their green space. This is a solid four star hotel experience.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

The location of this hotel was excellent it was a short walk to Pike Place Market and a shorter walk to the rail station that takes you directly to the space needle. The staff were very formal but polite, it is quite obviously a business hotel but they were still extremely helpful and the concierge, a friendly gentleman arranged and booked a trip for me and had excellent advice on restaurants, shops and other places to visit, reception provided maps on check in and were genuinely more than happy to help in every way (was lucky enough to have my room ready although I arrived earlier than the allocated check in time and also allowed my room an hour later than the usual check out time). The room was very spacious the bed comfortable and the bathroom beyond what I usually expect. I did not use the toiletries as I prefer my own but they looked nice enough. Both bathroom and room were very clean, the coffee machine looked almost new as did the bathrobes/towels and bed linen. They cater for the modern day traveller in that they have facilities for charging iphones and other usb chargers. The only slight problem was the sound proofing. I could literally hear the conversation, word for word, coming from the couple occupying the room next door - this is not ideal and something which the hotel should look to address as I was rather lucky in that the noise wasn't disruptive late in the night.

Room Tip: The higher up the better!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

We just returned from our trip to Seattle over the July 4th holiday. This hotel was wonderful to us. We had a rough trip as our first flight was delayed, then we had an unexpected plane change and Southwest lost our luggage. We basically arrived at the hotel with nothing. They were very accommodating and offered us a $50 voucher at the hotel restaurant. We thought that was very nice and it allowed us to relax a bit and enjoy the remainder of our first day. We asked them to call us, no matter the time, when our luggage arrived and they brought it to us at 4am. Thought it was a pain (that's Southwest's fault) we were thankful to wake up with our things so we could shower and get ready for a full day in Seattle. The rooms were clean and very nice. We received fresh towels every day. We didn't have a chance to visit but we heard the gym was very nice too. I would definitely recommend this hotel if you want to stay downtown but not pay quite as much as some of the other hotels. It was walking distance from everything.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeattleHyattHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt At Olive 8, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Thank you for your comments. We're so glad that we helped your difficult day end well. We always want to provide genuine hospitality to our guests and ensure that they feel welcomed and comfortable, it's wonderful that this is what you experienced. We would love to have you stay with us again during your next trip to Seattle.

Sarah S.
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washington state
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

I stayed here last year because I was attending a concert acrossed the street and I wanted to stay close by so we could just walk and it was the closest hotel to the venue. I was SO extremely happy with it. I love that it's a green and eco friendly hotel as a "wannabe hippie" this made me very pleased. We used our triple A card and with that, it gave us breakfast for free in their restaurant on site and I again was very pleased mostly organic food and SUPER yummy! hotel is very modern and I have no complaints. Bed was comfy, bathroom spacious, very clean. Parking was a little pricey but this is downtown seattle and thats to be expected.

Room Tip: definitely eat in the restaurant!
See more room tips
Green Features: I LOVE this aspect of it!! Makes me feel very good about staying here, the toilet was easy to use, the decor was all still very modern looking, everything about it was wonderful
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunnyvale, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

I visit Seattle often, and have stayed at many of its finest hotels (including Westin, Sheraton, Renaissance and many more). The Hyatt at Olive 8 is by far the best hotel I've stayed at.

This is a new hotel with very clean and comfortable rooms. The space in the room is very well utilized, the furniture is nice, the bed is comfortable and the lighting is pleasant.

However, the thing I liked the most in this hotel is the attention to details. All those little things that annoy me in most hotels were absent here. The internet service was superb, the bed sheets are not too warm and not too cold, the air conditioner is easy to control (and also obedient), all the electrical outlets are easy to reach, the lighting is easy to control, the towels are soft, the room was (by default) equipped with a bathrobe, toothpaste, q-tips and cotton balls, the TV was of a high quality and there was an empty mini-bar to store my food. In addition, the gym is fantastic. It so well equipped compared to other hotel gyms that it saved me from going to my regular Seattle gym.

It was a great pleasure to stay there, and I will definitely return!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeattleHyattHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt At Olive 8, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Thank you for your review! We're so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We always try to ensure that our guests have everything they need for a comfortable and relaxing stay. That's wonderful that you got to try out the fitness center and hope that your visit also included a dip in our heated saline-lap pool. We hope to see you again on your next trip to Seattle.

Sarah S.
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orinda, California
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

Wow from the lobby to the rooms to the resturant-this is a great downtown local-that is youthful and clean and modern-attending a conference and will be abck. Great rate and I loved my stay-wish I had time for spa

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt At Olive 8? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt At Olive 8

Address: 1635 8th Avenue, Seattle, WA 98101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Seattle
#7 Spa Hotel in Seattle
#12 Luxury Hotel in Seattle
#12 Business Hotel in Seattle
#18 Family Hotel in Seattle
#20 Romantic Hotel in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt At Olive 8 4*
Number of rooms: 346
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seattle Green Hotel. Sleek modern design and environmental responsibility converge seamlessly at Hyatt at Olive 8. Designed to be the first LEED certified hotel in the city, Seattle’s newest hotel represents a new echelon for sustainability in the Pacific Northwest. Boasting an array of innovative energy and water saving features, the hotel offers guests the ability to continue their sustainable lifestyle while traveling. A few blocks outside our glass doors are historic Pike Place Market and Puget Sound. Eco-friendly dining and spa amenities present a resort atmosphere in a vibrant city setting. Exuding the best of the Pacific Northwest spirit, brilliant form is combined with environmental function to create a new definition of luxury in downtown Seattle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hyatt At Olive 8 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt At Olive 8 Hotel Seattle
Hyatt Hotel Seattle
At Olive 8 Hyatt

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt At Olive 8, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.