We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Hip Hyatt” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt At Olive 8

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt At Olive 8 to your Saves list
Hyatt At Olive 8
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1635 8th Avenue, Seattle, WA 98101   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Double Your Points
Ranked #19 of 97 Hotels in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“A Hip Hyatt”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

Stay here and avoid the overpriced Regency across the street!

The service is better and this pace has a bar with local craft brews and a happy hour! Can't beat $4 20oz drafts on a Friday night after 10pm! And it sure beats the $20 Crown Royal at Ruth's Chris at the Regency.

The rooms are great and the front desk is superbly trained!

We are already looking to go back to this hotel in February!

Green Features: Total green hotel with key card activated lights and low flow fixtures. Great job!
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeattleHyattHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt At Olive 8, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Thank you for your review. It's so wonderful that you enjoyed your stay with us. We love that we can offer a great happy hour with local choices at Urbane. Our main goal is to provide all our guests with genuine hospitality and the recognition of "superb" service is what we strive for. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Seattle.

Sarah S.
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,248 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    723
    412
    82
    20
    11
See reviews for
213
394
99
376
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013 via mobile

We loved everything about this hotel. The rooms were extra clean and the beds were super comfy. We ate at the hotel restaurant multiple times and were never disappointed. We were pleased with the location only a fees blocks away from the Nordstroms flagship store. Finally, the large indoor pool was delightful. We will definitely return!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
148 helpful votes 148 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

My husband and I booked the lowest category room at Hyatt at Olive 8 and were upgraded at time of booking to a luxury king suite by Gold Passport and the front desk manager (I had a Hyatt customer relations upgrade available to use on this stay). When we checked in, we were pleasantly surprised to be notified that we had been further upgraded into the governor's suite (room 1767). The suite is laid out very comfortably - Nespresso Citiz in the kitchen, gas fireplace in the living room, two bathrooms, in-mirror GV & Bose ceiling speakers in master bath, and (the best perk of all!) an iMac in the office of the suite. Housekeeping was thorough throughout our three night stay at Olive 8, and we had all our requests for toiletries/amenities fulfilled in 15 minutes or less.

Hyatt Diamond members have breakfast/brunch in the hotel restaurant off the lobby on the first floor, and we had $26.50/person breakfast credit applied every day (tax and 20% gratuity also covered).

The location is ideal for a touristy stay in Seattle - it's about a 15 minute walk to Pike's Place, Seattle Symphony, Fine Arts Museum, and shopping was very accessible in the surrounding blocks. Would certainly recommend to friends & family!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ft Lauderdale
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

This hotel has the potential to be a good hotel. If they can listen to what their customers are saying, and respond accordingly they would be better served, as in any business.
For instance, we ordered three courses from room service at 11:30 pm with two drinks. We received two courses and one set of silverware.
We were told repeatedly our room would have floor to ceiling windows - it does not, but it does have wall to wall windows.
We were told our room would be on the top three floors - it was on the fourth, even though I called the day of to confirm. The front desk made several errors in regard to our reservation, but we did receive an apology. Perhaps I was not well heard with the very loud music in the background that I could hear when I called to speak to the frank desk.
The rooms are definitely tailored to the business man, without femininity or conveniences for plugs in appropriate places or trays for jewelry in the smaller bathrooms. The lotion smelled like men's cologne. A small coffee in the lobby in the morning cost about $5 with a tip.
Great thing about the hotel - the fitness center and the yoga! Saturday morning yoga was beautiful, and it was the best thing about the hotel.

Room Tip: Don't expect a guaranteed room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santa cruz
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

We had a great stay the Hyatt Olive 8. I thought the location was perfect. We took the light rail from the airport and the Hyatt is only a few blocks from the station. We walked everywhere from the hotel, it's close to the Public Market and the Space Needle/EMP Museum. It was a bit of a hike to those places but personally I enjoyed all the walking because we were eating so much while we were there.
The hotel itself is very clean and modern. The rooms are very comfortable, with plenty of space and designed well. I thought the bed was very comfortable. I loved the "Hyatt Has It" feature. If you forgot anything they will send it up to you no charge to use while you are there. Our room was very quiet and we didn't experience any of the noise issues mentioned in other reviews. We were on the top floor so maybe that made a difference.
The pool area was very nice and the locker room was spotless. After walking around all day in the cold air, soaking in the hot tub and steam room was a perfect way to end the afternoon.
We celebrated our anniversary while in Seattle and Victoria sent us a nice bottle of champagne to our room. Very nice. All the staff we encountered were very helpful and friendly. I can't wait to stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room when making reservations.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013 via mobile

Have stayed at Olive 8 a couple of different times. It's a nice hotel with one particular thing that drives me crazy. While they pride themselves on being a L.E.D. certified hotel, the showers are terrible! To begin with the shower has no door which by itself is not a bad thing, what I find to be the problem is the water flow is so little (geared toward conserving water) that I freeze because there is not enough water to keep but only about 1/3 of my body in water. I get wet then 2/3rd's of my body is out of contact with the water and there is no door in which to trap the heat so I have to crank up the heat in the entire room (wasting energy) just to attempt to be comfortable in the short time I'm in the shower. Having been in different rooms it is a basic problem with which I have no sensible solution to offer but it's significant enough we won't be staying there again. Other than freezing in the shower, it's a nice hotel.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasilia, DF
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

Good hotel, well located. But pricey. Well, Seattle is expensive. Close to restaurants, movie theatres, cafés and Westlake Station - which is very good if you are taking the metro from the airport. Walking distance to the Pike Place Market.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt At Olive 8? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt At Olive 8

Address: 1635 8th Avenue, Seattle, WA 98101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Seattle
#7 Spa Hotel in Seattle
#12 Luxury Hotel in Seattle
#12 Business Hotel in Seattle
#15 Family Hotel in Seattle
#17 Romantic Hotel in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt At Olive 8 4*
Number of rooms: 346
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seattle Green Hotel. Sleek modern design and environmental responsibility converge seamlessly at Hyatt at Olive 8. Designed to be the first LEED certified hotel in the city, Seattle’s newest hotel represents a new echelon for sustainability in the Pacific Northwest. Boasting an array of innovative energy and water saving features, the hotel offers guests the ability to continue their sustainable lifestyle while traveling. A few blocks outside our glass doors are historic Pike Place Market and Puget Sound. Eco-friendly dining and spa amenities present a resort atmosphere in a vibrant city setting. Exuding the best of the Pacific Northwest spirit, brilliant form is combined with environmental function to create a new definition of luxury in downtown Seattle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com and Hotwire so you can book your Hyatt At Olive 8 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt At Olive 8 Hotel Seattle
Hyatt Hotel Seattle
At Olive 8 Hyatt

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt At Olive 8, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.