We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WOW!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt At Olive 8

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt At Olive 8 to your Saves list
Hyatt At Olive 8
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1635 8th Avenue, Seattle, WA 98101   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Double Your Points
Ranked #11 of 99 Hotels in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“WOW!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

I travel a fair amount for business and this is the nicest hotel that I've stayed at in quite some time. The exterior decor is striking. The front desk staff was incredibly accommodating and helpful as was the concierge. The rooms were very clean and without odor. The toiletries are good quality, too. On the last night, my sink drain backed up with some foul ooze. I notified the front desk upon check out and was immediately provided a discount on my stay. Very, very nice place.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eric67676
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeattleHyattHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt At Olive 8, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Thank you for your review. It's so great when our guests feel accomodated and comfortable as our goal is always to exceed your expectations. We apologize if the issue you experienced caused you any inconvenience, but it is wonderful that rectification was promptly and adequately handeled. We would love to welcome you back on your next trip to Seattle.

Sarah S.
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,646 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Washington
Level Contributor
93 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

The Olive 8 Hyatt is a really nice hotel green hotel. The rooms are well appointed, clean and comfy. The water pressure was great and no issues with sound (not sure what the other reviewer's experience was related to water pressure and noise). The staff is very friendly and helpful. This was a local weekend getaway for me and my husband to see a show in Seattle. We really enjoyed our stay. I would recommend this hotel to out-of-towners along with people local to the Seattle area. The location is near the major shopping area in downtown and near Pike Place, the waterfront and to the monorail for a quick ride to Seattle Center.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laurio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Was here for 3 nights for a tech conference in July 2013. Had a wonderful time, very knowledgeable staff and their concierge was excellent.

Our wifi was free because of the conference but warning to other travelers, wifi is not usually free. I think it's $8.95/day.

Location was 2 blocks away from Convention Center and a short walk to the major shopping streets and Pike Place.

Rooms were spacious and super nice!

Perfect place for business travelers, as they have a large business station (ports/printer) on a big desk right in the room.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda_from_the_Peg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lower 48
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

To fully enjoy this hotel you need to share their commitment to the "green" movement. Everything is oriented around saving energy and resources as gracefully as possible. Examples: to power up lights and AC, your room card must be inserted in a socket. The "refrigerator" is an unpowered insulated box.

Our "corner king" room was huge, with a walk-in shower (no door needed) and a very useful desk, with outlets on top and even an hdmi connection to the tv.

Housekeeping is excellent, prompt, and spotless.

Parking is expensive, but you're downtown in a big city, so what would you expect?

Room Tip: Try the corner king room for great views and space
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tangible
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

I planned my 20th anniversary without telling my wife that we are travelling to Seattle and Vancouver that week. So I made my airline reservations from Tampa to Seattle and reserved Five nights at Hyatt Olive 8 (and later extended it to a sixth night). I ended up telling my wife that we are travelling to Seattle without the kids a couple of days before our departure, but never told her what is waiting for her there. I called the hotel a day before our trip started and told them that it is our 20th anniversary and that I needed an upgrade to a corner room if possible. No surprise to me, they were very receptive and even offered me a very nice upgrade for a very small price. when we got there, they took us to a very nice corner room with panoramic views of the city. They put chocolate and nice drinks in the room, complimentary. They also left a nice note congratulating us of our 20th anniversary. They also included full breakfast every day for two in their restaurant, which was rather great.

The room was spacious, the views were great, the food was delicious, and most importantly, they made us feel very special.

THANK YOU HYATT SEATTLE AT OLIVE 8 FOR YOUR GREAT HOSPITALITY!

Room Tip: You can't go wrong with a corner room, it is really worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Redwan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeattleHyattHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt At Olive 8, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Thank you for your review! We're so glad that you decided to spend your anniversary with us! It's such a pleasure for us to be able to surprise and delight our guests especially on wonderful occaisions such as this. We hope the rest of your trip went just as well and would love to have you back with us on your next trip to Seattle.

Sarah S.
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Brand-new hotel, very clean, staff was extremely nice. However, the only two things I care about in a hotel (quiet; good [hot] water pressure), I found sorely lacking here. The walls/doors seemed paper-thin and the low-flow shower heads totally sucked.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank davidmihm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeattleHyattHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt At Olive 8, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Thank you for your review; your comfort and happiness is our number one priority here at the Hyatt at Olive 8. Please accept our sincerest apologies that your stay was anything less than perfect, our goal is always to exceed your expectations in every aspect of your stay. Thank you for bringing these issues to our attention as we always appreciate any feedback that will help us grow and improve. We hope this will not deter you from choosing Hyatt Hotels and Resorts in the future, and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Sarah S.
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

I picked this hotel for upcoming Sakura-Con back in March. I flew into Seattle and took the light rail to downtown. It's a 5 minute walk to get to the hotel which makes it very convenient. The hotel was very clean and organized and check in was fast. It's modern, staff was helpful with requests, nice indoor pool and hot tub. I didn't care about the "green hotel" certification stuff I mainly just used the room to sleep in and I was gone all day so if that's the stuff you're into go for it. My room had a "refrigerator lite" which is just a really low powered refrigerator that's only good enough to chill a drink. The outside illuminations look cool. Definitely recommend staying here.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CS373
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Downtown
Grand Hyatt Seattle
Grand Hyatt Seattle
#8 of 99 in Seattle
4.5 of 5 stars 2,005 reviews
Inn at the Market
#1 of 99 in Seattle
5.0 of 5 stars 2,120 reviews
Hotel 1000
#2 of 99 in Seattle
4.5 of 5 stars 2,586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Belltown
Hotel Andra
Hotel Andra
#7 of 99 in Seattle
4.5 of 5 stars 1,693 reviews
Downtown
Alexis Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt At Olive 8? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt At Olive 8

Address: 1635 8th Avenue, Seattle, WA 98101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Seattle
#5 Spa Hotel in Seattle
#8 Family Hotel in Seattle
#8 Business Hotel in Seattle
#9 Luxury Hotel in Seattle
#13 Romantic Hotel in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt At Olive 8 4*
Number of rooms: 346
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seattle Green Hotel. Sleek modern design and environmental responsibility converge seamlessly at Hyatt at Olive 8. Designed to be the first LEED certified hotel in the city, Seattle’s newest hotel represents a new echelon for sustainability in the Pacific Northwest. Boasting an array of innovative energy and water saving features, the hotel offers guests the ability to continue their sustainable lifestyle while traveling. A few blocks outside our glass doors are historic Pike Place Market and Puget Sound. Eco-friendly dining and spa amenities present a resort atmosphere in a vibrant city setting. Exuding the best of the Pacific Northwest spirit, brilliant form is combined with environmental function to create a new definition of luxury in downtown Seattle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Hyatt At Olive 8 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt At Olive 8 Hotel Seattle
Hyatt Hotel Seattle
At Olive 8 Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing