We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt At Olive 8

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt At Olive 8 to your Saves list
Hyatt At Olive 8
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1635 8th Avenue, Seattle, WA 98101   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Bed & Breakfast for Two
Ranked #20 of 95 Hotels in Seattle
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Nice hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

I liked the design of the rooms and their bathroom door. It was clean and decent . The hotel staff were friendly. Location was awesome. the most important is it was new not an outdated hotel. The price was a bit over the range. Not too much noise which was important for us. Will visit again if find it more reasonable in price.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    651
    377
    78
    20
    11
See reviews for
185
369
93
341
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South NJ
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

Typical Hyatt- nice, clean, very comfortable rooms. Also, great location - just 7 short blocks to Pike Market and 3 blocks from the airport train. This one however, did not have a doorman and it showed. Anyone could walk in. We stayed over a weekend and were awakened at 4am to noise in the hallway. My husband walked into the hallway and saw 2 sketchy individuals "doing the deed" in the adjacent hallway. Clearly, they had been out partying and did not have a room in the hotel. Or, they were crashing with a friend and couldn't get into the room. Does it matter?

We didn't tell the hotel because they were sketchy characters and didn't want to start any trouble this far from home. So, it's not the hotel's fault because they didn't know, but I'm sure if could have been prevented either by requiring a room key for the elevator or having a doorman. After the weekend, we didn't have any other disturbances.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

I booked the Hyatt Olive8 after seeing views on YouTube and seeing that it had a green focus and is LEED certified it sounded like a sensible place to stay. I was not disappointed in any way. I've been to a few Hyatt's across the globe but this one seemed less corporate and more down to earth with very friendly staff.
The room was fairly conservative in it's design but it had everything I needed. Thankfully they got rid of the usual overpriced minibar so the refrigerator was empty and usable for any purchases you bring back to the room from the mini-mart across the road. The bed was on the soft side but really comfortable and plenty of pillows to choose from, about 5-6 on the bed from memory.
The restaurant on the ground level features some local favourites and has a casual bit friend atmosphere. Staff never seemed rushed and were happy to have a chat which was really nice. The concierge happily arranged a last minute tour for me when I own tour booking fell through at the last minute. I can highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a high room so you have a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, WA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Very nice, clean, well-located hotel with excellent service. It's a bit on the expensive side, but worth it for a nice downtown hotel. Located within walking distance to pretty much all the downtown attractions. Great facilities including a salt water pool and very nice gym.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeattleHyattHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt At Olive 8, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Thank you for your comments. It's wonderful that our downtown location allows for quick trips to Pikes Place Market, the Space Needle, or wherever you might want to go. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Seattle.

Sarah S.
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

We really enjoyed this hotel. Great location, easy walking distance to all of the downtown attractions. Rooms were very clean, modern and new. Restaurant was pricey, but nice. Great Hyatt option and more contemporary than the Grand Hyatt.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, MD
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

From the careful valets who will park your vehicle to the helpful desk staff and concierge, the people at this Hyatt are welcoming and extremely good at their work. The rooms are spacious and modern -- and a refrigerator will be provided at no extra charge on request. Wifi is good (and free if you ask the desk for the password). Indoor pool very refreshing. If you're here for a convention, don't worry about being apart from the Grand Hyatt where the meeting rooms are located -- it's just around the corner. Plenty of good food and drink in the hotel and nearby, as well, and it's a short walk to Pike Place, the monorail to Seattle Center, and the rail/bus stop. A fine place to enjoy a unique city.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeattleHyattHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt At Olive 8, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Thank you for your review! We're so glad that you had such an enjoyable stay with us. We love that our central location allows our guests to easily get to meetings at the convention center, Pikes Place Market, or anything they might want to do with in the city. It's a wonderful aspect of our jobs that we get to make a genuine connection and show our guests that we do sincerely care. We would love to have you back with us on your next visit to Seattle.

Sarah S.
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Oh
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

We booked the Hyatt with Hotwire for $175 and were pleasantly surprised by the convenient central location. It's somewhat on the edge of the tourist area but it was actually nice because it was a 10minute walk to either Pikes Place, or Belltown, or Capital Hill. We spent some time in each (eating, shopping) and liked Capital Hill the most but and all three were a bit different and worth checking out. The hotel was nice- standard Hyatt- but the gym was pretty updated and spacious as it's also used by Hyatt Residence. Nice option for a quick weekend in the city.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt At Olive 8? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt At Olive 8

Address: 1635 8th Avenue, Seattle, WA 98101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Seattle
#7 Spa Hotel in Seattle
#12 Luxury Hotel in Seattle
#12 Business Hotel in Seattle
#18 Family Hotel in Seattle
#20 Romantic Hotel in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt At Olive 8 4*
Number of rooms: 346
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seattle Green Hotel. Sleek modern design and environmental responsibility converge seamlessly at Hyatt at Olive 8. Designed to be the first LEED certified hotel in the city, Seattle’s newest hotel represents a new echelon for sustainability in the Pacific Northwest. Boasting an array of innovative energy and water saving features, the hotel offers guests the ability to continue their sustainable lifestyle while traveling. A few blocks outside our glass doors are historic Pike Place Market and Puget Sound. Eco-friendly dining and spa amenities present a resort atmosphere in a vibrant city setting. Exuding the best of the Pacific Northwest spirit, brilliant form is combined with environmental function to create a new definition of luxury in downtown Seattle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hyatt At Olive 8 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt At Olive 8 Hotel Seattle
Hyatt Hotel Seattle
At Olive 8 Hyatt

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt At Olive 8, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.