We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Business Trip To Seattle” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt At Olive 8

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt At Olive 8 to your Saves list
Hyatt At Olive 8
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1635 8th Avenue, Seattle, WA 98101   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Double Your Points
Ranked #20 of 97 Hotels in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Business Trip To Seattle”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

We took the light train from Seattle airport to West Lake station for $2.50 and the hotel is two blocks away from the station. We walked down to the famous Pike's market and had a food bowl of Seattle clam chowder in the local restaurant. We had half a day for sight seeing s so took a one hour bay cruise. A must eat place is Saley's Sandwiches, Crepes and Burgers which is one block from Hyatt At Olive 8. There are many restaurants within blocks of the hotel. There are a few Seattle's Best / Starbucks in every block. Room was clean and spacious. The conference room (Ball Room) were we had the business conference was one floor down in the same hotel which was convenient.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,240 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    715
    412
    82
    20
    11
See reviews for
212
390
99
375
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

We are loyal Hyatt members and enjoy staying in different Hyatts across the United States. This property was lovely. The beds were so soft and comfortable, the room was huge! With all modern style decor the bathroom was large with a walk in tiled shower. We were located on the 12th floor.

We made use of the salt water pool and hot tub. The gym was large and full of different machines.

We were a short walk from the light rail that took us to the airport for $2.75 pp.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeattleHyattHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt At Olive 8, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Thank you for your comments. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our main priority is your comfort and happieness so it is wonderful that we were able to accomodate your needs and expectations during your stay with at the Hyatt at Olive 8. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Seattle.

Sarah S.
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

Modern hotel with excellent facilities! Pool had screaming children in it for a few hours but after 9 they left me alone for a peaceful soak, sauna & steam!

Wifi is pretty expensive but fast. Just a heads up, the free access code is: magnolia. That should save everyone a few $$ although wifi is free in public areas.

I hate it when hotels charge so much for a service they pay so little for each month.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

I stayed at this hotel while attending an event at the convention center. It wasn't the first time I stayed. I chose it specifically because I knew it was close to the convention center and the bus depot.

I found my room to be clean and very comfortable. It was well equipped too. It was nice having a fridge in the room for storing refreshing beverages. I also made use of the in-room safe, which was easy to use. The hotel restaurant was a bit pricy, but the food was excellent. If you balk at the price of alcohol, there is a convenience store with cheap beer and wine one block away.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeattleHyattHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt At Olive 8, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Thank you for your review. We're so glad that we were able to accomodate all of your needs. Our top priorities are to make sure that our guest are happy and comfortable; it's great that you experinced this. We look forward welcoming you back on your next trip to Seattle.

Sarah S.
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Stayed here for 5 nights whilst attending a conference, perfect location and the hotel meets the high standards expected at a Hyatt. The staff and service here could not be faulted, very pleasant and helpful in all aspects of my stay. WIFI was included in the rate and the service operated throughout the hotel without any problems during my stay. The rooms are modern, well appointed and in my experience were kept well stocked and exceptionally clean. The spa offers a comprehensive range of activities and treatments if you have time for some R&R when travelling, also the hotel is just a few minutes walk from the shops, restaurants and famous Pike's Fish Market. Would recommend this hotel for business or leisure travelers alike.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Jolla, California
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

This was a very nice older hotel. Room service was great. Internet access and parking were very expensive. Internet is charged by the day, not a 24 hour period so we were charged for 2 days of access even though we only stayed 1 night. Staff was very friendly. Bar is very convenient as it is open late. We were celebrating my Sons 21st birthday so it was an adult family stay. Also there is no shuttle so we had to pay a cab to get to the Space Needle. Pike's Place is about a 10 minute walk.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Top Contributor
180 reviews 180 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

All in all, another example of Hyatt's consistent classy execution. The hotel has a great location for business and for tourism. It is about a two block walk from Nordstroms and other major shopping locales. It is about a 15 minute walk to the Pike's Fish Market.

The gym was a real standout, definitely one of the nicest that I have seen in a big city hotel. Large and spacious with lots of equipment and a nice view over downtown Seattle.

The bathroom was large and well lit with a great shower. No tub though, I assume that would violate their green commitments.

You definitely cannot go wrong here.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeattleHyattHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt At Olive 8, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Thank you for your comments. We are glad that you had an enjoyable stay with us. It's wonderful that our location gives our guests easy access to great shopping and entertainment. We are happy that we can provide the wonderful amenities like the 24 hour fitness center and the heated saline lap pool that helps our guests maintain their daily routines but also helps them relax. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Seattle.

Sarah S.
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt At Olive 8? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt At Olive 8

Address: 1635 8th Avenue, Seattle, WA 98101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Seattle
#7 Spa Hotel in Seattle
#12 Luxury Hotel in Seattle
#13 Business Hotel in Seattle
#15 Family Hotel in Seattle
#17 Romantic Hotel in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt At Olive 8 4*
Number of rooms: 346
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seattle Green Hotel. Sleek modern design and environmental responsibility converge seamlessly at Hyatt at Olive 8. Designed to be the first LEED certified hotel in the city, Seattle’s newest hotel represents a new echelon for sustainability in the Pacific Northwest. Boasting an array of innovative energy and water saving features, the hotel offers guests the ability to continue their sustainable lifestyle while traveling. A few blocks outside our glass doors are historic Pike Place Market and Puget Sound. Eco-friendly dining and spa amenities present a resort atmosphere in a vibrant city setting. Exuding the best of the Pacific Northwest spirit, brilliant form is combined with environmental function to create a new definition of luxury in downtown Seattle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com and Hotwire so you can book your Hyatt At Olive 8 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt At Olive 8 Hotel Seattle
Hyatt Hotel Seattle
At Olive 8 Hyatt

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt At Olive 8, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.