We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and Friendly Staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt At Olive 8

Save Saved
You added Hyatt At Olive 8 to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hyatt At Olive 8
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1635 8th Avenue, Seattle, WA 98101 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Bed & Breakfast for Two
Ranked #21 of 95 hotels in Seattle
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Portland, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great location and Friendly Staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

I took a few nights to myself in Seattle and this was a good hotel to be in because I was able to walk/run around the city. It is downtown and close to the waterfront. I was impressed with the front desk staff who were genuinely engaging. Similarly the spa staff - although they could not accomodate my schedule, were gracious. The room was lovely with a king bed and nice linens. I really appreciated that there was no mini-bar/snack tray which seemed odd and also GREAT. I tend to spend way to much money on those snacks late at night....

There is an overpriced spa within the property where a mani/pedi is $75 and massages double of what I pay at home in Portland, OR. They were full though so perhaps this means they offer great service.

Can't go wrong here if you want a bit upscale...the first night in town I had to stay at a sister property less than a mile away and I actually preferred it - less expensive, free internet and still walkable - certainly not as romantic but I was alone ;-).

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,036 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    597
    341
    68
    19
    11
See reviews for
172
335
88
308
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
seattle
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

Love this hotel!!! Bed is plush and bathroom is awesome!! Huge shower. I love the decor very modern plus its an LEED Hotel, so environmentally friendly..Location is great. My favorite hotel for the entire city..

Room Tip: Breakfast at Lolas is a short walk away
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeattleHyattHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt At Olive 8, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Thanks so much for your comments! It's great that you enjoyed your stay with us so much! Our main goal is to make you feel welcomed and comfortable. Hope to see you again on your next visit to Seattle.

Sarah S.
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, Oklahoma
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Stayed here on a recent weekend trip to Seattle. Had two free nights with Hyatt and used points for the third. Very nice, "green" hotel. Staff were friendly and helpful. The room was average size - no upgrade - clean, and comfortable. Had a view of the office building next door. Bathroom was one large area with sink, commode and shower together - this made for long mornings with two people trying to get ready. Towels large and pillows fluffy. Very limited cable. Convenience store just 1/2 block away - good for bottled water and snacks. Good location to market (8 blocks away) and various restaurants/shopping. Did not make use of restaurant or spa.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Top Contributor
157 reviews 157 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Great location. Three blocks from the light rail train which can take you to the airport. Seven blocks to Pike Market and lots of restaurants and shops. The hotel is very clean as well as the rooms. Overall it is very quiet and relaxing place to stay. The staff were friendly and very attentive.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Highly recommended. The hotel is totally new-- the rooms are comfortable and functional. Wifi works well. The restaurant is great and the service throughout the hotel is excellent. The only comment I'd have is the rooms are a little dark.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeattleHyattHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt At Olive 8, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Thank you for your review! It's so great the that you enjoyed your stay with us here at the Hyatt at Olive 8. We are so pleased that the room and amenities of the property were to your liking. Most of all though, it's wonderful that you felt welcomed and comfortable as it is our main goal to delight our guests. We hope you come visit us again on your next visit to Seattle.

Sarah S.
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, VT
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
103 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

Hyat at Olive 8 has a distinctly different vibe than other Hyatt's I've stayed at. This one has the 'green hotel' spin, very Seattle, and on balance delivers a quality experience. Rooms are spacious and comfortable, staff friendly and helpful, location good. No complaints really, would recommend

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado, United States
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

What a great hotel. The experience started when I walked up to the front desk. The desk manager was a remarkably nice man and was extremely helpful. This was my first visit to Seattle and I checked in in the early evening. I was looking for a good place to eat that would not break the bank. The desk manager pointed me in the right direction. The room was fantastic. I had a great view. This is a bit of a pricey hotel, but well worth the expense.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeattleHyattHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt At Olive 8, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Thank you so much for your comments. It is so great when we get to really have a genuine connection with our guests and we're glad that you experienced that warmth and hospitality. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Seattle.

Sarah S.
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hyatt At Olive 8? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt At Olive 8

Address: 1635 8th Avenue, Seattle, WA 98101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Seattle
#7 Spa Hotel in Seattle
#10 Business Hotel in Seattle
#13 Luxury Hotel in Seattle
#18 Family Hotel in Seattle
#20 Romantic Hotel in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt At Olive 8 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seattle Green Hotel. Sleek modern design and environmental responsibility converge seamlessly at Hyatt at Olive 8. Designed to be the first LEED certified hotel in the city, Seattle’s newest hotel represents a new echelon for sustainability in the Pacific Northwest. Boasting an array of innovative energy and water saving features, the hotel offers guests the ability to continue their sustainable lifestyle while traveling. A few blocks outside our glass doors are historic Pike Place Market and Puget Sound. Eco-friendly dining and spa amenities present a resort atmosphere in a vibrant city setting. Exuding the best of the Pacific Northwest spirit, brilliant form is combined with environmental function to create a new definition of luxury in downtown Seattle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Otel, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Hyatt At Olive 8 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt At Olive 8 Hotel Seattle
Hyatt Hotel Seattle
At Olive 8 Hyatt

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt At Olive 8, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.