We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and convenient, excellent service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt At Olive 8

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt At Olive 8 to your Saves list
Hyatt At Olive 8
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1635 8th Avenue, Seattle, WA 98101 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Bed & Breakfast for Two
Ranked #20 of 95 Hotels in Seattle
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
152 reviews 152 reviews
70 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“Comfortable and convenient, excellent service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

The only bad thing is that they do try to charge for WiFi which should not be the case of a nice hotel anymore, no reason to nickel and dime customers. Thankfully the staff said if we joined the rewards program we'd get free wifi - 2 of us with 2 rooms for a week, it would have added up.

Comfortable rooms, comfortable bed. Bathroom was nice, and nice amenities. Excellent service, including room service which I had twice (one good, one not so good).

Very convenient for the Convention Center (one and a half blocks away) and downtown. Walked everywhere pretty much.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeattleHyattHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt At Olive 8, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Thank you so much for your feedback. We're so glad that you enjoyed your stay and that our central downtown location made it easy for you to get to your meetings at the Convention Center as well as entertainment and shopping. Thank you for bringing those couple items to our attention as we always welcome feedback as opportunity for growth. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Seattle.

Sarah S.
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    646
    371
    77
    19
    11
See reviews for
183
367
92
338
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is fairly new and modern. The staff are very friendly. This is a great location for downtown Seattle shopping, taking in a show at the Paramount Theater, or if you have an event at the Washington State Convention Center. The rooms are very modern and comfortable. You really don't hear noise from the other rooms at all. My one complaint is the bathroom door. They aren't your typical door, but more a slab of wood and glass that slides over the entrance to the door of the bathroom, which means anyone in the room is practically in the same room as you when you are in the bathroom. Also, the slider to the bathroom is mostly glass, which fills the rest of the room with light if someone has to get up in the middle of the night. Other than that, love the modern shower and fixtures in the bathroom.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

For a diamond member, No room upgrade and rooms are small but nice. Free room service for diamond which is much better that the poor lounge at the grand Hyatt. Also, this hotel has a very nice gym and sauna and steam. Easy street parking 1 block from hotel to avoid high parking overnight charge.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cordova, Alaska
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

My husband and I got a room package here for one night while we were in town and it was amazing! The room was great, the only part we didn't like was that our window was staring into apartments windows so people could see right into the room but that is most places downtown. Great location! We loved that we could walk everywhere that we wanted to go! The staff was very friendly and great to work with. We got a couples massage at the spa and it was amazing! We really enjoyed our stay and will definitely recommend it to anyone in Seattle.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Perfect location for the hotel in downtown Seattle. Walking distance to Pikes Place and the waterfront. Downtown location perfect for getting to the space needle from the monorail. Clean, nice hotel. Lovely pool and spa.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeattleHyattHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt At Olive 8, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
We're so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for your review. We love that we are just a 10 minute walk to Pikes Place Market and an even shorter walk to Nordstroms and the Monorail. Since your comfort and happiness are our number one priority here at the Hyatt at Olive 8, it's wonderful that the room and amenities helped you relax and have a pleasant stay. We hope to see you again on your next trip to Seattle.

Sarah S.
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013 via mobile

I've stayed here twice in the past year. Great hotel. Lovely rooms, facilities and friendly effective staff. Salt water pool and lovely steam, sauna with adjacent spa. I think the hotel price reasonable, although I probably would have been a bit annoyed if I had to pay for Wi Fi. The first time it was free and the second time I had a conference. Attractive, clean and friendly with nice amenities.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasco, Washington
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

The hotel was very nice. Very pretty, great location. Within walking distance of great restaraunts and shops. The rooms were very clean and beds very comfy. Will definantly be staying there again. There was a fee every night for parking, but It seems in seattle you pay that at almost every hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt At Olive 8? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt At Olive 8

Address: 1635 8th Avenue, Seattle, WA 98101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Seattle
#7 Spa Hotel in Seattle
#12 Luxury Hotel in Seattle
#13 Business Hotel in Seattle
#17 Family Hotel in Seattle
#20 Romantic Hotel in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt At Olive 8 4*
Number of rooms: 346
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seattle Green Hotel. Sleek modern design and environmental responsibility converge seamlessly at Hyatt at Olive 8. Designed to be the first LEED certified hotel in the city, Seattle’s newest hotel represents a new echelon for sustainability in the Pacific Northwest. Boasting an array of innovative energy and water saving features, the hotel offers guests the ability to continue their sustainable lifestyle while traveling. A few blocks outside our glass doors are historic Pike Place Market and Puget Sound. Eco-friendly dining and spa amenities present a resort atmosphere in a vibrant city setting. Exuding the best of the Pacific Northwest spirit, brilliant form is combined with environmental function to create a new definition of luxury in downtown Seattle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Otel, Travelocity, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hyatt At Olive 8 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt At Olive 8 Hotel Seattle
Hyatt Hotel Seattle
At Olive 8 Hyatt

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt At Olive 8, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.