We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent, comfortable stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt At Olive 8

Save Saved
You added Hyatt At Olive 8 to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hyatt At Olive 8
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1635 8th Avenue, Seattle, WA 98101 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Bed & Breakfast for Two
Ranked #20 of 95 hotels in Seattle
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Seattle, WA
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Excellent, comfortable stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

I stayed at Olive 8 for one night in December 2012 for a girls' night on the town. We had a great stay. My gripes would be that parking and Wi-Fi are at a premium, but that seems fairly standard for downtown Seattle (although the Paramount hotel nearby has free Wi-Fi). The room itself was very clean and thoughtfully laid out. The bed was very comfortable. The desk staff and room service staff were very friendly. The location is great, walking distance to most downtown/Pike Place Market locations. I would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: As far as I can tell, the hotel doesn't really have a view (maybe the condos up above do?).
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,025 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    593
    336
    66
    19
    11
See reviews for
169
331
87
308
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012 via mobile

Not only is it well into the new millenium, but a whole new baktun, and, REALLY??? Uptodate LEED beautiful hotel, great staff and attentiiveness, but would not stay here again because it feels soooooo petty that they charge for wifi.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

First time stay at the Hyatt at Olive 8. Perfect location in central Seattle, not overly noisy, and the rooms were immaculate. Very modern and spacious rooms - I didn't have the chance to visit the pool, spa or restaurant, although all three looked nice. We got an excellent rate on the room. The hotel is within walking distance of theatre (Paramount Theatre is literally across the road), shopping and tourist attractions, although the walk to the Space Needle and EMP might be a bit more than most would care to walk. Easy access from freeway. Clean, modern and convenient - what more could you want in a vibrant city like Seattle?

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
87 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

Olive 8 is my favorite hotel in Seattle. I would stay here again in a heartbeat!

Positives
-Modern, clean hotel that feels very new and fresh
-Location, location, location! It is perfectly situated within walking distance to everything - Pike's Market, Pacific Place, restaurants, shopping, the convention center,etc.
-I'm big on cleanliness, and this place is so crisp and clean!

Negatives
-Only negative (and I'm forgiving them for this one since I was so impressed by everything else during me stay) is that if you have a room near the elevator it can be a bit noisy at times. Request a room as far from the elevator as possible

Thanks got a great stay Olive 8!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeattleHyattHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt At Olive 8, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
So glad that you were so pleased with your stay here at the Hyatt at Olive 8. We love that our great downtown location makes it easy for our guests to head to the Pikes Place Market, Waterfront, and Space Needle. Thanks for your wonderful feedback and hope to see you again next time you're in Seattle!

Sarah S.
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012 via mobile

After having reservations for over 2 weeks and checking in late on our arrive day the room we had already paid for wasn't available. We were given a room with 2 queen beds. The beds were Full size not Queen.

We got a wake up at 4am call when we did not order one. There isn't a front desk button on the hotels phone. I had to have the restaurant to transfer me to them.

The hotel sits on the corner of 8th & olive. The city bus station sits outside the front door of the hotel. The front door is also crowded with homeless people that wait for you to leave and follow you.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, New Hampshire
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Excellent location - walking distance to everything you want to do and see in Seattle. Staff superb.Truly eco-friendly and LEEDS certified hotel. Rooms very spacious, QUIET, clean and well equiped.
The BEST hotel I have stayed in for quite sometime. You will not be disappointed! great value too!

Room Tip: Higher floors give you a better view of the city
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeattleHyattHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt At Olive 8, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
I'm so excited that you had such a good stay here at the Hyatt at Olive 8. Our central downtown location makes it so easy for our guests to site-see and shop. With Pacific Place and Westlake Center Malls less than a 10 minute walk, and the Space Needle and Pacific Science Center only a short Monorail ride away, there is plenty to easily entertain anyone looking to experience Seattle. Hope to see you back soon!

Sarah S.
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida, Uruguay
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

Comfortable place to lay your head and a good base if exploring the city for the first time. Location is quite convenient and taxis easy to hail. The room we had was very clean and tidy but nothing really special, although we did go for the most economical option. Maybe if you paid for an upgrade you'd have a fancier room. Staff all nice enough and breakfast was fresh and tasty. There was a whole bunch of different types of people stopping here so whatever your age you would fit in fine. The gym is very busy and overcroweded and I had to wait a long time before using the treadmill. There are many restaurants in the area but best is to ask the hotel as they offered us a list of great restuarants.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hyatt At Olive 8? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt At Olive 8

Address: 1635 8th Avenue, Seattle, WA 98101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Seattle
#7 Spa Hotel in Seattle
#11 Business Hotel in Seattle
#13 Luxury Hotel in Seattle
#19 Family Hotel in Seattle
#20 Romantic Hotel in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt At Olive 8 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seattle Green Hotel. Sleek modern design and environmental responsibility converge seamlessly at Hyatt at Olive 8. Designed to be the first LEED certified hotel in the city, Seattle’s newest hotel represents a new echelon for sustainability in the Pacific Northwest. Boasting an array of innovative energy and water saving features, the hotel offers guests the ability to continue their sustainable lifestyle while traveling. A few blocks outside our glass doors are historic Pike Place Market and Puget Sound. Eco-friendly dining and spa amenities present a resort atmosphere in a vibrant city setting. Exuding the best of the Pacific Northwest spirit, brilliant form is combined with environmental function to create a new definition of luxury in downtown Seattle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Otel, BookIt.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Hyatt At Olive 8 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt At Olive 8 Hotel Seattle
Hyatt Hotel Seattle
At Olive 8 Hyatt

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt At Olive 8, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.