We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classy Modern Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt At Olive 8

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt At Olive 8 to your Saves list
Hyatt At Olive 8
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1635 8th Avenue, Seattle, WA 98101   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Bed & Breakfast for Two
Ranked #20 of 95 Hotels in Seattle
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Orangeville ON
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Classy Modern Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

We stayed at the Hyatt at Olive 8 in July 2012. It was pricey but definitely worth the stay. The rooms were modern, tasteful, comfortable and quiet. Not much of a view from our room but that is to be expected when you are in the middle of high rise buildings. The pool and hot tub were great with early and late hours. We didn't use the fitness centre, but it looked very well equipped. We ended up including the breakfast package with our stay, even though we thought it was a little pricely. We like the convenience of eating at the hotel. We were SO glad we did. The food was AMAZING, not matter what we ate. Just thinking again about the salmon omelete makes my mouth water. Even the coffee was fantastic. I would go there to eat even if I wasn't staying at the hotel. The location of the hotel was good ... we walked to everything so we didn't need our car the days we were in town. We used the valet parking which was expensive but convenient. There is a parking lot across from the hotel if you don't want to pay for valet parking. I would definitely recommend this hotel and I would stay there again if I return to Seattle.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    653
    379
    78
    20
    11
See reviews for
186
369
93
343
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

What a beautiful hotel! Things were terrific from the moment we arrived. The staff was friendly and helpful without being intrusive. The food and cocktails were fantastic - try the clams with saffron! Our room was large, super clean, and perfectly located next to the Paramount Theater, the light rail, and, an easy walk to the waterfront. We were also impressed that the Olive 8 recycles and makes it easy to be energy efficient.

My only regret is that we couldn't stay longer.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

After I got past the shock of the crazy parking fees, the rest of the stay was amazing. The rooms are new and fresh. They have a great modern feel and are really comfortable. The facilities are beyond compare for this price range. Saline pool (with under water spa music), huge hot tub, steam room and sauna with free lockers.

There is also a full service spa that you can take advantage of as well. Another thing that stuck out was their commitment to "Green". They've made many efforts for in-room energy efficiency, recycling, and water runoff retention on property.

Would definitely stay here again when in Seattle!

Room Tip: Request a room over looking the "courtyard" for a quieter room. Courtyard is really just...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waddell, Arizona
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Can't say enough good things! Had a fantastic stay here for our trip in Seattle.

Location: The hotel is a short walk from the light rail which we used to get to our baseball game at the SafeCo stadium, as well as getting to the hotel from the airport. It was also a short walk to the monorail which took us to the Seattle Center that had the space needle. We walked to the pier, pikes place market, and throughout beautiful downtown. We had not problem with getting around just using our feet and a double stroller. No need to rent a car.

Rooms: We had a 4 year old, 3 year old, and 5 month old with us and the hotel was quite accommodating. They brought us a crib which came with a little pack of baby shampoo, lotion, diaper cream, and a rubber duck for our room. The bathrooms were clean as well as the rooms. Beds were VERY comfortable and we slept great! The view was nice.

Pool: Pool area was very clean and had an awesome locker room that had shampoo, conditioner, body wash, shaving cream, razors, q-tips, hair ties, pretty much anything you could need! The whirlpool was nice and there was hardly anyone there so the kids could laugh and play and carry on.

Food: We ate at the restaurant there (can't remember the name) and it was DELICIOUS! Also had drinks at the bar, and the bar tender treated us very well.

Hospitality: The icing on the cake was when we had gone out for an evening walk, we came back to our room to find a bottle of Champaign as well as milk and cookies for the kids!!! Not sure who was more excited... my husband and I or the kids! :) The staff was always very nice and one of the nights a friend and I went down to the sauna (after it should have closed) and the staff just continued to clean the rest of the locker room and didn't ask us to leave or were rude when we tip toed out at 11pm. (Thanks guys! My friend and I had a bit of girl talk to do!)

To sum it up, I was worried that this hotel would be to "fancy" for children, but the staff treated us very well and we felt more than welcome to be there! Would definitely recommend it and would love to visit again. Next time I would love to check out the spa!

If I HAD to make a complaint I would say the rooms were smaller than I expected and the television had limited channels. Doesn't even matter though... the rest more than exceeded my expectations!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

My wife and I come to Seattle several times a year. This hotel is always our first choice. We like their attention to recycling and energy efficiency, without compromising comfort and style. The rooms are well-appointed, but not luxurious. Great downtown location and friendly, efficient staff. Nice indoor pool too!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overlea, Maryland, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

This hotel was perfectly situated to the Hertz rental location we utilized, the light rail, the ferry, and downtown attractions. I had read previous reviews about noise coming through the walls and I was concerned about that, however, it was perfectly quiet during our stay. I didn't hear any activity from the adjacent rooms. The room was very clean and the bed incredibly comfortable. The staff was both accomodating and pleasant. I had read complaints about checking in taking a long time, however, we had no issues. Another plus for me was that this hotel didn't come up as having any bed bug complaints within the past 12 months - I now check hotels for bed bug reviews prior to booking. Overall, I was very happy and would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Perfect location. Within walking distance to Pike Place, Ferry service, Metro, which takes you to and from Sea Tac, & Bus service was right out the front door. Breakfast was delicious! We will be back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt At Olive 8? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt At Olive 8

Address: 1635 8th Avenue, Seattle, WA 98101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Seattle
#7 Spa Hotel in Seattle
#12 Business Hotel in Seattle
#12 Luxury Hotel in Seattle
#18 Family Hotel in Seattle
#20 Romantic Hotel in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt At Olive 8 4*
Number of rooms: 346
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seattle Green Hotel. Sleek modern design and environmental responsibility converge seamlessly at Hyatt at Olive 8. Designed to be the first LEED certified hotel in the city, Seattle’s newest hotel represents a new echelon for sustainability in the Pacific Northwest. Boasting an array of innovative energy and water saving features, the hotel offers guests the ability to continue their sustainable lifestyle while traveling. A few blocks outside our glass doors are historic Pike Place Market and Puget Sound. Eco-friendly dining and spa amenities present a resort atmosphere in a vibrant city setting. Exuding the best of the Pacific Northwest spirit, brilliant form is combined with environmental function to create a new definition of luxury in downtown Seattle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hyatt At Olive 8 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt At Olive 8 Hotel Seattle
Hyatt Hotel Seattle
At Olive 8 Hyatt

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt At Olive 8, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.