We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly Recommended!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of City Hostel Seattle

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added City Hostel Seattle to your Saves list
City Hostel Seattle
2327 2nd Ave., Seattle, WA 98121 (Belltown)   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Dallas, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Highly Recommended!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Great Hostel, Great Location, and Nice staff!! I would stay here again!! I was in dorm with it's own bath and 4 beds total. It was nice, great people at the front and lite breakfast in the morning....I stayed 2 nights....much better than the American hotel (HI International) that I refused to stay at again because of it's location! This was a safe place, befter location!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    82
    31
    4
    4
See reviews for
16
62
82
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights over the Canadian long weekend in August with family that included two young children. We managed to get a room to ourselves, which was fantastic for obvious reasons.

Hostel is close to most major attractions & sights plus the downtown core. Even walking from the football stadium at the other end of town didn't take long. The area immediately around the hostel is undergoing major gentrification and felt pretty safe. The hostel itself had great security.

Didn't use the cooking facilities. Breakfast in the morning was basic but good. The bathrooms were kept pretty clean for a hostel and the amount of patrons using them. Carpets in our room could've done with a clean. Staff were incredibly friendly.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Porpoise, Maine
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

We stayed here before and after our cruise to Alaska. It was convenientd provded ease of access to th NCL cruise ship. The staff is helpful beyond expectation. It is spotless. tat dingy. Great value!!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Marcos, TX
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

I had reservations about making reservations here. Namely, because when I think of hostels the word "youth" goes right in front, and youthful is no longer my forte (46); and the thought of a communal bathroom always makes me a little nervous. However, I spend very little time in my room as a traveler, and this was such an affordable place in such a great location. So, I reserved one of the private rooms and reassured myself that it was only for a couple of nights. As it turned out, it was a great place to stay.

The folks that work here are about the friendliest people I have ever encountered. They let us stow our luggage before we checked in so we could go out and see the city, and they really made us feel welcome. Our room was just as cool as it could be. It had a little sink with hot and cold water, clothes rack to hang your stuff, a little desk, and about 1 billion faces painted on the wall by a local artist - very unique. Our windows opened (actually opened) and we were able to look down on the street at all the people hanging around. Made me wish I WAS a teenager out staying in such a cool place, seeing the world for the first time and meeting people from all over.

I never lacked for a bathroom or saw anyone coming in and out of them. Our room was right by a very large bathroom with a bathtub/shower/toilet - not a communal bathroom at all - just a shared one. Water was nice and hot. And it was very, very clean. Everything was very very clean.

Had the complimentary breakfast the next day and thought it was just as good if not better than any other complimentary breakfast I've ever had. The hostel is in a great location. My Orca card was wasted because we were able to walk or bike to anything that we wanted to see. I guess we were also a little worried about whether it would be noisy, but I thought that our room was fairly quiet and peaceful. I could hear the people on the street every once in a while, but nothing that kept me awake.

Should I ever need a place to stay in the city again, I wouldn't hesitate to try here first.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

This place is the bomb. I had such a great time! The staff was super friendly- mary, Natalia, Christian, Ari, jamil... you all rock. I loved that this place was a work stay hostel because it was a nice mix of Americans and other tr even if the travellers left, the were This place is the bomb. I had such a great time! The staff was super friendly- mary, Natalia, Christian, Ari, jamil... you all rock! I loved that this place was a work stay hostel because it was a nice mix of Americans and other travellers, so even if the travellers left, there were still familiar faces to chill with! It was a great community feeling. The hostel is also impeccably clean, I was definitely impressed. They hosted a few events like bbqs and pub crawls, which were also a ton of fun. I overall had a great time thank you so much!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

This was a fantastic place to stay with a definite "feel" of Seattle. Located in a great spot in Belltown with easy access to both the downtown area, as well as easy to explore other neighborhoods. Staff was super friendly and accommodating. The rooms were my favorite part! Art galore and put together with a great eye for color, composition and lighting. I had a private room and thoroughly enjoyed the atmosphere and the people who stayed here. Lots of really really great restaurants nearby, well worth a visit. I would highly recommend this to those traveling solo/young couples/groups of friends.

Room Tip: Bring earplugs. Since it is a hostel, walls are thin and it can get loud.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013 via mobile

I came here with the intention of just staying somewhere between sightseeing.

However, the friendliness and courteousness of the staff could not be faulted, I witnessed them phone over 8 different hotels in trying to get a couple a room.

Rooms were wonderfully painted by local artists and, although functional, were perfect for my needs.

Bathrooms and showerrooms were cared for and clean and the free breakfast showed a level of attention to needs that you might find in a higher end hotel.

In short, I was amazed by this gem and will certainly use it next time I come here

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to City Hostel Seattle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Hostel Seattle

Address: 2327 2nd Ave., Seattle, WA 98121
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle > Belltown
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 Specialty Lodging in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your City Hostel Seattle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Hostel Seattle Hotel Seattle

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage City Hostel Seattle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.