We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WHAT THE @!~#@” 5 of 5 stars
Review of City Hostel Seattle

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added City Hostel Seattle to your Saves list
City Hostel Seattle
2327 2nd Ave., Seattle, WA 98121 (Belltown)   |  
Hotel amenities
Portland, Oregon, United States
1 review
“WHAT THE @!~#@”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

We stayed for one night, and it was the best night of our lives. Seattle may have been dreary and rainy, but the city hostel was a ray of graffiti adorned sunshine. The staff put up with my inability to be a normal human, and gave me directions to wherever I needed to go! The rooms were really cool and had a monkey with a laser gun on the wall. It also had a woman avenging the death of her loved one, I think the monkey killed him. or her. It featured a bio of the artist on the door which is SO COOL. Might not be the cheapest hostel, but it's totally worth it. Also the dude that was randomly assigned in our room was pretty awesome!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    77
    30
    3
    4
See reviews for
16
58
79
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Heidelberg, Germany
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

I can't believe the positive reviews about this profit oriented hostel (not a HI hostel) could be true... Some people from the staff must have been asked to write them. I can't believe the pictures about the building and the rooms can be true. It was not the same place that I have experienced (I checked my credit card payment account and yes this is the city hostel Seattle!)
It is supposed to be a bohemian kind of place for artists i.e. the rooms are filled with junks, have no heating, no curtains or shutting at the windows; small sink with no hot water, I had to shave under the shower; I had to change dormitory because the first one was filled with laundry of some long stay guests; no blanket for my bed, I had to ask one; pot smoking friendly hostel (in dormitories...)
Breakfast is similar to all others hostels in USA : pretty poor and insufficient but as the place is supposed to be for lazy bohemians it starts only at 8 am (when parking is no more free in the streets around (i got a 44 $ fine...)
Staff is so exaggeratedly smiling and welcoming (remember it is a place to make money, so you get the shopkeeper style of relationship) but safety first and you are asked for all kind of personal questions on your arrival, have to show your passport (not a Driver licence as in all others places), the front door is permanently locked and some fool at the desk will read you very loudly (to cover the noise of the TV screen above him) all the rules you have to comply with....

Room Tip: Avoid this place! And anyway Seattle has nothing interesting. Prefer Portland, Oregon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang Island, Malaysia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

Stayed here for 5 days. The staff were very friendly and helpful and willing to take time to give you advice on visiting attractions. Breakfast was really good as well, a variety of toast, cereal, fruits, tea and coffee for you to choose from.
The location was also good as it was a walking distance from attractions such as pike place market, space needle, EMP museum, pacific science centre (which we bought the Seattle cityPASS for). The room we stayed in was clean, bathroom was slightly dirty and there's a kitchen on each floor with lots of cooking utensils and cooking stuff (salt, pepper, chicken stock, oil etc) to use.
Great place to meet other backpackers.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

I stayed here for nearly a week, the location is excellent, with lots of tourist spots within walking distance, and also lots of restaurants (happy hour!) nearby also. the staff are super friendly with lots of suggestions of where to go and what to see. Breakfast is pretty good too... all you can eat fruit, toast with peanut butter & jelly. A good choice in Seattle!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

This place is VERY secure, central, has amazingly clean rooms, very friendly staff and a perfect atmosphere for one night or more. I only stayed one night with a bunch of friends in a dorm room and it was great. I slept like a baby and didn't even hardly see anyone else except for in the lobby or at breakfast the next morning. Their breakfast is not that exciting, some fruit, cereal, milk, coffee, toast, but the beds are a good price and it's definitely worth it! Check it out the next time you're in Seattle! Better than a hotel for sure.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Location and price are the reasons we stayed here. Close to Pike place markets, harbour, space needle etc with lots of nice restaurants around. Breakfast includes bread, cereals, coffee and fruit and was ample to start the day. Rooms are arty, clean, warm and comfortable with ample hot water. Staff were friendly and helpful and you need to show your key to get through the front desk so hotel was secure.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Expensive for what we got. Breakfast was poor- as the staff assisting one guest in taking 8 slices of bread so he could have them for lunch and dinner while then there was no bread left for us!! branded as an 'art' hostel but out room was pretty bare. Check in was PAINFUL!! Clean hostel though

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to City Hostel Seattle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Hostel Seattle

Address: 2327 2nd Ave., Seattle, WA 98121
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle > Belltown
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 Specialty Lodging in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your City Hostel Seattle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Hostel Seattle Hotel Seattle

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage City Hostel Seattle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.