We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It needs some refurbishments” 2 of 5 stars
Review of City Hostel Seattle

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added City Hostel Seattle to your Saves list
City Hostel Seattle
2327 2nd Ave., Seattle, WA 98121 (Belltown)   |  
Hotel amenities
Madrid
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“It needs some refurbishments”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

The staff is great and they are very kind and are always in a good mood. The place has some restaurants quite close. The breakfast is a a little bit short: toasts, cereals and coffee.
The building and the rooms need a very good refusbishment.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    77
    30
    3
    4
See reviews for
16
58
79
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

Although I stayed only one night, I had the time to take some notes, in short I would say it like this:
++ => security (door, rooms, locker), free really nice breakfast
+ => comfortable bed, common areas, good staff, location
0 => cleanliness of toilets, lack of light in bedroom
- & -- => /

Recommendation: try to be at the end of a corridor: too much noise (inside or outside) if at front.

Room Tip: try to get one room at the end of the corridor (more quiet)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

We loved this place and would highly recommend it. We stayed in a private double room, which was very comfortable and clean. The location is great and the staff very friendly and helpful. The room wasn't the cheapest, but given it was August, we expected the prices to be higher.

Room Tip: Private Double Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Curitiba, PR
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

City Hostel Seattle is located in a beautiful historic building. As I walked in, I was greeted by two friendly receptionists who briefed me on the hostel. Very good first impression. And then… Well, I enter my room and it is filled with flies. Not one, not two. I killed seven pesky insects. I should have made a formal complain, but I was just too tired to go down. I left the windows opened the next day and when I arrived at night, more flies. I had to let windows closed and turn on the fan. And the decoration of the room is tacky. Some may call it funky, I call tacky. What was that thing oozing above my head? And the cracks upon the wall? I say renovation. Please.
They offer free breakfast which consists of fruits, cereals, American coffee and milk – they got points for that. I think there is a kitchen in each floor (there was in my floor, I assume in the other as well) where you can cook and store your food. I liked that. Staff is friendly and helpful. Toilets are very good – private toilets scattered in each floor so you will never be sharing. Wi-fi was a bit unstable, and often did not work in the room. I was in 304 (facing the street) and it can be noisy due to the bars in front of the hostel (not recommended if you have light sleep or forgot your ear plugs).
Overall a positive experience, but I would suggest renovating the rooms and adding a net in the window.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the street can and will get noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

I popped down to Seattle for my b-day week and stayed at the City Hostel. The staff are incredibly warm and friendly and have great suggestions for things to do in the city.
It is central enough to walk to Pike Market or the museums in Seattle Centre and there are lots of options for food/drinks nearby.
The owner is a very friendly guy and has some great stories to share about the 2 weeks the hostel was being painted.
I highly recommend this hostel and I will definitely return when I go back to Seattle.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Top Contributor
313 reviews 313 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 109 cities Reviews in 109 cities
187 helpful votes 187 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012 via mobile

Loud noises, crowded and everything you might expect. Next time ill book ahead when greenbay comes to town toexpo play thehow seahawks they run outto of hotel rooms. Oops. If you like hostels though this ones clean and in an ok local.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

The hostel overall is nice and clean. The location is excellent. Walking distance to the pike market. Staff is very friendly and know the area very well. The drawback is there are bars and clubs playing loud noise music. I check in on Saturday night and unable to sleep due to the loud music outside. If you like free music at night. It might be good or you.

Room Tip: Book early! It gets full quick.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to City Hostel Seattle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Hostel Seattle

Address: 2327 2nd Ave., Seattle, WA 98121
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle > Belltown
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 Specialty Lodging in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your City Hostel Seattle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Hostel Seattle Hotel Seattle

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage City Hostel Seattle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.