We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Eclectic botique hotel in University district” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Deca, Seattle

Save Saved
You added Hotel Deca, Seattle to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Deca, Seattle
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4507 Brooklyn Avenue NE, Seattle, WA 98105 (University District)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
20% OFF + FREE WiFi
Ranked #45 of 95 hotels in Seattle
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Eclectic botique hotel in University district”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

A great botique hotel that has kept it's old world charm yet being updated enough that it is fresh and new. Decor in Lobby is art deco. Staff are friendly and rooms clean however the bathrooms very small. It's a fun area with pubs and restaurants. An interesting place for a leisurely stoll. Being on campus is a fun change of scenery.

Room Tip: Top floors with best view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jbartlett, General Manager at Hotel Deca, Seattle, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Dear Robin A,

I am so glad to learn you enjoyed your stay at Hotel Deca. Being in a true University neighborhood there are a ton of fun restaurants and pubs. It is a active area with really easy access to downtown and all the major Seattle attractions.

We hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,
Jonathan Bartlett
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

770 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    345
    252
    91
    48
    34
See reviews for
156
192
83
222
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Friday Harbor, Washington
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

This hotel is in a great location, has friendly and efficient staff and easy on site parking. The rooms are very nice, the views are terrific, and they have a shuttle service available for guest use in the area. I was very pleased with this hotel, and would certainly stay here again. I would think any parent with a child at UW would want to stay here. Location, Location, Location!

Room Tip: Ask for a view room on the 14th floor. I stayed in1404' and you could see the mountains, ocean...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jbartlett, General Manager at Hotel Deca, Seattle, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Hello FridayHarborGirl,

The title of your post is the most amazing form of praise we could ever receive. Our personal goal is to treat our guests to the highest level of service, care and comfort during their visit to the hotel. In return we hope to create long term relationships with our guests and hopefully they will sing our praises to the world. It seems that we may have done just that with you. Thank you so much for singing loudly.

Sincerely,

Jonathan Bartlett
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Rock
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

This hotel is just ok. If you are interested in simply having a roof over your head then sure, stay at the deca. We wish we would have known more about the area before booking. Awful area. Does not feel safe, tons of skids hanging about. Nothing particular by way of interest to see within walking distance, which is too bad. Staff seem nice, room is small and feels very damp. Funny chemical smell in room. Had food sent up via their in house restaurant and it was ok. Menu very limited, not impressive. No pool. Not a good choice for family getaway, that is for sure.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jbartlett, General Manager at Hotel Deca, Seattle, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear WhiteRockFamily,

I am so sorry your visit was not what you had hoped it would be. As you can see from past reviews we are not accustomed to receiving disappointing reviews. While most of our guests believe the hotel is fantastic, as all hotels go…we may not be right for everyone. I always recommend thoroughly researching hotels and the location of the hotels before making a final selection. That way you are not disappointed.

Sincerely,

Jonathan Bartlett
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traverse City, Michigan
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Service is impressive. The boutique hotel is well placed right at the U W campus. View from floor 14 is nothing less than spectacular - on a clear morning of course. I would definitely stay again if I need to return to Seattle; which I hope I do. Great city and great experience at the Deca.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jbartlett, General Manager at Hotel Deca, Seattle, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Jcfrickpa,

It is true, we are a bit quirky a bit retro and a whole lot of joy. It all starts with our amazing team who work very hard to make each guest feel as comfortable as possible. We hope our guests look at Hotel Deca as their home away from home. We cannot wait to see you again.

Thank you again.

Sincerely,
Jonathan Bartlett
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, Washington
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

I travel to Seattle frequently and have always been pleased by Hotel Deca's service. Between the staff and the environment I have always had a positive experience. The rooms are great for the price and honestly parking is by far my main convenience. I've stayed at a lot of hotels and as much as valet is nice to have, sometimes it just leaves you waiting forever wondering what exactly happened to your vehicle. At Deca there is a large parking lot right next to the entrance, basically it makes your travel that much easier in my opinion. Front desk is always inviting and willing to go the extra mile if needed. Overall Hotel Deca is a great place with great people!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jbartlett, General Manager at Hotel Deca, Seattle, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Hello S D,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a tremendous review. As a frequent traveler to Hotel Deca your review means a lot to us. I promise you will continue to employ great people who provide outstanding service and make Hotel Deca a great place to stay.

We look forward to your next trip.

Sincerely,
Jonathan Bartlett
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bodega
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We love the hotel. We've stayed here 3 times and the staff have always been great. The rooms feel spacious and usually have great views. The restaurant and bar are great, It's close to University district shopping and Neptune records is just across the corner (if you are into music this is a big plus). We had dinner via room service one night and it was delicious. We really do love it here.
I knocked off one star because this last time our room was hot for the whole 3 nights. It was hot when we arrived so we set the temp to 60- as low as it would go, and the fan on high, but it stayed hot in the room day and night. The temp control apparently has no effect. I had no temp gauge to tell what the temperature really was but it was too hot to sleep muchof the night. It was not so bad that we had to call the desk. I'm sure they would have changed rooms for us, because they did it once before, but it was bad enough that I want to warn folks here. We were on the 10th floor and the windows were screwed shut. It was bad enough that I forced one open a little and shoved a plastic fork in the gap so that a little breeze of cool air came in and when we couldn't sleep we could go over there and cool down. That's my only complaint. Next time I will bring a phillips screw driver with me and open a window or two. My suggestion would be for the hotel to change the windows a bit. I'm guessing they screwed them shut to prevent suicides, but now the rooms get so hot you want to jump out even if you are not suicidal. Just change the windows a bit so you can open them an inch or two and the problem would be solved. Or connect the temperature control to something that actually influences room temperature.

Room Tip: All the upper floors have great views but there is a U of W building that faces the hotel on the wes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jbartlett, General Manager at Hotel Deca, Seattle, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear Michael K,

WOW!!! You LOVED it! Dynamite! That just made our day! We cannot wait to see you again. We are looking into alternative window ideas as well. I am not sure if we will have it corrected by the time you come back but we will hopefully have a solution soon.

Thank you again.

Sincerely,
Jonathan Bartlett
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westlake Village, CA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

The people were very helpful and made my experience easy and pleasant. (Especially Paul in Guest Services)They provide van service within five miles of the hotel which my the business potion of the trip much easier. Also, great location if you are visiting the University of Washington.

Room Tip: Great location to visit the University
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jbartlett, General Manager at Hotel Deca, Seattle, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Hello gilkessler,

“Excellent Hotel” just about says it all. I am thrilled you found the hotel to pleasant. Also, thank you for recognizing Paul from our bell team. Paul is one of our amazing team members who take great pride treating our guests to outstanding experiences. I will make sure he knows that you mentioned him.

Thank you again. We look forward to your next visit.

Sincerely,
Jonathan Bartlett
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Deca, Seattle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Deca, Seattle

Address: 4507 Brooklyn Avenue NE, Seattle, WA 98105
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle > University District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#37 Family Hotel in Seattle
#40 Business Hotel in Seattle
#46 Romantic Hotel in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Deca, Seattle 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 158-room art deco Hotel Deca is located in the heart of Seattle’s University district, a vibrant, growing neighborhood that is home to students, artists, and families. This charming Seattle hotel is located just two blocks from the University of Washington campus, ten minutes from downtown’s bustling shopping district, restaurants and galleries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Tingo, BookIt.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Reservation Counter, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Deca, Seattle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Deca Hotel Seattle

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Deca, Seattle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.