We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Deca, Seattle

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Deca, Seattle to your Saves list
Hotel Deca, Seattle
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4507 Brooklyn Avenue NE, Seattle, WA 98105 (University District)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #51 of 95 Hotels in Seattle
Seattle, Washington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Convenient”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

The hotel is located 5 minutes from the University of Washington, making it very convenient for students, parents, visiting professors. The rooms are small but the service was exceptional. I asked for an upgrade and got it but the room was still too small. It however, is probably the best hotel in the vicinity of the university. If you are in seattle on a holiday, I would however recommend you stay downtown.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jbartlett, General Manager at Hotel Deca, Seattle, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Dear tsethi,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review and for recognizing our outstanding team. Our team takes great pride in providing the highest level of service and care to our guests. We want our guests to feel like this is their home away from home so we make it as comfortable and enjoyable as we possible can. I will make sure the team gets a chance to read your post.

Thank you again and we look forward to your next visit.

Sincerely,
Jonathan Bartlett
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

836 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    359
    283
    102
    51
    41
See reviews for
167
206
85
243
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
seattle
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

Some intelligence is involved in gathering up the myriad details of hotel management and decor into a motif. What a pleasant surprise to find a novel excerpted beneath the towel rack. The van service gives Deca the advantages of a downtown locale. Then there was the late afternoon hostess, Caitlin, whose stylish dress and stylish manners heighten the artistic themes.

Room Tip: Choose a corner room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jbartlett, General Manager at Hotel Deca, Seattle, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Hello norman r,

What a fantastic title to your post. It is truly an elegant description of our wonderful hotel. We are so glad you enjoyed your visit to Hotel Deca. Hopefully we will see you again in the future.

Best Wishes,

Jonathan Bartlett
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

The King reservation I had, wasn't available, so I got 2 queens - and was comped parking. The hotel is pretty nice, the room clean and very comfortable. Central location, restaurant/bar 'good' service, and good food.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jbartlett, General Manager at Hotel Deca, Seattle, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Hello Peter B,

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your trip to Hotel Deca. I am so sorry we were not able to guarantee the room your originally reserved. Our personal goal is to ensure all of our guests receive the room type they booked when they made their reservation. Thankfully, this happens very rarely. It sounds like our Front Desk team was able to make a wrong into a right and you were able to enjoy your visit.

We do hope you choose us again during your next trip to Seattle. We would truly enjoy seeing you again.

Sincerely,

Jonathan Bartlett
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We booked this room for two on Hotwire, got a great rate, and checked in for a two night stay. Our 7th floor corner room was attractive, but really much too small for two adults. After one night figuring out how two adults could get in and out of the bed, which was pushed up against the wall, we asked for a room change. The hotel honored our rate and gave us a terrific room about three times larger a couple doors down. The desk was gracious and generous. Thanks Hotel Decca--we'll be back!

Room Tip: The corner room we had (7th floor) was really a single--much to small for two adults.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jbartlett, General Manager at Hotel Deca, Seattle, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear Ringo V,

Thank you for your review. I am so glad our front desk team was able to make your visit comfortable. It is always nice when we have other rooms available just in case the first room does not meet guest’s expectation. I know our team will be thrilled to find out they helped make your visit so enjoyable.

We look forward to your next trip to Seattle and Hotel Deca

Sincerely,
Jonathan Bartlett
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clayton, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

I have stayed at the Hotel Deca on several occasions and have not been disappointed. They are refurbishing so we always get stylish rooms. The lobby is beautiful. The staff is very friendly. The location is great. I love it!

Room Tip: Beautiful views of space needle and downtown.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jbartlett, General Manager at Hotel Deca, Seattle, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Hello Cheryl L,

We cannot thank you enough for your continued loyalty and kind words. It is so important to us that we make a great first impression then continue to create wonderful experiences for our most loyal guests. I assure you the best is yet to come.

Thank you again and we look forward to many more amazing visits.

Sincerely,
Jonathan Bartlett
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oroville, Washington, United States
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

This was our first stay at Deca, I was pleasantly surprised !! I must say that it was one of the quietest rooms that I have had in a hotel for a long time. The beds were comfortable, the room was very pleasantly furnished, and extremely clean. The staff was absolutely wonderful from the time we checked in, until we checked out, greeting us with warm smiles each & every time we came & went. The location was very convenient, as was the shuttle service, which we utilized to and from the UW Medical Center. We received excellant customer service at a very trying time for our family. Thank you and we will stay again!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jbartlett, General Manager at Hotel Deca, Seattle, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Dear EMSBLONDE1,

I am so pleased that you enjoyed your visit to Hotel Deca. Our entire team prides ourselves on creating the highest level of service and comfort during our guests visit. We are always thrilled to learn when we met this expectation.

We look forward to your next visit.

Sincerely,
Jonathan Bartlett
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

We have stayed at the Deca for several years over the Christmas holidays as it is near our family. We appreciate the convenience to freeways, the friendly service and the pleasant rooms. Yes, the hotel is old but it has been updated and for the price we think it is great.

Room Tip: We prefer the rooms on the Southeast corner as the view toward Lake Washington and the Cascade Range...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jbartlett, General Manager at Hotel Deca, Seattle, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Dear Judy P,

Thank you for continuing to make Hotel Deca your home away from home. We truly appreciate the continued loyalty and wonderful reviews. We look forward to your trip next year. Or I guess later this year.
Sincerely,

Jonathan Bartlett
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Deca, Seattle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Deca, Seattle

Address: 4507 Brooklyn Avenue NE, Seattle, WA 98105
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle > University District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#45 Business Hotel in Seattle
#46 Family Hotel in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Deca, Seattle 3.5*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 158-room art deco Hotel Deca is located in the heart of Seattle’s University district, a vibrant, growing neighborhood that is home to students, artists, and families. This charming Seattle hotel is located just two blocks from the University of Washington campus, ten minutes from downtown’s bustling shopping district, restaurants and galleries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Reservation Counter, Odigeo, Venere and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Deca, Seattle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Deca Hotel Seattle

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Deca, Seattle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.