We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Full Service Dining at this Springhill Suites - Best Value in downtown seattle” 4 of 5 stars
Review of SpringHill Suites Seattle Downtown/South Lake Union

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added SpringHill Suites Seattle Downtown/South Lake Union to your Saves list
SpringHill Suites Seattle Downtown/South Lake Union
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1800 Yale Ave., Seattle, WA 98101   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #53 of 95 Hotels in Seattle
La Habra, California
Top Contributor
175 reviews 175 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
138 helpful votes 138 helpful votes
“Full Service Dining at this Springhill Suites - Best Value in downtown seattle”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

Most Springhill Suites do not have a restaurant, bar, and room service available - this location does. More closely resembles Courtyard features, but with the suite room style that Courtyard does not offer.

It is fairly close to the Amazon office on Boran street.

Parking is $22 a night. Normal for Seattle, but may want to consider this when booking here.

Lobby and restaurant are modern and fresh. Rooms are not as updated, but definitely nice enough.

I will be making this my go to hotel when in downtown Seattle area.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

503 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    145
    237
    77
    30
    14
See reviews for
138
117
27
110
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lodi, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

Stayed there to be at same location as fellow travelers. Room plus parking/taxes above my usual leisure budget. Was nicely rewarded for the extra dollars. Room, hallways, and lobby all excellent with a fresh clean appearance. Snack table on each floor. Very nice hot breakfast, popular with large percentage of guests, so avoid peak breakfast time. Well stocked bar in lobby with ample seating and professional bartender. Complementary 24-hr Fitness across the street, Wi-Fi and large pool area. In-and-out privileges on the valet parking was nice considering the variable Seattle weather. Location close to I-5 freeway and vacant lot parking area reminded that it was on the edge of downtown but still close enough and safe enough to consider location a positive feature. Walked to Downtown, Pikes place, Pioneer Square, Fado bar, and Space Needle. Overall very happy with the choice and would recommend it.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, Washington
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

We stayed one night and used the shuttle to get around! The front desk was helpful and nice! We needed a cell phone charger and they let us use one. We had breakfast it was free and good! I would stay there again. Room was clean and a good space for two of us. Bed was very good! I think the do not use fire sprinkler heads as a hanger holder was funny but I am guessing someone has done it!

Room Tip: Higher floors less road noise! 7th floor was good
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
76 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
125 helpful votes 125 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

Springhill Suites is a great place to stay if you want a contemporary-designed room that is spacious and attractive, free wi-fi that really works well, and a location that allows easy access to South Lake Union/Seattle Center in one direction and downtown in the other.

The immediate location on Yale Avenue at the Denny Way/I-5 "interchange" isn't especially attractive. Since this is a rather bizarre configuration of streets, I would recommend using a navigation device to arrive at the property. Once there you can walk or use public transit to get around. In my opinion, using a car would be a nuisance and expensive given additional parking charges throughout the city.

Think of the Springhill Suites, Seattle Center, and downtown as points on a triangle. My partner and I walked 1.3 miles to Seattle Center for a Seattle International Film Festival screening, 1.3 miles from Seattle Center to Pike Place Market for dinner (Steelhead Diner), and finally 0.9 miles from Pike Place Market back to the Spinghill Suites. And we did this in typical Seattle weather: Light drizzly rain! A Whole Foods Market is about 0.25 miles down Denny Way proceeding towards Seattle Center. If walking isn't your thing, the hotel provides on a reservation basis a shuttle service to these locations until 9:00P. A 24-hour Fitness is right across the street (Yale Avenue).

We were "upgraded" to the 10th floor with a room (1028) facing away from I-5 (quieter). A mini-continental breakfast service is conveniently provided on this floor right by the elevators; so, you don't have to make the trek all the way down to the lobby for coffee, cereal, yogurt, fruit, and bagels and muffins. A nice touch in the rooms: Great black and white photos of Seattle!

The only downside to the Springhill Suites: Valet parking is $22/day (plus parking tax $2.75 and sales tax $2.09).

Springhill Suites isn't "luxurious," but it offers everything you need in a comfortable package at a reasonable rate. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing away from I-5.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Top Contributor
285 reviews 285 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
237 helpful votes 237 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

Nice all around hotel but they fall short on a couple of things.

One is the cheap thin single ply toilet paper they supply. Even the Convention Center and other public facilities supply better.

The other item is how the furniture is setup with the TV sitting between the living room and bedroom.

Staff is superb from the front desk, valet, and breakfast crews

Breakfast is unsurpassed from other facilities that I hae frequented.

I definitely would come back.

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

I will give it to the staff, they were very friendly and helpful. The room was clean, but this hotel had the most uncomfortable bed I have ever laid on!!!!! This is so unacceptable for a Marriott. This is the single most important reason why I have this hotel a 2. The parking is also outrageous at $22.00 a day and they 2 separate taxes added on which comes out to somewhere around $27-$28 dollars a day. There is no option except to valet park. This is almost racketeering in my opinion.

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank F, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Seattle Downtown/South Lake Union, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Dear Andrew V,
We appreciate your comments. We are in the process of replacing a considerable amount of our mattresses. We hope you will give us another chance on your next visit.


Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, Washington
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

I had been stayed 8 times here I m so happy and comfortable to stay in this hotel great customers services clean room. My honey love too . Last weekend Feb 8 to 10 long weekend we just got away so we decided to come to seattle we got upgraded to stay higher floor Yes we already book for the next time here on April 18 to 20. again this nice place to stay also good breakfast

Room Tip: so far we don't have any problem at all with any noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to SpringHill Suites Seattle Downtown/South Lake Union? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Seattle Downtown/South Lake Union

Address: 1800 Yale Ave., Seattle, WA 98101
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#47 Family Hotel in Seattle
#50 Business Hotel in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Seattle Downtown/South Lake Union 3*
Number of rooms: 234
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the SpringHill Suites Seattle Downtown hotel. Just minutes from the Westlake Center via light rail, the Convention Center, The Space Needle, Waterfront, Pike Place Market and the Cruise Terminal's, our Seattle hotel's accommodations offer easy access to many of the city's top attractions. Start your day with a free hot breakfast buffet, and end it with a specialty cocktail at our Bistro on Yale Bar (happy hour is from 4-7 p.m.), or enjoy fresh regional fare at the Bistro on Yale Restaurant. Guests can also enjoy our Seattle downtown hotel's swimming pool, spa, fitness center, and free shuttle service. We are also proud to offer Complimentary access to 24 Hour Fitness located across the street. On-site parking is a valet-only service for a fee. All of our Seattle hotel suites offer spacious living and sleeping areas separated by a privacy wall, as well as kitchenettes with mini-refrigerators and microwaves. We look forward to welcoming you to the SpringHill Suites Seattle Downtown hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Marriott, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your SpringHill Suites Seattle Downtown/South Lake Union reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Seattle Downtown/South Lake Union Hotel Seattle
Seattle Springhill Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SpringHill Suites Seattle Downtown/South Lake Union, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.