We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine, Centrally Located Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Paramount Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Paramount Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Paramount Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   724 Pine St., Seattle, WA 98101   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 95 hotels in Seattle
Oregon
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Fine, Centrally Located Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

My wife and I spent two nights at the Paramount Hotel in Seattle recently, and enjoyed it thoroughly. It is very centrally located: only one block from Nordstrom, two from the Westlake Mall, and three from Macy's, in the very center of the city. Thus there is usually no need for a car to access the main attractions of the downtown. We took advantage of the Hotel's partnership with the Seattle Art Museum and combined our stay with tickets to the King Tut exhibit. We had a sixth floor, corner room with a pleasant view west over a small park. The regular rooms are a bit small, but nicely equipped with the standard amenities one expects for this quality of lodging: a king-sized bed (in our case), HD TV with cable, writing desk with stationary, free Wi-Fi, small safe, clothing bureau and closet, large and comfortable chair with a reading lamp, a controllable thermostat, luxurious linens and personal articles in a sink area separated from a bathroom with shower and tub, and the room decorated in a restrained, contemporary style. The curtains could be closed so that little daylight entered, in case one wanted to sleep in. There is valet parking under the hotel and also a parking lot across the street. The staff are friendly and helpful. There is an on-site pan-Asian restaurant that is open most of the day and evening, though we ate elsewhere. After my wife inadvertently informed the front desk that we were celebrating our wedding anniversary, we returned to our room one evening and, to our surprise, discovered a bottle of decent champagne and some salted-caramel chocolates. In sum: a fine place to stay in the heart of the city.

Room Tip: It helps to have a room higher up in order to avoid street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParamountHotelSEA, General Manager at The Paramount Hotel, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Thank you for your very thorough review of your stay with us. I am pleased to read you enjoyed your stay and that our team was able to help make your wedding anniversary a little extra special!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

829 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    501
    266
    36
    16
    10
See reviews for
140
299
53
185
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philomath, Oregon
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Stayed here for a weekend get away in early December. We wanted something downtown and close to the shopping and Quest field. You can't beat the location and the hotel staff are friendly. Good value for the location. Hotel is clean and modern. I'm a fan of the Paramount chain and this one lived up to my expectations.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParamountHotelSEA, General Manager at The Paramount Hotel, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Thank you for the great feedback. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and were able to take advantage of our central location. We strive to exceed our guests' expectations, and are happy we fit the bill for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falls Church, Virginia
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

I loved the fireplace and chairs in the lobby, very cozy! Very convenient to convention center and Hyatt hotels where i was at a conference. Room was typical of a more boutique hotel. Nicely furnished, but not overly large. Beds were comfortable. Staff was very friendly and cordial. They said hello every morning, especially the gentleman handling the valet.

Location is great. A number of local coffee shops nearby and tons of restaurants and shopping. We had happy hour at the asian restaurant at the hotel. Good deal on drinks and sushi and friendly service. I did not eat breakfast at the hotel due to the number of other options nearby for less formal service.

I did not have a car, so can't comment on valet parking service. It was easy to get a cab from the hotel or take public transit if needed. It is about $40-50 by cab to the airport from the hotel, but that is fairly standard for Seattle. The hotel was nice enough to suggest less expensive options if needed.

I stayed at the W last year around the same time, but enjoyed the coziness of this hotel a bit more. It was also more convenient to shopping and attractions even if a few blocks up from the main action. That resulted in a quiet, yet easily accessible location.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParamountHotelSEA, General Manager at The Paramount Hotel, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay with us. We’re glad you found our staff helpful. We hope to see you again next time you stay in Downtown Seattle.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Osos, California
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

I booked this hotel through priceline and it was much cheaper than through the hotel website. This made the hotel very affordable, especially when compare to other hotels in the same prime downtown location in Seattle. The room was a comfortable size and nicely furnished. It had a small fridge, but no microwave. The bathroom was nice with a large tub, separate shower and a separate room for the toilet. The in-hotel Asian restaurant was fine for breakfast. We ate at two of the many other nearby restaurants for dinner. This location could not be beat for pre Christmas time as there were great shops all along Pine, between the hotel and Pike Place. The free wifi worked fine. We got two nights of comfortable sleep. My only two criticisms would be that the fitness room was poorly equipped and maintained, and that over $30 per day (with tax) for parking in the hotel was exorbitant. The staff was friendly and efficient, if not overly enthusiastic. The guy who did the valet parking was friendly and enthusiastic. While we had a view from our 9th floor room, it was of a parking lot and nearby hotels and construction. Overall, it was a pleasant and fun stay.

Room Tip: West side of hotel probably has a better view. We chose a larger room with a king, which was roomy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

Parking:
The parking is valet only. Enter on 8th st.
The valet was very professional and courteous. The overnight cost was $30, which is not bad because it covered us until 5pm the next day. If you are going to leave early, you could consider using the neighboring pacific place garage, which charges $15 for overnight parking (in after 5pm, out by 10:30am).
Lobby:
There were no lines when we arrived and the front desk was very friendly. Right now it is festively decorated for xmas.
Room:
The room was clean, roomy and very well decorated. Housecoats were provided, along with shampoo, conditioner, soap, q-tips, and cotton balls.
The bed was very comfortable, although the pillows were too soft for my preference.
Included a mini-fridge and small coffee pot. Coffee was also provided in lobby, and a couple of other coffee shops are across the street (Starbucks and Ladro).
Location:
This hotel is perfectly situated in downtown. It is within walking distance of the water and the market, and to the monorail - which connects downtown Seattle to the Seattle Center.
Overall, I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParamountHotelSEA, General Manager at The Paramount Hotel, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Thank you very much for your thorough review of your recent stay with us. I appreciate your kind words about our hotel and team. We certainly hope to see you again when in Seattle!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

We stayed for one night in December 2012 to go to a show at the Paramount Theater. The hotel is about one block away from the theater, so a very easy walk. It's also walking distance to most downtown locations, including Pike Place Market, and the monorail will easily get you to Seattle Center. The desk staff was friendly and efficient. The room itself was very clean and comfortable. Parking is very expensive (typcial for downtown Seattle hotels), but the Wi-Fi is free! The only con that I can think of is minimal sound-proofing. We were not bothered by street noise, but heard some noises from nearby rooms. I stayed the week before at Olive 8, and for the value and otherwise comparability, I would choose Paramount over Olive 8. Very good stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

Our stay at the The Paramount Hotel was great ... from the really friendly guy at valet parking (the Manchester United fan!) to check in, everyone was incredibly friendly, professional and efficient.

We arrived early and thought we'd just have to leave our bags and come back a few hours later for check-in, but the Front Desk found us a room and we were able to check in straight away. The room was a good size, two double beds, the most comfortable armchair and a lovely bathroom with high end toiletries.

Location of this hotel is perfect - easy access to the interstate, close to shopping and several restaurants.

Being Christmas, the lobby was decorated beautifully and the open fire made this a lovely spot to sit and relax.

Breakfast in the Hotel's restaurant was incredibly reasonable and good quality ... and again, the service was impeccable.

If I could find one negative (and I'm really trying hard to find one!) was that my husband found the air condition slightly noisy.

All in all, I would highly recommend The Paramount hotel to anyone travelling to Seattle. This hotel deserves its excellent reviews.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParamountHotelSEA, General Manager at The Paramount Hotel, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Thank you for the glowing review. We really appreciate it! We're so happy you found our hotel comfortable and accommodating on your recent trip. We would love to have you stay with us again if you should visit Seattle.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Paramount Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Paramount Hotel

Address: 724 Pine St., Seattle, WA 98101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Seattle
#6 Romantic Hotel in Seattle
#8 Business Hotel in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Paramount Hotel 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Otel and Venere so you can book your The Paramount Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paramount Seattle
Seattle Paramount
Paramount Hotel Seattle

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Paramount Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.