We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I highly recommend the Gaslight Inn” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gaslight Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Seattle
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Gaslight Inn
Save
You added Gaslight Inn to your Saves list
1727 15th Ave., Seattle, WA 98122 (Broadway / Capitol Hill)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 37 Seattle B&B and Inns
Omaha
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“I highly recommend the Gaslight Inn”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

I was traveling to Seattle for work + fun, and wanted to venture outside of the typical downtown tourist scene. I researched many neighborhoods, and found that Capitol Hill was a trendy, fun area for young people. Only problem is, the neighborhood doesn't allow hotels! This is initially why I wanted to stay at the Gaslight Inn.. just for a place to sleep in a hip neighborhood.

HOWEVER! The Gaslight Inn is so much more than a typical B&B. Immediately when you walk in, you feel at home. The craftsman-like decor, beautiful accents, and cozy fire are so lovely. Additionally, Bennett, the owner, was an absolute delight. He's very gracious and accommodating.

I highly recommend staying at the Gaslight Inn for both location and the lovely atmosphere. It's a place to stay when you want to feel at home away from home!

Words I'd use to describe the Gaslight Inn:
-Friendly service
-Clean
-Cozy
-Great location
-Hospitable

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    15
    8
    4
    6
See reviews for
6
89
41
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
JEFFERSON CITY
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Really cannot add anything to all of the other positive reviews. I, too, do not understand why anyone would want to stay in a hotel when you have B&Bs available like the Gaslight Inn. We stayed here for four nights. It is beautiful and quiet and clean and a great location. And the hosts are friendly and helpful in anyway that you need assistance. We had a rental car because we were also touring NW Oregon and visiting friends in a Seattle suburb, but when we were in Seattle, we just left our car parked on the street and used the bus and our feet to get everywhere on Capital Hill and downtown Seattle and various sights. And a shout out to the Seattle bus drivers--we do not do much bus travel, and these drivers were soooo helpful and friendly!! Our trip to Seattle was a wonderful experience, and staying at the Gaslight Inn definitely added to that.

Room Tip: We enjoyed staying in the room with private access to the outside patio, but I think any of the room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocky Point, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

My husband and I recently spent the weekend in Seattle and stayed at the Gaslight Inn. We both loved this place. From the moment we walked through the door to this splendid B&B it was really like staying with family. But the family you like! Our room was amazing in that not only was it just beautifully decorated but comfortable and extremely clean as well. It's in the Capitol Hill area that has so much to do and it's just a short bus ride down to the market. Bennett was so hospitable and sweet I couldn't imagine staying anywhere else when in Seattle.

Room Tip: fireplace room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnaby, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

I’m not dolling out five stars to just any Inn or B&B. If the building is a beautifully maintained heritage home; if the décor is entirely appropriate to the building with perfect period furniture and accessories; if the ambience this creates is sophisticated and, at the same time, warm and welcoming; if the host is a soft spoken, friendly, encyclopedic, travel guide to the neighbourhood and the city; and if the croissants are oven-fresh and flawless then it’s worth four stars. The true measure of an “excellent” Inn is, how do they handle things when there’s been a “cock-up”? You know, when things have gone right off the rails, it’s nobody’s fault, just an accident. When we got to the Gaslight Inn there came a moment of horror, on the part of our host, when it was learned that our room for that night was double booked [the first such occurence in 30+ years of Innkeeping], and it was a Saturday, and it was a long weekend. In a trice our host found other accommodation [surely the last in the neighbourhood!] close by in a boutique hotel. Here’s the irony, I am, or was, the bourgeois boutique hotel person of the couple – she’s the B&B person – so I should have been disappointed to return to the Gaslight Inn for the second night of our stay in Seattle. Well I wasn’t. Comparing the two nights I MUCH preferred the B&B. It was five stars, excellent, and we’ll surely go back.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

My wife and I traveled to Seattle for about the 6th time to visit our daughter who lives there. We have stayed in a variety of hotels and even shacked up at her apartment a few days, no more. When we come to Seattle we will be staying at the Gaslight Inn from now on. We stayed 4 nights and are wondering if we can come to an affordable agreement to just move in, we were not ready to leave. Very affordable, extremely pleasant and well appointed, Darren and Bennett were as friendly as it gets and extremely accomodating. My wife and I could not have asked for any better hosts. (We even forgot a pair of shoes and they gladly shipped them home to us in Wisconsin!)

Notice, you won't have what some consider a traditional B&B breakfast here, it is more of a Continental Breakfast, but it is ample and more than what I require each morning to get going. Coffee was very good for a B&B and the menu of items is widely varied.

The Gaslight is located almost at the top of Capitol Hill, for many the walk from downtown to the Gaslight, or even down the hill to downtown, is a bit much. However, the Rte.11 City Bus from downtown is a pleasant ride up the hill and the stop is less than a full block away. If you don't like public transport, taxi cabs are easy to find in the area, or downtown for the trip up the hill and typical rate for 4 of us was usually $15-$18 with tip. The Gaslight is located in a very safe, and trendy, area of Seattle, very little worry about safety or security. Many restraunts and wine bars within walking distance of the Inn.

We will not stay at another hotel, or Bed n Breakfast, in Seattle again. It is always the Gaslight Inn for us.

Room Tip: Most rooms have a bathroom in the room, however there are is at least one that does not, check when...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

After staying at the Morgan State House in Albany and now at the Gaslight Inn in Seattle, I'm not sure I will be staying at large hotels while on vacation anymore.

Bennett has done a wonderful thing with the Gaslight--he has lovingly restored and preserved a historic house in the heart of Capitol Hill, yet managed to avoid any trace of stuffiness and pretension. From the moment our cab dropped us off at 10 p.m. and we found our keys waiting for us, we felt welcome and comfortable. Our suite (Room104) was large and had a gas fireplace (perfect for a chilly Seattle fall trip). The bed was extremely comfortable, as was all the furniture, and the art and other furnishings were tasteful.

Breakfast the next morning was generous, and Bennett and Darren were gracious hosts. We definitely had the feeling that we were staying in a home, rather than a soulless hotel. Yet nobody was overly intrusive and, once Bennett asked if we had some experience with Seattle and we answered that we did, we were left to our own devices. We were able to lounge by the downstairs fire and work for a while, to come and go as we pleased, and generally to feel like the staff was available if we needed anything at all, but in a discreet and unobtrusive manner. The other guests were lively and interesting, but similarly respectful of our privacy.

It's really sad that we're going to have to stay at Westin on our next trip into Seattle in a few short days. Our experience at the Gaslight is going to make it particularly intolerable to be in a typical mega-chain hotel, but perhaps the memory of the fireplace and Bennett and Darren's warm hospitality will power us through.

Room Tip: The room we had (104) faced 15th Avenue and was a little loud with the emergency vehicles going to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012 via mobile

Our short stay in Seattle was definitely enhanced by this great b&b.
The house itself is beautiful outside. The interior decors is imposing. You are in a special place.
The owners have made an effort to display an interesting art collection.
Breakfast was lovely. We had a room at the top with a view towards Seattle skyline which was great at night time.
Its location is convenient for Pike market and other central places.
Other places of interest can be reached by car, bus or taxis. We walked almost everywhere. The only places we drove to were the locks, and Fremont.
There are quite a few restaurants nearby.
Also nearby is a local sports ground, great place in the evening, kids play soccer, others play bike polo or frisbee.
It's a great neighborhood and lovely house to go back to after a day sight seeing. Loved it!
NB: not all rooms have en-suite, the heated swimming pool was not available late September.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gaslight Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gaslight Inn

Address: 1727 15th Ave., Seattle, WA 98122
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle > Broadway / Capitol Hill
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 37 B&Bs / Inns in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Gaslight InnThe Gaslight Inn is conveniently located on Capitol Hill, Seattle's most exciting neighborhood that also happens to be closest to the center of the city and only about 20 minutes North from the airport. All of Seattle's main attractions including Pike Place Market, are either in walking distance, a short taxi ride or a metro bus ride away. The Gaslight Inn's interior is appointed in exacting detail, with strikingly rich, dark colors, oak paneling, and an enormous entryway and staircase. The comfortable and unique guestrooms are furnished with quality double or queen-sized beds, refrigerator and television. Many rooms in our bed and breakfast feature private baths and some also have decks with fabulous views or fireplaces. The living room, with its large oak fireplace, is always an inviting room, as is the library.Through the late spring and summer, we encourage you to relax and unwind at poolside with a glass of wine after a long, busy day. This private, in-ground, heated pool with several decks and interesting plant arrangements is found at the back of the inn.The Gaslight has high speed Wi-Fi for all it's guests at no extra cost. Our aim at the Gaslight Inn is to provide quality bed & breakfast accommodations in a relaxed atmosphere at a sensible rate, and to offer guests, whether they are visiting for pleasure or on business, useful information and assistance when needed.Our continental breakfast features coffee, juice, fruit, scones, and croissants. It will get your day in Seattle off to a great start! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Gaslight Hotel Seattle

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gaslight Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.