We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great time at the Alexix” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Alexis Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel

Save Saved
You added Alexis Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Alexis Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1007 First Ave., Seattle, WA 98104 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save Up To 20%
Ranked #4 of 95 hotels in Seattle
GreenLeadersSilver level
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Great time at the Alexix”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2008

We stayed there for weekend getaway paired with a business meeting. The primary reason for selecting the hotel was the location. We wanted downtown and we wanted to be near Pike's. The hotel was great for that....excellent location within walking distance to great shopping and the Seattle Musuem.

We checked in 4 hours before checkin time and they happily accomodated us. The room is very nicely decorated, as is the entire hotel. We were on a street facing room which is great for people watching but bad for noise. But noise is to be expected to a certain extent so I didn't think it bothersome. Room was comfy and cozy and the bathroom was great. Also had a great time a at the Library bar. Valet is expensive (30/day) but is pretty standard for that area. Would definitely stay again!

  • Liked — Location, decor
  • Disliked — Expensive valet, some noise
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,164 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    861
    208
    57
    21
    17
See reviews for
173
503
79
217
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (258)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
CA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2008

We wanted a relaxing weekend getaway. Our requirements were a hottub, a comfortable bed and a bar close by. We got what we asked for - and Seattle was a great time, too.

  • Liked — Ambience
  • Disliked — Nearby construction
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherwood, Oregon
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2008

Wouldn't have been so upset, but called a week in advance to request the quietest room in the hotel and was assured all would be well. Upon pre check in once again reiterated my need for quiet room location, ditto on final check in that night. Was assured rooms on 4th floor " well above any street noise"!
I beg to differ, at 11:30PM people screaming and shouting, followed by wailing ambulance on 1st Ave first woke us.
At 2:30AM was a chopper raping his pipes hard.
At 3:30AM an impromptu "drag race" ensued with a couple cars winding up their engines then full screeching tires as they roared off.
By 4:30AM I was in the lobby waiting for coffee service to begin at 5AM. My husband who normally sleeps through a hurricane also was "Sleepless in Seattle".
Room was exceptionally nice (linens, amenities, etc.), but all we wanted after 8 hours on our feet at the wine show and the drive up from Portland that morning was some sleep.
In fairness, front desk was exceptional and did their best to try and make it up to us
. After the fact we learned there'd been a shooting near by something the hotel would of course have no control over. Nevertheless, caveat emptor unless you're extreme sound sleeper!

  • Liked — Nicely appointed rooms, kind and helpful staff
  • Disliked — Zero insulation from street noise
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2008

We had expected that for $400+ a night we would have been met with friendly service and a nicely kept room at the very least. The rooms were nice except for the fact that when we returned from sight seeing at 6pm none of our party's three rooms had been cleaned! Our phone didn't work, and room service took over an hour to get a turkey wrap (that tasted terrible)!

Do not go to this hotel if service is your thing! We were treated with extreme disrespect by the two employees we encountered at the front desk!

WHAT A TERRIBLE FIRST IMPRESSION!!! I WOULD NEVER GO BACK!

  • Liked — NOTHING!
  • Disliked — EVERYTHING!
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Bend, Indiana
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2008

I booked Hotel Alexis without knowing much about it other than it fit into the nebulous "boutique hotel" category that can end up in feast of famine. Hotel Alexis certainly fits into the former. From start to finish of my three-day stay I was impressed. The staff was helpful when I need them and the rooms are nicely appointed. Some boutique hotels feature cold and even impractical architecture, but I certainly did not find that to be the case here. Alexis benefits from a prime location too, just blocks from the Market and the art museum.

I was surprised to see that this hotel is dog friendly, but there's certainly little evidence that pets have taken over the hotel. I did see a couple dogs in the lobby (attention if you have allergies). The hotel features a separate restaurant and bar, although I never stopped by either.

If you're looking for a near-luxury hotel at a reasonable rate, I strongly recommend this property.

  • Liked — Style, service, price
  • Disliked — Expensive parking rate
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2008

From previous reviews on this site, we were expecting incredible service at this hotel. Imagine our surprise when our greeting from the front desk person as we checked into the hotel was lukewarm at best. That was only the beginning of a dismal introduction to this hotel.

Our booking for two rooms through Whatahotel.com indicated we might have an upgrade if available and we received continental breakfast each morning. I had to ask about the upgrade (which we were not given) and I had to ask about the breakfast which was given grudgingly. Once we were finally shown to our room, it was not as we booked. It was a standard king and we had reserved a deluxe king. If we had not said something, we would not have been given the correct room.

The room itself was lovely and all others at the hotel were very gracious. Given the price of the room and our initial welcome at check-in, we would not stay at this hotel again.

  • Liked — The room
  • Disliked — The customer service
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2008

This hotel was fantastic. From the moment we stepped in the door we were treated like their best guest. The hotel was busy, but the staff still managed to attend to our needs and make us feel like we were the only ones at the hotel.
The wine tasting at 5pm everyday was a nice touch. A glass of wine, meet some guests and mingle with the fantastic staff. Was a great time for relaxation.
The hotel is also in a fantastic location. Only a few blocks to Pike Place.
We didn't have a view from our room (which was probably the only negative part). Everything else about the hotel though, made up for it :)

Definitely stay here on your next visit to Seattle.
Well done Alexis & Kimpton on demonstrating what a hotel should be like.

  • Liked — The Staff
  • Disliked — The View
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Alexis Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexis Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 1007 First Ave., Seattle, WA 98104
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Seattle
#3 Business Hotel in Seattle
#4 Luxury Hotel in Seattle
#5 Romantic Hotel in Seattle
#6 Green Hotel in Seattle
#8 Family Hotel in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Alexis Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Consistently on Conde Nast’s Gold List, the Alexis Hotel recently completed a $10 million renovation, making it the ultimate luxury boutique hotel in Seattle. The hotel’s commitment to the Seattle arts community and its savvy, unfaltering service combine to make this Kimpton Hotel a unique downtown destination. Near the waterfront, the Alexis Hotel is close to Pioneer Square & the Stadium District, Pike Place Market, the Seattle waterfront and the Seattle Art Museum. Adjacent to the hotel is the intimate Library Bistro & Bookstore Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Amex, Booking.com, Tablet Hotels, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Tingo, Jetsetter and Priceline so you can book your Alexis Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexis Hotel Kimpton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alexis Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.