We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor Internet” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Alexis Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Alexis Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Alexis Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1007 First Ave., Seattle, WA 98104 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save Up To 20%
Ranked #5 of 95 Hotels in Seattle
GreenLeadersSilver level
homeless
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Poor Internet”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

In every way this is a very nice hotel with good/great service. However the Internet access is poor to terrible. Many times I could not use the hotel wifi because it was so slow. I am a preferred guest so it is free access which it should be given the room cost but they need to upgrade the system to accommodate the average Internet user.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jenne_neptune, General Manager at Alexis Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
I'm happy to see that you had a good stay, even with the internet issues. It has been something that has come up in that past, and we are definitely working on it! As we strive to constantly improve, it is constructive feedback like this that motivates and gives us direction. Thank you for being our guest, and I hope we’ll get to show you the full potential of the Alexis your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,309 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    965
    235
    68
    24
    17
See reviews for
210
549
87
243
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (302)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Excellent location and very helpful staff for local tips. Nice rooms and amenaties. Some very nice touches with wine tasting each evening, free loan bikes and even a goldfish for the room on request!!. We were here for 13 nights in Seattle and would recomend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jenne_neptune, General Manager at Alexis Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Oh wow, 13 nights! That's wonderful! Glad to see that you that you enjoyed all of thing great things the hotel offers. The loaner PUBLIC bikes are pretty cool. Next time you stay with us and take the bikes out, you should check out the picnic lunches that you can get with them...delicious! Thanks for staying with us, until next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

We stayed 2 nights at this hotel and it was great. The friendly staff was always accommodating, the room was generously sized (King size bed) and we felt well taken care of! It was recommended to me by a friend, and I would in turn recommend it to any of mine. The hotel location was good, too, (right downtown) and our room looked out over a quiet street.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jenne_neptune, General Manager at Alexis Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
We love to take care of our guests! Glad to see that we accomplished that very thing. :) Thank you to you, and your friend, for recommending our hotel. We look forward to having you stay with us next time you are in Seattle!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Here for a group meeting so I did not choose the hotel but had a very good stay anyway. The room was very clean and the beds super comfy. Wifi worked well. Staff seemed to be very helpful and as a smaller boutique hotel, there was a nice calm feel to the lobby and common spaces. Location is great, a few blocks from the water where we took a dinner cruise around the harbor. Also a quick 20 minute walk and a $ 10 taxi ride back from the space needle. I had seen the space needle before so went to the new Chihuly museum which was amazing. Food service for our lunches in the conference was pretty good. However, I ordered a cheeseburger from the hotel which was burnt and not too appetizing. The gym was very small and the machines old and creaky but the front desk said they were planning to renovate it soon. Last time I was in Seattle, I stayed at the Hyatt Olive 8 which had an amazing gym and pool but would say the Alexis is a better location and a more intimate feel. If they fix up the gym would probably give it a higher rating.
No coffee machines in the rooms but they had fresh brewed coffee in the lobby by 5 am which is great for us East Coasters up at 4 am.

Room Tip: Would not choose for the view, mostly surrounded by other buildings
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jenne_neptune, General Manager at Alexis Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
It is true, we are making plans to renovate our gym facilities. It has been mentioned by guests in the past and we are working improving the equipment and space. As we strive to constantly improve, it is constructive feedback like this that motivates and gives us direction. Thank you for being our guest, and I hope we’ll get to show you the full potential of the Alexis your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kotzebue, Alaska
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

I'll start with a few down points for me. The room itself was nice but small, and the TV was even smaller. I would have liked to order a movie, but didn't want to pull up the desk chair for a good view. Then there was the parking fee, which I suggest avoiding if possible. Using a town car service to and from the airport would be a good choice.

Otherwise the reason it gets 5 stars in my book was the staff. They treated me (a mid 20yo, bushy beard, jeans and tee shirt kind of guy) the same as the bride and groom in their wedding dress and tux, there was a wedding when we arrived. Also even though the room was small, it became more comfortable in time.

This was my first stay at a Kimpton Hotel, and also downtown. I travel yearly to Seattle for vacation, but have always stayed near the City Center (Space Needle).

What will I do next year? Probably stay near City Center, but recommend the Alexis Hotel if anyone is traveling to Seattle.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jenne_neptune, General Manager at Alexis Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to write this review! As much as we love hearing the great comments, its the constructive ones that help us with where we want our hotel standards to be. I'm happy to hear that it was the staff that made the trip for you! We hope that you try us out again! Maybe we can get you into one of our larger suites that are a bit more comfortable with watching movies and relaxing on the couch. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
st. paul
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

As usual friendly Kimpton staff welcomed us to this attractive hotel. The room was attractive and comfortable . There is a nice looking restaurant but there are so many dining options in Seattle that we did not get a chance to try it. We wold recommend this hotel to friends .

Room Tip: We stayed twice we preferred the smaller room facing 1st street . Both were nice though
See more room tips
Green Features: Good to see they are environmentally aware Easy to recycle
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jenne_neptune, General Manager at Alexis Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
It is pretty hard to eat at all of the wonderful eateries that surround the hotel. Maybe next time you can plan the trip around the restaurants? I'm sure it will be worth it. ;) Thanks for taking the time to review us! We look forward to your next visit with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cypress, California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

We love to stay in Kimpton hotels but would not return to this one. We paid for an upgraded room with a water view but got a room that looked across the bay but the buildings in front of us blacked any view of the bay. This places provides shampoo and conditioner in the bathrooms fastened to the wall in bulk containers - like what you get at a gym. It wasn't even quality bathroom products. The staff at the front desk was not very helpful. I had to ask for a city map when we checked in and the 3 times we asked for suggestions on where to eat, they pulled out a map and looked up the commercial places that were advertised on the map. The location in town is pretty good, but it's too bad the staff doesn't know how to offer recommendations to go along with the good location.
The bookstore bistro bar is great, but I would rate them separately from the hotels other bistro library which was extremely slow in service and had a very limited breakfast menu.
I think the Kimpton chain should dump this place - they give them a bad name.

Room Tip: Don't pay for the upgraded rooms - the hotels location behind other buildings blocks any good vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jenne_neptune, General Manager at Alexis Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
We pride ourselves on our genuine service and insider tips to the city, and I am so sorry that was not reflected in your stay. In all of our elevators, we offer “Live Like a Local” tips that include our employees’ favorite hole-in-the-wall spots that most out of towners don’t get to experience. Also, we are a historic building which means we are one of the shorter ones in the area. Unfortunately you cannot specifically book a water view room because we only have a few of them, but we do our best to accommodate you upon request and with no change to your rate. We do however offer the option to upgrade to a larger room at an increase to your rate. As for our shampoo and conditioner, we are a “green hotel” which means we take every opportunity to be as eco-friendly as possible. We supply our guests with the bulk containers in order to cut waste and abide by Kimpton standards, but single-use bathroom products are also available through the front desk if that is your preference. Our goal is to always enthusiastically exceed your expectations, and I would love to have another opportunity to wow you in a future stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Alexis Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexis Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 1007 First Ave., Seattle, WA 98104
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Seattle
#3 Business Hotel in Seattle
#4 Luxury Hotel in Seattle
#4 Romantic Hotel in Seattle
#8 Green Hotel in Seattle
#14 Family Hotel in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Alexis Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Consistently on Conde Nast’s Gold List, the Alexis Hotel recently completed a $10 million renovation, making it the ultimate luxury boutique hotel in Seattle. The hotel’s commitment to the Seattle arts community and its savvy, unfaltering service combine to make this Kimpton Hotel a unique downtown destination. Near the waterfront, the Alexis Hotel is close to Pioneer Square & the Stadium District, Pike Place Market, the Seattle waterfront and the Seattle Art Museum. Adjacent to the hotel is the intimate Library Bistro & Bookstore Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Otel, Agoda, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Alexis Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexis Hotel Kimpton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alexis Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.