We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Both Posh and Homey” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Alexis Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Alexis Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Alexis Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1007 First Ave., Seattle, WA 98104 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save Up To 20%
Ranked #5 of 95 Hotels in Seattle
GreenLeadersSilver level
San Francisco, California
1 review
“Both Posh and Homey”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

We stayed 2 nights at this hotel and it was great. The friendly staff was always accommodating, the room was generously sized (King size bed) and we felt well taken care of! It was recommended to me by a friend, and I would in turn recommend it to any of mine. The hotel location was good, too, (right downtown) and our room looked out over a quiet street.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jenne_neptune, General Manager at Alexis Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
We love to take care of our guests! Glad to see that we accomplished that very thing. :) Thank you to you, and your friend, for recommending our hotel. We look forward to having you stay with us next time you are in Seattle!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,303 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    960
    234
    68
    24
    17
See reviews for
206
548
87
242
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (301)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Here for a group meeting so I did not choose the hotel but had a very good stay anyway. The room was very clean and the beds super comfy. Wifi worked well. Staff seemed to be very helpful and as a smaller boutique hotel, there was a nice calm feel to the lobby and common spaces. Location is great, a few blocks from the water where we took a dinner cruise around the harbor. Also a quick 20 minute walk and a $ 10 taxi ride back from the space needle. I had seen the space needle before so went to the new Chihuly museum which was amazing. Food service for our lunches in the conference was pretty good. However, I ordered a cheeseburger from the hotel which was burnt and not too appetizing. The gym was very small and the machines old and creaky but the front desk said they were planning to renovate it soon. Last time I was in Seattle, I stayed at the Hyatt Olive 8 which had an amazing gym and pool but would say the Alexis is a better location and a more intimate feel. If they fix up the gym would probably give it a higher rating.
No coffee machines in the rooms but they had fresh brewed coffee in the lobby by 5 am which is great for us East Coasters up at 4 am.

Room Tip: Would not choose for the view, mostly surrounded by other buildings
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jenne_neptune, General Manager at Alexis Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
It is true, we are making plans to renovate our gym facilities. It has been mentioned by guests in the past and we are working improving the equipment and space. As we strive to constantly improve, it is constructive feedback like this that motivates and gives us direction. Thank you for being our guest, and I hope we’ll get to show you the full potential of the Alexis your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kotzebue, Alaska
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

I'll start with a few down points for me. The room itself was nice but small, and the TV was even smaller. I would have liked to order a movie, but didn't want to pull up the desk chair for a good view. Then there was the parking fee, which I suggest avoiding if possible. Using a town car service to and from the airport would be a good choice.

Otherwise the reason it gets 5 stars in my book was the staff. They treated me (a mid 20yo, bushy beard, jeans and tee shirt kind of guy) the same as the bride and groom in their wedding dress and tux, there was a wedding when we arrived. Also even though the room was small, it became more comfortable in time.

This was my first stay at a Kimpton Hotel, and also downtown. I travel yearly to Seattle for vacation, but have always stayed near the City Center (Space Needle).

What will I do next year? Probably stay near City Center, but recommend the Alexis Hotel if anyone is traveling to Seattle.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jenne_neptune, General Manager at Alexis Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to write this review! As much as we love hearing the great comments, its the constructive ones that help us with where we want our hotel standards to be. I'm happy to hear that it was the staff that made the trip for you! We hope that you try us out again! Maybe we can get you into one of our larger suites that are a bit more comfortable with watching movies and relaxing on the couch. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
st. paul
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

As usual friendly Kimpton staff welcomed us to this attractive hotel. The room was attractive and comfortable . There is a nice looking restaurant but there are so many dining options in Seattle that we did not get a chance to try it. We wold recommend this hotel to friends .

Room Tip: We stayed twice we preferred the smaller room facing 1st street . Both were nice though
See more room tips
Green Features: Good to see they are environmentally aware Easy to recycle
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jenne_neptune, General Manager at Alexis Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
It is pretty hard to eat at all of the wonderful eateries that surround the hotel. Maybe next time you can plan the trip around the restaurants? I'm sure it will be worth it. ;) Thanks for taking the time to review us! We look forward to your next visit with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cypress, California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

We love to stay in Kimpton hotels but would not return to this one. We paid for an upgraded room with a water view but got a room that looked across the bay but the buildings in front of us blacked any view of the bay. This places provides shampoo and conditioner in the bathrooms fastened to the wall in bulk containers - like what you get at a gym. It wasn't even quality bathroom products. The staff at the front desk was not very helpful. I had to ask for a city map when we checked in and the 3 times we asked for suggestions on where to eat, they pulled out a map and looked up the commercial places that were advertised on the map. The location in town is pretty good, but it's too bad the staff doesn't know how to offer recommendations to go along with the good location.
The bookstore bistro bar is great, but I would rate them separately from the hotels other bistro library which was extremely slow in service and had a very limited breakfast menu.
I think the Kimpton chain should dump this place - they give them a bad name.

Room Tip: Don't pay for the upgraded rooms - the hotels location behind other buildings blocks any good vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jenne_neptune, General Manager at Alexis Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
We pride ourselves on our genuine service and insider tips to the city, and I am so sorry that was not reflected in your stay. In all of our elevators, we offer “Live Like a Local” tips that include our employees’ favorite hole-in-the-wall spots that most out of towners don’t get to experience. Also, we are a historic building which means we are one of the shorter ones in the area. Unfortunately you cannot specifically book a water view room because we only have a few of them, but we do our best to accommodate you upon request and with no change to your rate. We do however offer the option to upgrade to a larger room at an increase to your rate. As for our shampoo and conditioner, we are a “green hotel” which means we take every opportunity to be as eco-friendly as possible. We supply our guests with the bulk containers in order to cut waste and abide by Kimpton standards, but single-use bathroom products are also available through the front desk if that is your preference. Our goal is to always enthusiastically exceed your expectations, and I would love to have another opportunity to wow you in a future stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lahaina, Hawaii
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

I love love this hotel! The suites are beautiful and every one of them is unique. It makes staying there an adventure. From the moment the door is opened for you the customer service is above and beyond. I have stayed there a few times and have had the same experience every time. The non-suite rooms are also very non-hotel like...in a good way. They are also have their own unique features. Last but not least the location is spectacular. On First Avenue It is within walking distance to pike place market, Seattle Art Museum, both Safeco and Century Link Stadiums, all the cruise terminals, and the big ferris wheel on the Puget Sound boardwalk. The shopping is great and Westlake center is not too much further than Pikes Market, where you can hop on a duck ride, which is a must! I also love the library bar, it is very quaint, and the service is always great. They also have a wine happy hour every day, which I haven't taken advantage of, but always looks like a pleasant way to start out your evening.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jenne_neptune, General Manager at Alexis Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Great way to describe the hotel! Hopefully next time you will be able to take advantage of the complimentary wine hour, I promise, it is worth it. It seems that you definitely had an great time around the city; fantastic! We look forward to having you back in Seattle for your next adventure!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loomis, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

We have stayed at several Kimpton hotels. We recently traveled to Seattle to see the Eagles in concert and decided to stay at the Alexis Hotel. Even before we arrived at the hotel, the hotel staff (Adela) was in communication with me asking if we had any special requests. It just so happened to be our 10 year anniversary. Adela helped us upgrade our room, provided us with a congratulatory bottle of bubbly, helped us arrange a fantastic dinner at the Metropolitan Grill, and any future arrangements at a Kimpton hotel.

Anthony (the bearded doorman) was also a real gentleman and was a pleasure to talk to about Seattle. Having been to Seattle several times my wife and I wanted to go somewhere we had not been yet and that was something we will not find at home. We inquired with Anthony for some of our options in West Seattle. He immediately had some ideas and sent us to “The Chupacabra” in West Seattle. We were pleasantly surprised with West Seattle and his dining choice. Aside from his positive demeanor and excellent customer service when we interacted with him, I was able to observe him on several occasions helping hotel guests and doing so with a smile on his face and a genuine desire to do the best job possible.

In summary, the personal service provided by Adela and Anthony was top notch. It is not something you get at most hotel chains and often not something you receive even when staying at the most expensive hotels. Kimpton and the Alexis Hotel in particular clearly go that extra mile, even if just so much as acknowledge your guests and check in with them. Yes you might pay a bit more to stay at a Kimpton, but in the end it is always worth it. Better service, cleaner rooms, and a personal touch that is really hard to find.

Room Tip: Hard to go wrong in a suite if you need the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jenne_neptune, General Manager at Alexis Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Thank you for this lovely review! I am thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us, and CONGRATULATIONS on your 10 year anniversary! Thank you so much for celebrating with us. Aren't Anthony and Adela awesome? They are so much fun to have on the team, and they both love to create memorable guest experiences. We always strive for guests feeling like they made some new friends during their stay with us. Hopefully we see you for your next romantic getaway where we can introduce you to some new Seattle spots and maybe a few new friends.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Alexis Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexis Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 1007 First Ave., Seattle, WA 98104
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Seattle
#3 Business Hotel in Seattle
#4 Romantic Hotel in Seattle
#4 Luxury Hotel in Seattle
#8 Green Hotel in Seattle
#15 Family Hotel in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Alexis Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Consistently on Conde Nast’s Gold List, the Alexis Hotel recently completed a $10 million renovation, making it the ultimate luxury boutique hotel in Seattle. The hotel’s commitment to the Seattle arts community and its savvy, unfaltering service combine to make this Kimpton Hotel a unique downtown destination. Near the waterfront, the Alexis Hotel is close to Pioneer Square & the Stadium District, Pike Place Market, the Seattle waterfront and the Seattle Art Museum. Adjacent to the hotel is the intimate Library Bistro & Bookstore Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Agoda, Otel, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Alexis Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexis Hotel Kimpton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alexis Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.