We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First time to Seattle” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alexis Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel

Save Saved
You added Alexis Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Alexis Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1007 First Ave., Seattle, WA 98104 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Spring Special: Save 20%
Ranked #4 of 93 hotels in Seattle
GreenLeadersSilver level
San Diego
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“First time to Seattle”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

I guess I'm just reiterating what others have said already.....great location, fun little hotel, super nice staff, satisfying food and drink, comfy bed and room, etc. For us, because this was meant to be a quick trip to check out Seattle, you could not beat the location. We walked to everything! Fun time....thanx!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jenne_neptune, General Manager at Alexis Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Thanks for sharing your stay with us! Its looks to be that you had a wonderful time. Well we hope to have you back again for another fun stay!

Jenne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,100 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    810
    200
    53
    21
    16
See reviews for
162
476
73
205
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (235)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Palm Beach Gardens, Florida, United States
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

you can't beat the location of this hotel, you can walk to pikes place, great dining, the waterfront,shopping and great running routes. We loved our fireplace suite, the staff very helpful,even with some very late in room dining (due to airline delays) very pet friendly, parking is crazy expensive though...

Room Tip: fireplace suites are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jenne_neptune, General Manager at Alexis Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Thanks for taking the time to write this review. We love to hear the feedback of our guests! I'm happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. I know the parking is high, but being downtown, prices do tend to all be that way. But we do offer packages with have half off parking or even complimentary. Just check out the website for more details. We hope to have you back again for another great stay!

Jenne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Køge, Denmark
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

I came without knowing what to expect but found a hotel that was very nice and special. There was a very different and very warm and personal feeling about the whole hotel. Quite different from other places I have been to (been to many!).

The fitness room was not worth writing home about but the staff, the atmosphere and everything else was something I will definitely come back and try.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jenne_neptune, General Manager at Alexis Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
Thanks for great comments on your stay! So glad you enjoyed the environment that we have here at the Alexis Hotel. We are working on the gym facilities here at the hotel, so I do apologize for the inconvenience. Thank you again for being our guest, and I hope we’ll get to show you the full potential of the Alexis your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, CO
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Recently, my family and I were invited on an Alaskan cruise, leaving from Seattle. The night before we stayed in Seattle to enjoy the city before our journey. We chose Alexis in Seattle for its proximity to Pike Place Market and to the cruise terminal as both are conveniently located nearby.

ROOMS

Our room was an Executive Suite, located on a corner with views of the city, a separate bedroom for my husband and I and a sofa sleeper for the two boys. The 775 square feet of space was an escape for our tired bodies, worn out from the fun of Seattle. We spread out in the sitting room and enjoyed a pay-per-view family movie. The king bed was quite comfortable as all Kimpton properties use great mattresses and top-quality sheets.

DINING

Chef Chris Lobkovich has created menus using the incredible bounty of local ingredients and inspiration. Seattle as a whole has some of the best food in the nation, in my opinion. Although we didn’t try the Library Bistro during our stay, we did indulge in room service from the same kitchen and loved it. The boys wanted hot chocolate with marshmallows and my husband and I craved crème brulee and chocolate cake. Both decadent desserts were absolutely delicious!

MY RECOMMENDATION

When headed for Seattle as a stop-over before your cruise or to enjoy the city, stay here and get a suite!

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jenne_neptune, General Manager at Alexis Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
I'm so glad to see that you enjoyed your stay! Thank you so much for writing such a detailed review. We love to hear the feedback from our guests. And we also love when they can describe the details that other guests checking out the hotel should know. Very smart! But most off, thank you for being our guest and we hope to have you back again!

Jenne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

I had the absolute pleasure of spending 5 days at the wonderfully cool Alexis Hotel with my best travelling partner – my wife. Firstly, the Hotel is perfectly situated in the city, a short few blocks and you are in the middle of the awesome Pike’s Place Market, go in the opposite direction and you are at SafeCo and Century Link field, Pioneers Square along the way and also a short jaunt to Pier 52 & 55 for water ferries/taxis to the Islands. Our room was ideal, wonderfully appointed with a unique set-up, kind of a mini-foyer that leads into an open space. The room had sets of windows covering two walls that allowed for a view of the city and water, and allowed for wonderful sunlight to flood the room. What makes the Alexis so special is the wonderful service that the Hotels had to offer. There is a funky, hip vibe to the place that is authentic and adds to the experience. Everyone at the Hotel is willing to lend a hand and go above and beyond the call of duty. A nice touch is a cocktail hour between 5 – 6 with free wine and flavoured waters. It was perfect after a day of tooling around the city. We had breakfast in the Library Bistro a couple of times, which was a great way to start the day off and running…bit of a splurge but hey you are on Vacation.

Couple of travel tips, it is worth the ferry/water taxi ride to head over to Alki Beach and Bainbridge island, to while away the day. Easy ferries across the sound…also if you want a delicious lunch or dinner at Alki hit up Marination and on Bainbridge head over to Restaurant Marche. A quick and affordable breakfast can be had on 1st street…Cherry Street Coffee House.

Green Features: Separate bins for recycling, garbage. Shower had large refillable pumps for soap, shampoo and conditioner.
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jenne_neptune, General Manager at Alexis Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Those tips are fantastic! It's nice when you are able to get out side of the downtown area an explore what else Seattle has to offer. Thank you for sharing your stay with us and we hope to have you back again for another lovely 5 night trip!

Jenne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

My first time at the Kimpton chain - 4 stars in the grand scheme of hotels, but 5 stars for the price point and unique features.

Came here for a weekend stay and thoroughly enjoyed the stay.  I've never stayed at a Kimpton hotel before and some highlights are:

- Complimentary bicycles to use in the city
- Bigelow toiletries with some proceeds to Dress for Sucess
- InTouch membership - sign up for this!  Gives you free wi-fi and a $10 credit to each stay that you can use at the mini-bar
- Discount on valet parking if you drive a hybrid/EV - woot!
- Great location!
- Solid service from check-in to the 'have a great day' notes on your mirror from housekeeping staff
- Comfy bed and quiet rooms

The food at the hotel meeting rooms is decent - typical hotel fare.  The only minor area that could use improvement is the hotel gym.  It's very small with a few weights, one treadmill, one bike and two ellipticals.  The machines are on the older side and only the bike has a TV.

I would definitely recommend the Alexis Hotel and plan to check out more of the Kimpton chain in other cities now!

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jenne_neptune, General Manager at Alexis Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Thank you for highlighting some our amenities here at the Alexis. We make sure that our guests here have everything they need to feel like they are at home...and then some! Thank you for the constructive feedback on our gym facilities. We are working on making our workout experience better for our guests to enjoy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

My wife and I were first time visitors to Seattle. Based on friend and TA recommendations, we stayed at the Alexis Hotel. The location was perfect walking distance to everything. The staff was extremely friendly and accommodating. I travel often on business and didn't want to stay in a standard business hotel (ie Marriott). This was a perfect eclectic hotel that really reflected Seattle. There is no doubt that we'll stay here again when we visit Seattle. Thanks!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jenne_neptune, General Manager at Alexis Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Well thanks for the wonderful review! I'm so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us! Thank you for appreciating the eccentricity of our hotel. Its one of the things that makes us stand out from the others. :) Well we hope to have you back soon!

Jenne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Alexis Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexis Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel

Also Known As:
Alexis Hotel Kimpton
Alexis Hotel
Address: 1007 First Ave., Seattle, WA 98104
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Seattle
#4 Luxury Hotel in Seattle
#5 Business Hotel in Seattle
#6 Green Hotel in Seattle
#6 Romantic Hotel in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Alexis Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Consistently on Conde Nast’s Gold List, the Alexis Hotel recently completed a $10 million renovation, making it the ultimate luxury boutique hotel in Seattle. The hotel’s commitment to the Seattle arts community and its savvy, unfaltering service combine to make this Kimpton Hotel a unique downtown destination. Near the waterfront, the Alexis Hotel is close to Pioneer Square & the Stadium District, Pike Place Market, the Seattle waterfront and the Seattle Art Museum. Adjacent to the hotel is the intimate Library Bistro & Bookstore Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Amex, BookIt.com, Priceline, Tingo, Tablet Hotels, TripOnline SA, Otel, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Alexis Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alexis Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.