We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not all Kimptons are the same” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Alexis Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Alexis Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Alexis Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1007 First Ave., Seattle, WA 98104 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save Up To 20%
Ranked #7 of 95 Hotels in Seattle
GreenLeadersSilver level
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Not all Kimptons are the same”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Since I was such a huge fan of the Kimpton Hotel Monaco in Portland, I decided to stick with the Kimpton group and book the Alexis Hotel in downtown Seattle, 4.5 blocks from the Pike Street Market, to try out over the March springbreak.

The hotel was nice looking and the valet staff were very helpful but the overall customer service was just not as great as the ones received at the Monaco in Portland. I booked the room with the queen bed and it was very spacious and comfy. Our outside view was overlooking an alley, so not fancy at all but that's ok as I never requested for any upgrade. At 5pm they served free wine and an appie ... 1 appie - some sort of risotto ball, tasty but, when they run out, that's it ... so I feel bad for those who don't arrive right a 5pm as you won't get anything more ...

I guess the customer service that I received from Portland's Monaco was just so different and over the top from what I received in Seattle that I had to mention it. Would I rebook the Alexis again, probably not, but I would definitely rebook the hotel Monaco.

Anyway, the hotel location was close to the Pike Street Market, which was good because parking is hard to find and since I already paid $40 for valet parking at the hotel, I didn't want to move my car as I wanted to walk everywhere.

The location was important for me as I booked a gourmet walking tour of the Pike Street Market. This gourmet tour was ran by Savor Seattle Tour. Our Gourmet Tour Guide(s) were super friendly and totally knowledgeable on the history of the market. But best of all, we got to try some pretty tasty samples of food from the food stalls that we visited. I recommend this tour for those that want to try something different besides just shopping in the vincinity of Seattle. My fave spot was the Pear Deli and we went back the next morning to have our breakfast there. Once again, I packed a lot in because I chose a good location hotel, which is important based on what you want to do when traveling, right?

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jenne_neptune, General Manager at Alexis Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, May 12, 2013
I'm sorry to hear we didn't meet your expectations--we are known for going above and beyond for our guests, and wish that had been your experience with us. Please feel free to email me at jenne.neptune@alexishotel.com if there are any specifics about why our service fell short for you that you would like to discuss, or perhaps what we could do in the future to better your stay. Take care, Jenne Neptune, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,237 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    903
    226
    67
    24
    17
See reviews for
196
531
84
227
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (283)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Malibu, California
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

My wife and I have been traveling the coastlines of California, Oregon, and Washington for a month with our eight month old Portugese Water Dog, visiting friends and relatives mostly. But when we need a hotel we try to find a Kimpton whenever possible because of the general awesomeness of the staffs and great vibes and value AND because they all take the term "dog-friendly" quite literally. The Alexis, however, takes the prize for us - the front desk staff happily watched our pup while we listened to the Firebird performed by the Seattle Symphony last night and then again today while we checked out the Seattle Art Museum for several hours. By the way, both within a few blocks of the hotel. Happy puppy, happy owners!

AND, as Kimpton 'In Touch' members, they gave us a free upgrade to a huge comfortable premiere king suite. Five stars are not enough as far as we are concerned. Love every Kimpton we've been in.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jenne_neptune, General Manager at Alexis Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, May 12, 2013
Nothing makes the front desk as happy as a puppy visitor. Thanks for the Kimpton love!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Marino, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

After poking around Seattle all day, it's really important to have a welcoming place to come "home" to. The staff at the front desk are professional, yet engaging and there to make your stay comfortable. What do you want to know about Seattle? They'll either know, or find out. Housekeeping is immaculate. Interior design is simple and elegant. Beds are comfortable. Don't miss the bar -- it's fun and comfortable. I'd go back in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jenne_neptune, General Manager at Alexis Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, May 12, 2013
The Bookstore Bar might be small, but it's one of the best parts of the Alexis- be sure to try the clam chowder next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

We booked this hotel because they offered a suite which has double French doors that close off the bedroom from the main area, which makes it more comfortable when travelling with children.

We were booked into the Author's Suite (#322), which was gorgeous. The living area is vast, complete with a library, fireplace, large dining table, pull-out sofa, large screen TV (another in the bedroom), Keurig coffee maker, etc. The Mini Bar is overpriced, but if you join the Kimpton loyalty program, they at least reward you with a $10 off coupon, which is ironically named "Raid the Mini Bar". Ha! For $10 we got a bag of chips and pack of gum. :) Also be aware that almost nothing on the television is free: most programs are $6.99. And overnight parking is $40. So while it appeared at first that the price of their suites were very reasonable, be aware of these added fees.

The bedroom area itself was rather small (but beautiful), and the thermostat is located within the sleeping quarters, which means that if you have children sleeping on the pull-out sofa in the larger living area, you will be toasty warm while they are freezing. The solution is to either crank up the heat in the bedroom, or open the doors and give up your privacy. We chose instead to give up our blankets and pile them on our lads, who slept comfortably.

The jets in the tub are quite strong (too strong for my preference), but the switch to turn it on/off is located on the other side of the wall. So we set the timer, and just dealt with it (rather than getting out of the warm tub to turn it off). The bathtub had a minor area where the finish was peeling but other than that, the bathroom was spotless.

The rest of the suite was also pristine and spotless, other than a couple of details. My older son was curious about the books, and so removed one to peruse it further, and noticed an empty bottle of champagne behind it. Not a big deal.

However, upon checkout, I let the staff know that the linens in room 322 were dirty. There was a stain on the exterior sheet (it appeared to be blood)as well as another stain on the white down comforter (possibly chocolate or dirt). In such an otherwise upstanding hotel, this is truly unacceptable.

Had it not been for these minor details, this would have been a 5-star experience. The staff was very helpful, friendly, welcoming, and kind. From the parking attendants to the front desk, every single person was warm and genuinely concerned about how they could help. One of the staff members recommended a coffee house down the street (Cherry Street Coffee) which was outstanding. And when checking out, the girl printed directions to the zoo, which she referred to as "directions to the dentist's office" (because she knew we were trying to surprise our sons) - adorable! Overall, this was a pleasant experience and we would likely stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jenne_neptune, General Manager at Alexis Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, May 12, 2013
Thank you for the honest and detailed review. We strive for perfection, but sometimes fall short, and this sort of feedback really helps us to get things back on track and better than ever. I hope we do see you back at the Alexis--we're working on getting it spotless for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed here for a few nights to celebrate a special occasion. It was such a dream! The staff was very friendly and helpful with dinner plans. Our suite was big. It had a comfy bed and with a fireplace, it was fabulous! The location is great, so close by to Pike's Market and transit. I can not wait to go back!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jenne_neptune, General Manager at Alexis Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, May 12, 2013
We can't wait to have you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Very nice hotel and falls in line with the other Kimpton properties that I've stayed at (Palomar and Monaco). The hardest part for me was finding the hotel. I'm not a city girl and finding it was challenging. I wasn't overly excited about room service from the Library Bistro. The service was very quick, but the salad was a little wilted and the soup was extremely salty (for my taste). I will say that after eating New England Clam Chowder for years, the way it's presented here was a very nice change. I've never had it with the clams still in the shell. Check in and check out were easy and the front desk staff were very friendly and helpful. Valet parking is $40/night which is a bit much, but is close to the going rate here. I paid $32/night at another hotel around the corner. My favorite part of course is raiding the mini bar!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jenne_neptune, General Manager at Alexis Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Thank you for the honest review of your stay and dining experience with us. We are hard at work in the Library Bistro and Bookstore Bar to make sure we are always providing fresh and delicious food, and I hope you'll give us another chance to wow your taste buds!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

What can I say, that hasn't been said about a Kimpton Resort. The staff here was just so welcoming and made my friend and I feel like we were at home. The room upgrade was an unexpected treat, the Location was perfect and we love, love, loved the originality and uniqueness of the Library Bar & Restaurant. I will only stay at the Alexis when I am in Seattle.( or anywhere for that matter)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jenne_neptune, General Manager at Alexis Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Thank you! We love our loyal Kimpton family, and are lucky to have such kind guests be a part of it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Alexis Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexis Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 1007 First Ave., Seattle, WA 98104
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Seattle
#3 Business Hotel in Seattle
#5 Luxury Hotel in Seattle
#6 Romantic Hotel in Seattle
#8 Green Hotel in Seattle
#15 Family Hotel in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Alexis Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Consistently on Conde Nast’s Gold List, the Alexis Hotel recently completed a $10 million renovation, making it the ultimate luxury boutique hotel in Seattle. The hotel’s commitment to the Seattle arts community and its savvy, unfaltering service combine to make this Kimpton Hotel a unique downtown destination. Near the waterfront, the Alexis Hotel is close to Pioneer Square & the Stadium District, Pike Place Market, the Seattle waterfront and the Seattle Art Museum. Adjacent to the hotel is the intimate Library Bistro & Bookstore Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Alexis Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexis Hotel Kimpton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alexis Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.