We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good sleep in Seattle” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Alexis Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Alexis Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Alexis Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1007 First Ave., Seattle, WA 98104 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save Up To 20%
Ranked #5 of 95 Hotels in Seattle
GreenLeadersSilver level
Invercargill, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“A good sleep in Seattle”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

The Alexis was the third Seattle hotel we stayed at in the last three years, and it was the best. When we arrived, late in the evening I thought it might be a bit further from the city centre than others, but not so. The location at 1007 First Avenue is perfect, a few blocks from Pike Place.

The Library Bistro/bookstore is a popular spot, although the food service ended just before we arrived at 10.0pm. Plenty of options nearby though advised by the cheerful helpful staff.

Breakfast is in another downstairs room and offers a great range including a huge bowl of porridge big enough to satisfy all of the three bears. All sorts of other rooms for functions on the ground floor too.

The beds are comfortable, and the service from the wonderful staff was great. A small glitch after I left (a bottle of wine from the in room bar charged in error) was sorted quickly once I pointed it out.

Handy car service I was able to charge to my room at 4.00am worked well too.

Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jenne_neptune, General Manager at Alexis Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
There is nothing quite like a good night's sleep. Thanks for the review, kevino101, hope to see you back at the Alexis for more sweet dreams.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,305 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    962
    234
    68
    24
    17
See reviews for
207
548
87
243
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (302)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon, United States
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We had a painless check-in and friendly greetings. We booked through Hotels.com, so we weren't really sure what to expect. The hotel itself was cute and romantic. There was a library bar in the lobby. Our room was great...pretty good in size and the decor was awesome. My favorite part was that they had leopard print robes, which just seemed fun. We got a room on the West side on the 3rd floor. We got the very basic room and it had everything we needed. The location is awesome, too. Valet parking only and it's $30 dollars which is a bit much when you can park across the street for less yourself.

The only two complaints I have were the bed - it was ROCK hard and I had a hard time sleeping. The other one was the noise level. We went on a Thursday night into Friday morning, so it was apparently trash day because the dumpster and trash truck were so loud in the alley! The only way to remedy that would be to get a room that is not near all of that. Otherwise, it wasn't bad at all...I'm assuming this isn't a problem on the weekends.

It's pricey, but I think it's worth a shot for a night.

Room Tip: If you go during the week day, do not get a room in the alley at the risk of listening to the garbag...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jenne_neptune, General Manager at Alexis Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
We understand that downtown noise can get a little overwhelming. Please do not hesitate to let us know if you need anything to get refreshed!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

This is just what we were looking for on our weekend getaway to Seattle. Our room was absolutely huge and I loved the decor. The cocktail hour in the lobby areas was buzzing with people and a lot of fun. Service was good but not great.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jenne_neptune, General Manager at Alexis Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Hopefully next time we can show you great service--it's what we're known for!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walla Walla, Washington
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Lovely room, service, breakfast dining. Convenient one time charge for in and out valet parking for use of car to outlying suburbs visiting family yet centrally located near galleries and Seattle Art Museum, restaurants and walking tours. Will definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: A king room felt like luxury of a more expensive large accommodation property.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jenne_neptune, General Manager at Alexis Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
We are thoughtful with each and every unique room of ours to ensure a beautiful stay regardless of room type.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, AL
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

This is the second time I have been to this hotel and I ate in the restaurant both times. The food is excellent, especially Sunday brunch. We enjoyed walking to the market as well as the shops and restaurants by the water. The happy hour glass of wine was nice as well. The room is fine with plenty of room. The decor is well done, and the staff was great. The $40 parking is too much but we had a half price special from online thought at $20 plus taxes, this can be a bit much as well. We will be back.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jenne_neptune, General Manager at Alexis Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Sunday bruch is the Library Bistro at their best--have you tried the apple fritters yet? YUM!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renton, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Perfect location for nightlife. We had the King Deluxe room which was very spacious, the bed was comfy as well as the pillows! I asked for a corner unit and got my wish ;) The bathroom was pretty big, with a nice sized walk-in shower (no tub) quality toiletries. Room serivce was good, I had a turkey panini which was delicious! Next time i'll try their other property - Hotel Monaco.

Room Tip: If you'd like a window that opens, just ask when making your reservation & dont forget to si...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jenne_neptune, General Manager at Alexis Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Have fun at the Monaco, and come see us again, too : )
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san diego
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

From the moment I checked in every staff member gave their name and asked me to call them if I needed anything. They brought a pitcher of ice water to my room wothin minutes of chrcking in. The restaurant manager offered to make some calls to help me get a Kimpton hotel in a sold out city where I am traveling next week. They gladly prepared my meal with substitutions. This is Ritz Carlton like service at a lower price point. The hotel rooms are beautiful and tastefully decorated, not your typical every room alike hotel chain.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jenne_neptune, General Manager at Alexis Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
A heartfelt thank you from all of us at the Alexis. Our guests keep us inspired!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Alexis Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexis Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 1007 First Ave., Seattle, WA 98104
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Seattle
#3 Business Hotel in Seattle
#4 Luxury Hotel in Seattle
#4 Romantic Hotel in Seattle
#8 Green Hotel in Seattle
#15 Family Hotel in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Alexis Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Consistently on Conde Nast’s Gold List, the Alexis Hotel recently completed a $10 million renovation, making it the ultimate luxury boutique hotel in Seattle. The hotel’s commitment to the Seattle arts community and its savvy, unfaltering service combine to make this Kimpton Hotel a unique downtown destination. Near the waterfront, the Alexis Hotel is close to Pioneer Square & the Stadium District, Pike Place Market, the Seattle waterfront and the Seattle Art Museum. Adjacent to the hotel is the intimate Library Bistro & Bookstore Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Otel, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Alexis Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexis Hotel Kimpton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alexis Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.