We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service, great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alexis Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel

Save Saved
You added Alexis Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Alexis Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1007 First Ave., Seattle, WA 98104 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save Up To 20%
Ranked #5 of 95 hotels in Seattle
GreenLeadersSilver level
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Excellent service, great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

We stayed 3 nights at the Alexis and were very pleased. The staff allowed us to check-in early. The room was small, but the furnishings were high quality. The room didn't have a coffee maker (which I was disppointed by) but the hotel offers free coffee and tea in the lobby. In the afternoon there is free wine and cocktails in the lobby. The location is convenient to everything in downtown Seattle. We were able to walk to the light rail station, Pike's Place Market and lots of shopping. We enjoyed both the bar and restaurant in the hotel. We would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jenne_neptune, General Manager at Alexis Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
So happy to hear you will be returning. Give us a call after you've booked your next reservation and request a coffee maker-we'll have it waiting in the room for you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,212 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    887
    220
    65
    23
    17
See reviews for
191
518
82
223
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (275)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Babylon, New York, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

It was quite late when we finally checked in and the vibe of the lobby was very festive: a small check-in area and people gathered around in party attire-definitely a holiday party going on. But due to some snafu at check-in, we were told that the hotel was completely sold out. We were disappointed but even more tired from having traveled from New York and asked them how this could be remedied. The front desk staff apologized profusely and made arrangements for us to spend a night at a sister hotel which was about 5 blocks away. That hotel didn't have the same atmosphere at all, but we were there just to sleep. We accepted everyone's apologies and went to that hotel for 1 night and then returned to 'our' hotel for the remaining 2 nights.
Well, let me just say that the hotel staff at the Alexis Hotel couldn't have been nicer to us from the moment we checked in for our 2nd night until we checked out on the 3rd. They righted our situation as much as could be asked for and I have to say, not only was our room clean and spacious and well-appointed, but the entire atmosphere of this jewel of a hotel will definitely keep us coming back here whenever we come back to Seattle, which I hope will be soon. The location is great, just a few minutes walk to Pike's Market, and we walked to various restaurants in the area and even walked to the ferry that took us over to Bainbridge Island. All together, atmosphere, extremely friendly service and terrific location is what make a good hotel great!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jenne_neptune, General Manager at Alexis Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
I am SO glad to hear our staff was able to take such great care of you, even after we were sold out and had to send you to one of our sister properties. I am sorry your check-in was a smooth as we would have liked it. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I spent another wonderful night at the Alexis this past Saturday. This stay included the canine member of our family as well.
From our friendly, proficient registrationist, Kayelyn, at check in to check out with the always engaging, hospitable Mr. Mike Hill and literally every single staff member we came into contact with the Alexis is most deffinately our favorite place to call home base for our weekend excursions downtown. We stayed in another beautifully kept, wonderfully decorated room and had our first occasion to entertain friends in our room following a night on the town. Everyone in our group was comfortable, had a great late night snack thanks to room service, and had a great time.
We love the Alexis for many reasons and will continue to visit at any opportunity.
Cheers to all for a job well done.
Kristen Ferguson

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jenne_neptune, General Manager at Alexis Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
So glad to hear our staff took such great care of you! Send us some pics of your four legged friend from your stay so we can post them on our FaceBook! See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

I've stayed at the Alexis a number of times this year for business and I absolutely love visiting Seattle just so I can stay at the Alexis. The staff is very friendly and helpful, the rooms are beautiful and the location is perfect.

Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jenne_neptune, General Manager at Alexis Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Thank you for the kind words! Glad we can be your home away from home. Looking forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

We decided to go up to Seattle for a quick holiday trip to see the sights. When we checked in the staff was super friendly and attentive and upgraded to a larger room which was great! The room was comfortable and nicely designed. The Alexis is a great hotel that was in the perfect location to get around to all the sights quickly and easily. As always Kimpton didn't disappoint!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jenne_neptune, General Manager at Alexis Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Thanks for the review, and glad you enjoyed your quick holiday trip in Seattle! Hope to see you again, soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

Stayed recently at the Alexis (not for the first time). Great location, massive rooms, excellent price, first class staff, sensible public areas. A bit overheated but that was the only negative. Would recommend it to anyone looking for a central Seattle location.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jenne_neptune, General Manager at Alexis Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Thank you for being a loyal guest! We ARE a bit quirky, glad it’s in a good way! Hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arvada, CO
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

We stayed here for business for a few days. We were very delighted in the decor but even more so by the amenities and the service. We took advantage of the Hot Cocoa Bar in the lobby everyday as well as the wine hour every evening. The room was cosy, quiet and well appointed. The location could not be beat. We walked to everything! Will come back for sure!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jenne_neptune, General Manager at Alexis Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Our Hot Cocoa Bar is almost better than Wine Hour! Thanks for the review and we hope to see you on your next trip to Seattle!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Alexis Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexis Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 1007 First Ave., Seattle, WA 98104
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Seattle
#3 Business Hotel in Seattle
#4 Luxury Hotel in Seattle
#5 Romantic Hotel in Seattle
#7 Green Hotel in Seattle
#12 Family Hotel in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Alexis Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Consistently on Conde Nast’s Gold List, the Alexis Hotel recently completed a $10 million renovation, making it the ultimate luxury boutique hotel in Seattle. The hotel’s commitment to the Seattle arts community and its savvy, unfaltering service combine to make this Kimpton Hotel a unique downtown destination. Near the waterfront, the Alexis Hotel is close to Pioneer Square & the Stadium District, Pike Place Market, the Seattle waterfront and the Seattle Art Museum. Adjacent to the hotel is the intimate Library Bistro & Bookstore Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Tingo, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com, Otel, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Alexis Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexis Hotel Kimpton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alexis Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.