We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quirky but Good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Alexis Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Alexis Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Alexis Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1007 First Ave., Seattle, WA 98104 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save Up To 20%
Ranked #5 of 95 Hotels in Seattle
GreenLeadersSilver level
Calgary, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Quirky but Good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

Stayed recently at the Alexis (not for the first time). Great location, massive rooms, excellent price, first class staff, sensible public areas. A bit overheated but that was the only negative. Would recommend it to anyone looking for a central Seattle location.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jenne_neptune, General Manager at Alexis Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Thank you for being a loyal guest! We ARE a bit quirky, glad it’s in a good way! Hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,307 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    964
    234
    68
    24
    17
See reviews for
208
549
87
243
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (302)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arvada, CO
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

We stayed here for business for a few days. We were very delighted in the decor but even more so by the amenities and the service. We took advantage of the Hot Cocoa Bar in the lobby everyday as well as the wine hour every evening. The room was cosy, quiet and well appointed. The location could not be beat. We walked to everything! Will come back for sure!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jenne_neptune, General Manager at Alexis Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Our Hot Cocoa Bar is almost better than Wine Hour! Thanks for the review and we hope to see you on your next trip to Seattle!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

We stay at the Alexis for our trips to Seattle. We participated in the Quadzilla series of marathons for Thanksgiving. The staff and accommodations are amazing, We traveled with our dachshunds and the hotel is pet friendly. The hotel is convenient to the SAM, Pike Market and the Pier/wharf.
We recommend this hotel and we plan to stay here again.
The hotel parking is expensive, but there are few options for affordable parking in downtown Seattle

Room Tip: All the rooms are different and unique
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jenne_neptune, General Manager at Alexis Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
We love our furry friends! Glad you enjoyed your stay, and we hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

We spent our 7 year/1year anniversary (what? you don't count both your meeting anniversary & marrying anniversary? and they didn't happen in the same month?) at the Alexis Hotel in Seattle. We were there to participate in the Seattle Marathon and staying on a friend's aerobed and decided we needed some luxury on our anniversary. The Alexis was definitely the right place for that!

Everyone at the hotel was fantastic. The person who checked us in was warm and friendly. The waitress at the Bookstore Bar was enthusiastic and accommodating of all our questions. The person who checked us in really seemed to care how our stay was (and didn't even sound bitter that he was working on Thanksgiving Day!).

The room on the 6th floor was really lovely. The lighting was perfect - they had several different levels of lighting. The soap & hair supplies in the bathroom smelled heavenly. The hotel even sent us a bottle of champagne and some chocolates to our room since it was our anniversary! All the small touches were just right.

We did find that the Library Bistro was a bit slow in their service - but it was Thanksgiving morning - and the waffle was a bit deflated - but it still tasted good. But I did love the look of the Bistro with all the books and the cozy banquettes.

This was a really great experience - it might even be worth not staying on my best friend's blow up bed next time I'm in town!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jenne_neptune, General Manager at Alexis Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
I don’t see why you couldn’t count both, as long as we can count on seeing you next year for the 8 year/2 year anniversary! Great to hear you enjoyed your stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012 via mobile

When we checked in at the Alexis, the man at the front desk offered us a much larger room than we had reserved, at no extra charge. The staff was extremely helpful with directions and recommendations. The locations was fabulous -within walking distance of everything we wanted to do. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jenne_neptune, General Manager at Alexis Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Upgrades are the best! Glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sgtoca
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

I cannot save enough good things about Alexis, from the rooms to the great service, dog friendly rooms, wine hour, complimentary coffee and sometime the wine hour include complimentary tapas which is such a nice touch. I recommend upgrading to their one bedroom and you will find yourself in a spacious room with enough room for 2 or 3 people. The location is very conducive to walk to the Seattle Art Museum, Pike Market and many many amazing restaurants. Their bistro called Library I believe is also one of my fav places to grab brunch on the weekends. So looking forward to our next stay there this month!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jenne_neptune, General Manager at Alexis Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
I love our weekend brunch and Chef Dave does such a great job with our menu! Chef loves to add a nice treat to our wine hour as well! We are excited to see you on your next trip to Seattle!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

We stayed 2 nights over Thanksgiving & booked last thing so we were in awe when we opened the door to the suite. It was huge & beautiful! (Bigger than my apt). I've stayed at Kimpton properties before and have never been dissatisfied. Here are my 2 beefs- there is no full length mirror-really? And the bathroom was disappointing. Compared to the rest of the suite it's small with absolutely no counter space or vanity! A pedestal type sink ( although hip & sleek looking) there was no where to put toiletries or a makup bag! And there was lots of room for counter space. The whole design of the suite was weird lot's of wasted space. Anyway...the property itself had a homey atmosphere good food & drink- we loved the bar. Would recommend!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jenne_neptune, General Manager at Alexis Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, December 1, 2012
Thank you for the kind words on our huge & beautiful suites! We are a historic property so each of our rooms has some sort of charm and is unique. Glad to hear you enjoyed our bar! Can you believe we have over 136 different whiskeys! Hope to see you next time you are in Seattle!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Alexis Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexis Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 1007 First Ave., Seattle, WA 98104
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Seattle
#3 Business Hotel in Seattle
#4 Luxury Hotel in Seattle
#4 Romantic Hotel in Seattle
#8 Green Hotel in Seattle
#14 Family Hotel in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Alexis Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Consistently on Conde Nast’s Gold List, the Alexis Hotel recently completed a $10 million renovation, making it the ultimate luxury boutique hotel in Seattle. The hotel’s commitment to the Seattle arts community and its savvy, unfaltering service combine to make this Kimpton Hotel a unique downtown destination. Near the waterfront, the Alexis Hotel is close to Pioneer Square & the Stadium District, Pike Place Market, the Seattle waterfront and the Seattle Art Museum. Adjacent to the hotel is the intimate Library Bistro & Bookstore Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Otel, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Alexis Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexis Hotel Kimpton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alexis Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.