We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alexis Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel

Save Saved
You added Alexis Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Alexis Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1007 First Ave., Seattle, WA 98104 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save Up To 20%
Ranked #4 of 95 hotels in Seattle
GreenLeadersSilver level
Oak Park, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

The Alexis is a wonderful hotel. We've spent 2 nights here; 2 to go---friendly, cheery, helpful staff. We booked the "Save our Sanity" deal and upon arrival were told that we were upgraded. It's a very spacious room with huge windows and the hotel's location is great. I highly recommend it.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jenne_neptune, General Manager at Alexis Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
So glad to hear you chose to “save your sanity” with us and that our staff were able to take great care of you! Thank you for the review, and see you next time you are in Seattle!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,171 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    866
    210
    58
    21
    16
See reviews for
178
504
80
218
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (261)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lakeside, MT
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

My wife and I recently spent 3 nights at the Alexis and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Our room was very nice, they have a wine hour each day in the lobby and they gladly allow dogs! Great location, friendly staff, a hotel that I would recommend without hesitation.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jenne_neptune, General Manager at Alexis Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
We love our four legged friends, and isn’t wine hour the best! I say it’s the best hour of my day! Thank you for recommending us and we will see you on your next trip to Seattle!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spokane
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

I had asked for a king room but was upgraded to a huge suite with two beds. One of the more luzurious rooms I have ever stayed in. Nothing to complain about here. Superb service, great beds and bath, excellent amenities and a $10 credit on the in-room snack bar. Location is in the heart of Seattle just a block from the waterfront and a few blocks from shopping and Pike Place market.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jenne_neptune, General Manager at Alexis Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
I am happy to hear you enjoyed our “sumptuous rooms”! Glad our staff was able to take such great care of you, and that you were able to enjoy your time in the city. We hope to see you on your next trip to Seattle!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

My husband and I spend the weekend at the Alexis after Marriott lost our reservation and was unable to provide us with a room. The Alexis was able to hook us up with a beautiful King room on the top floor (4th). The service of the staff was impeccable from the front desk to the valet. The hotel's decor is beautiful throughout the lobby and in the rooms. The bed was very comfortable with down comforter and both foam and down pillows. There was plenty of closet space, big bathroom and even a bit of mood lighting in the room :) Great location – very close to the Fish Market, Ferris Wheel Pier and Ferry. Great restaurant and bar on premise with awesome food, drinks and staff. Will definitely stay here again without hesitation – I'm glad Marriott lost our reservation!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jenne_neptune, General Manager at Alexis Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
I am so glad you enjoyed your stay with us, and that the Marriott lost your reservation! Thank you for all the kind remarks about our staff and property. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012 via mobile

I consider myself well traveled and was disappointed with this hotel considering that it is classified as a boutique hotel and #5 on Trip Advisor. Yes, yes - the staff are friendly but that's expected from any establishment. I would describe the decor of the rooms as odd and lacking attention to detail. The steam room is tired and the leopard robes tacky. Linens are less than luxurious.

Sorry Alexis but I can't understand what all the fuss is about. Your hotel is average and underwhelming.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jenne_neptune, General Manager at Alexis Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
I am genuinely sorry to hear that your stay did not reflect the pride we take in caring for our property. Please reach out to me personally at jenne.neptune@alexishotel.com if you would like to discuss your stay further. We would love another chance to show you the kind of service we work so hard to provide! Thank you for sharing your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

This hotel has a great location but is just average for the price. The TV is placed above the desk. It is unwatchable if someone needs to use the desk. There is really no seating area to dine in the room, just the desk. The furniture is "wharehouse style" and the chair,ottoman is not very comfortable. When we checked into the room, it took more than an hour for our luggage (we had checked it earlier) to arrive (I had to complain and then go downstairs to figure out what happened. The Concierge and staff are very friendly and that helps make up for the stark room, and room design. The room is ok but not the most comfortable for sitting, dining, relaxing. There is something just a bit odd about the room layout (large but inefficiently laid out).

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jenne_neptune, General Manager at Alexis Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to complete this review and also provide constructive feedback. We strive to constantly improve so feedback like this is very beneficially. Our hotel is one of Seattle’s historic properties; this adds charm and unique touches to the property. I hope we’ll get to show you our full potential on your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Great staff team from start to finish, valet parking expensive but I think it is in Seattle anyway! huge bedroom!!! Poor natural light but hey, it was raining all the time, great library bar with happy time offers,overall a super hotel, if we lived in North America we would definitely visit again with our dogs. Very impressed!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jenne_neptune, General Manager at Alexis Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
I am genuinely sorry to see that rather than exceeding your expectations we fell short. We pride ourselves on creating a truly unique hotel experience- I hope you choose to stay with us the next time you are in the States. We would love to see your pups again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Alexis Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexis Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 1007 First Ave., Seattle, WA 98104
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Seattle
#3 Business Hotel in Seattle
#4 Luxury Hotel in Seattle
#5 Romantic Hotel in Seattle
#7 Green Hotel in Seattle
#9 Family Hotel in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Alexis Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Consistently on Conde Nast’s Gold List, the Alexis Hotel recently completed a $10 million renovation, making it the ultimate luxury boutique hotel in Seattle. The hotel’s commitment to the Seattle arts community and its savvy, unfaltering service combine to make this Kimpton Hotel a unique downtown destination. Near the waterfront, the Alexis Hotel is close to Pioneer Square & the Stadium District, Pike Place Market, the Seattle waterfront and the Seattle Art Museum. Adjacent to the hotel is the intimate Library Bistro & Bookstore Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, Agoda, Otel, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Alexis Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexis Hotel Kimpton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alexis Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.