We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Catch a fish!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pike Place Market

Pike Place Market
Between Pike and Pine sts. at First Ave., Seattle, WA 98101 (Downtown)
206-682-7453
Improve this listing
Book Now

Ranked #1 of 104 shopping in Seattle
Type: Flea/ Street Markets, Landmarks/ Points of Interest
Activities: Shopping
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: One of the few authentic farmer's markets in the United States, this hub of delicious scents, delectable eats and delightful personalities attracts nine million visitors a year.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Catch a fish!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Pretty crowded on the weekend, but definitely a must see. Go to the famous Pike's Place Fish Market, they will let you catch a fish! The staff there is fun.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,059 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,811
    1,686
    464
    79
    19
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manila, Philippines
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“one of the best markets!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

I love visiting Pike Place Market for the sights, sounds and of course, the food. For my last trip I bought salmon and have them shipped to my Uncle and they did receive the salmon as the vendors mentioned, the next day and still so fresh. I love the smell of the flowers and the various produce that you can see that they are absolutely fresh and good price as well.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Louis
Top Contributor
161 reviews 161 reviews
41 attraction reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Great place to visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

We started our visit early in the morning and watched the shops set up. We were able to experience amazing food with short lines and first row views of the famous fish throwing. The only negative is the amount of "bums" hanging out and smoking pot.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“A Culinary Adventure!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

I had done my homework and knew we needed to hit this place before we left Seattle. There are all kinds of booths with different vendors, people playing guitars and singing here and there, the Gum Wall, which was just too funny. I mean, how many people put their gum on that wall. Mind boggling! Hint: don't eat before you go! I wish we hadn't and just stopped at different vendors and snacked as we walked around! It's a big mistake to go full when you could try a multitude of ethnic foods. We did buy a bunch of fresh fish, but for more on that, you'll have to see my review of City Fish Company! It's worth the stop, give yourself at least 2 hours, that's all we spent because we had to drive to Vancouver that day, and we got alot in, but not everything by far! We picked up some Ghost Pepper sauce that was $10 a bottle, but since we had to wait for the guy to come back, he gave us 2 bottles for $10, so know that you have bargaining power with the vendors!!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silverdale, WA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fun destination”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

I always bring visitors to Pike Place Market if their visit is long enough to do so. So much to see, color and activities and I think it puts a smile on any visit to Seattle. Love all the fresh produce and flowers and the Great Wind UP!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pike Place Market also viewed

 

Been to Pike Place Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pike Place Market, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Pike Place Market to your Saves list