We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A whole different way to spend an evening” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dimitriou's Jazz Alley

Dimitriou's Jazz Alley
2033 Sixth Ave, Seattle, WA 98121 (Belltown)
206 441 9729
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 204 Nightlife in Seattle
Type: Jazz Bars, Clubs
Activities: Nightlife
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This jazz club has been in Seattle for many years and features the best jazz, locally and nationally.
Wicklow, Ireland
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“A whole different way to spend an evening”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

We went to Jazz Alley to see singing legend Steve Tyrell who topped the bill for four nights during our stay in Seattle. We don't often get an opportunity to see many dinner/floor show type of evenings and would not have bothered but we wanted to see Steve perform. We took our seats about twenty minutes before the start of the show, our meal and drinks arrived promptly. We didn't expect anything exceptional but were pleasantly surprised just how good our dinner tasted. If you are a fan of supper club well you know who you are but after our visit to Jazz Alley we will certainly do this again. Great atmosphere, delicious food and flawless service at much much less than we expected to pay - yes, Jazz Alley is great value. The club is located in a safe and easily accessible part of the city. And just to add the club's acoustics are perfect as Steve sounded great!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    36
    2
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kirkland, WA
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Jazz is great; the food's not bad”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

Jazz Alley makes a credible attempt to imitate a New York supper club/night club from the 50s. Looking carefully you can see the office building underneath, but don't look too carefully and enjoy! I came expecting food that was not too great and was pleasantly surprised. A beautifully cooked piece of salmon with a nice sauce, a good caesar salad and a nice glass of a Hedges blend made for a very nice dinner.
It is all about the jazz and the cover is steep-we saw Ramsey Lewis (spectacular show!) and the cover was $40 per person. The dinner prices were similar to many downtown Seattle restaurants.

Overall it was a special night in a pretty special place. If you like jazz and a little romance, you'll like Jazz Alley.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“You should go”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

We booked from the uk not knowing what to expect except that it was a jazz club. The staff were welcoming, food was great and the whole experience was most enjoyable , only down for us was that the act played jazz rock & roll which was just a lot of loud noise that all sounded the same this was not jazz,,, however I would go again and would recommend the experience to anyone

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“What Fun!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

This is a must for any music lover visiting Seattle. Great venue, not a bad seat in the place. They get fantastic talent, especially on the weekends. Plus the proceeds from the cover charge goes to a non-profit!

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle, Wa
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Romantic date spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

My husband and I went here for our anniversary. We sat up on the balcony in a cozy booth. The show was about an hour long. We drank some wine and I had a delicious roasted beet salad. It's a very romantic atmosphere for couples. Don't plan on having any major heart to heart conversations here though. The noise level is quiet and intimate but it's a nice place for a date.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dimitriou's Jazz Alley also viewed

 

Been to Dimitriou's Jazz Alley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dimitriou's Jazz Alley, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.