We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a freak-show” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Pioneer Square

Pioneer Square
Yesler Street & 1st Avenue, Seattle, WA 98104 (Pioneer Square)
206-667-0687
Improve this listing
Visit Pioneer Square like an insider
Private Tour
$53*
and up
Private Tour: Seattle Highlights
Ranked #153 of 506 things to do in Seattle
Activities: City walk sightseeing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Pioneer Square Park, topped by an ornate pergola, is the site of the city's oldest settlement.
United States
Top Contributor
303 reviews 303 reviews
84 attraction reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
“What a freak-show”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Freak show, but in an entertaining way. Not for the faint of heart, lots of homeless and filth interspersed with cool coffee shops, stores and restaurants. Parking can be a bit of a challenge, so best to walk or take the light-rail here.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    84
    71
    35
    14
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Give it a try”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

If your in Seattle for more than a day, you need to go to Pioneer Square. It's not exactly the hub of activity, but there are some things to do and see. Besides Safeco Field, there is the Waterfall gardens, Bill Speidel’s Underground Tour and the Klondike Gold Rush Park, which are all worht seeing.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Shame on Seattle”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

I recently brought my family to Seattle for a vacation (I had not been back to Seattle for nearly 30 years). I had great memories of Pioneer Square, the underground tour, and great shops and eateries.

Pioneer Square has a serious problem with homeless in this area. The smell of old urine and feces is encountered in the area of the Light Rail Station. We had to weave our way around numerous vagrants when we arrived near Noon.

The old charm is gone.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Good for a walk”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013 via mobile

Underground tour is the highlight and offers a lot of information. Close proximity to Pikes Pier. A must see too.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indian Shores, Florida
Top Contributor
270 reviews 270 reviews
90 attraction reviews
Reviews in 126 cities Reviews in 126 cities
153 helpful votes 153 helpful votes
“For architecture, overlook the street people”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

We wanted to check out the Smith Building and do a tour later. I saw the foyer of the building which was very impressive. At a later time I hope to take in the view from the top.
Unfortunately this area has a concentrated population of vagrants. They were everywhere and I felt uncomfortable. I was approached for money a couple of times. Some areas stank of urine, very off putting. A couple of the streets Yesler and Washington were pretty and tree lined but hardly worth the walk through the fray. A shame.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pioneer Square also viewed

 

Been to Pioneer Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pioneer Square, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.