We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good variety and quality of food, great bartender” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Spitfire

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
The Spitfire
2219 4th Ave., Seattle, WA (Belltown)
206.441.796
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #194 of 3,491 Restaurants in Seattle
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: American
Neighborhood: Belltown
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Belltown
Detroit, Michigan
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Good variety and quality of food, great bartender”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

There was a good variety of things on the menu - both your traditional "bar food"/comfort food as well as a few different vegetarian choices (I love having a choice instead of having 1 item on the menu that I can eat! :-) ). The felafel sliders and garlic frites were really good. The bartender was friendly and chatted with us, but not so much that you felt like you didn't have any peace and quiet. As a bonus, they were open until midnight, when a lot of restaurants in the area close around 10:00.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    2
    4
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Whistler, Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“best sports bar, bartender in Seattle is a Californian”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

To best enjoy this years SuperBowl,myself and two buddies headed South of the 49th Parallel to Seattle Washington. We checked into a nearby hotel and inquired with the desk as to the best "sports bar" close to the hotel where we could watch and revel in the SuperBowl mayhem. The clerk suggested The Spitfire, 4 blocks away and easy stumbling distance home should we really enjoy ourselves. As we approached the bar, a sandwich board outside on the sidewalk mentioned cheap beers and best viewing of the game. We were stoked and headed inside. Upon entry we were quickly I'D'd, asked who we were rooting for and then wished a good time. A quick scan of the bar, showed plenty of females of all ages and shapes, mixed with a fair proportion of males; gladly this was not a sausage party. We hunkered down at one of the wooden picnic tables in the main room and ordered a couple of pitchers of beer. The beer was very cold as were the mugs, and in no time we asked for some of the wings that our server mentioned were some of the best hot wings around. No joke the wings are EXCELLENT, juicy, huge, well battered and very HOT. With tables inclose proximity we soon found ourselves chatting with a couple of fans from San Francisco, and casually jawed other fans. One more jug of beer and we decided to make a move for the back room. The Spitfire features a large private room with a bar, huge sofas, many tables and more of the picnic style tables, all facing an EXTREMELY LARGE "Hi-Def" T.V. (could be 70" or more). Because the game had not started yet, patrons ordered from the bar, and so I ambled up, got in a short que and waited to be served. As I was waiting, I could not help notice the bartender. This was a person well versed in their craft, with easy dexterity, her hands flung glasses and bottles and openers and ice in all directions with the results always the same; perfect pour, no spill and tasty looking drink. Sensing the need to pickup the pace a bit with the game approaching; I ordered a double Gin and Lemonade. I wasn't expecting them to have lemonade, but thought I would try anyways. Turns out that was no problem for this bartender. Grabbing a few lemons, she sliced, juiced them and them began muddling them, adding a shot of simple syrup, the 2xGin (very liberally), a quick blast from her gun (soda water), and voila; infront of me liquid heaven. I slurped the contents of the glass, licked my lips tried to pull my gaze away from the stunner who had just made me drink of the year. Tattooed on her arm California. Her name is Taylor, she is gorgeous, extremely friendly, has a beautiful smile, knows mixology and has pearly whites. If you are in the area and are a sports fan, there is no better place to watch the game, enjoy the spirt of sport, revel in victory, drink in a loss than The Spitfire, and for the best drinks, keep your eyes peeled for Taylor from California.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park City, Utah
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Love The Spitfire!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Great Sports Bar with Incredible Food!!! Very cool atmosphere and great staff! Our bartender Noel & Server Sean where the best! I don't think I have ever seen a or tasted such incredible food or a menu in a sports bar! Great Drinks, Great Food, Great Service! Great Value! What else could you ask for!!! Thanks to the entire staff for doing a great job!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Delicious lunch and great sports environment!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012 via mobile

This place is perfect to catch the game, and has surprisingly good food (for a bar). I had the Jonny Appleseed Smoked Burger Sliders and they were amazing! There are TV's in every corner of the bar and make it easy for everyone to see the many games playing at the same time.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Ok, but could be so much better”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Spitfire has a good Belltown location, a very large space with lots of room for big parties, sidewalk dining, and a big window that opens in the bar on warm summer days. They also feature a good number of glowing, national reviews on their website. All of this lead me to think, "I gotta try this place." So I dropped in with friends after work on a pleasant summer afternoon when the open windows and happy hour called to me. I tried Spitfire again a couple nights later with a friend as we went looking for something casual on a Saturday night. Both experiences have left me scratching my head.

Spitfire is one of those places that looks great on the surface, but then you realize is nothing special. The space is vacuous, dark, and lacking in aesthetics. They seem understaffed and the resulting service, while friendly, is slow. The food tastes ok but isn't anything that can't be found elsewhere. And the beer selection is pretty bad for a Seattle sports bar. They only had 6-8 taps, two off which were wasted on the likes of Bud and Miller. The remaining micros were pretty pedestrian and lacked the variety that Seattle beer fans expect.

Spitefire's claim-to-fame seems to be their game day experience. I haven't been there to watch any sports but they certainly seem well appointed for it (lots of space and plenty of TVs). Still, it's so average in every other respect so I can't see why Spitfire has supposedly been nationally recognized as a sports bar. It makes me think whomever bestowed that "award" on them hasn't been anywhere else.

Spitfire has all the right pieces but they don't come together at all. You may not be disappointed but you won't be surprised. As a spot to have a beer and watch a game, I'm sure its fine. But if you want a cool place with good service, great energy, and better food, there are many other places to go downtown.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Spitfire also viewed

 

Been to The Spitfire? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Spitfire, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.