We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Valet Parking a Nightmare” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Roosevelt A Coast Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Roosevelt A Coast Hotel to your Saves list
The Roosevelt A Coast Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1531 7th Avenue, Seattle, WA 98101   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #39 of 95 Hotels in Seattle
Washington State
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Valet Parking a Nightmare”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

We booked 2 rooms for a girlfriend weekend in Seattle. The staff was polite. Check-in went smoothly and they accommodated our request to be on the same floor, preferably close to each other. We had 2 rooms in the corner of the floor - which worked out perfectly. It is an historic hotel, so the rooms were smaller than usual, as expected - but comfortable.

We didn't know the restaurant was closed for remodeling, which presented a problem. Additionally, the promised free WiFi was very sporadic and we were unable to connect most evenings.

The real nightmare came with the valet parking, when it was time to check out. We had our car parked with the valet on Friday when we arrived, and did not use it during our stay. At check-out on Sunday, they could not find our keys OR our car. One poor person was calling his car dealership to get a new key brought over (hoping they would find his car by the). He finally went down into the bottom of the garage himself to try to find it himself. We finally went to the key board and found our own keys and also spotted our car parked alongside the wall. We loaded up ourselves and drove it off (I guess anyone could have done this with any of the cars!).

In the future, we will probably go back to the Paramount Hotel - much better service, more personable and more organized.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandon B, Manager at The Roosevelt A Coast Hotel, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback in regards to your stay. I sincerely apologize that you encountered issues with our valet service when checking out. That is obviously never our intention and I am extremely sorry for the inconvenience. Thank you for bringing these matters to our attention.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

795 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    294
    340
    100
    25
    36
See reviews for
108
304
71
151
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Washington
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

My room was very cramped and the bathroom was so small, you could barely get out of the tub without stepping in the toilet. We also had a theft while we were out of our room, which did not seem to concern anyone. When we asked for a manager, we were told he was not available and would call us later. There was not a call.

Room Tip: Ask how big the room is...deluxe queen rooms are anything but deluxe!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandon B, Manager at The Roosevelt A Coast Hotel, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Thank you for your review. We are sorry to read that your stay was less than satisfactory. We always strive to exceed our guests' expectations, and apologize for missing the mark on this occasion. We appreciate your feedback, and hope to have the opportunity to renew your feelings regarding our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

What an amazing help.
Really made our check-in and logistical/paperwork error so much easier to overcome.
Give Hailey a big thank you for us.
Great location, too.
So close to so many great venues.
We will stay here again!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandon B, Manager at The Roosevelt A Coast Hotel, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Thank you so much for your kind words. We love hearing that our staff is providing exceptional service. I look forward to sharing your compliments with Hailey and the rest of our team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

this hotel is situated right in the middle of downtown Seattle. Close to restaurants, shopping and within walking distance to the light rail station. You can fly in and take the train to downtown instead of a cab and save almost $50. Rooms are small, but comfortable. Only disadvantage is no restaurant on premises for room service. Concierge and bell hops are amazingly helpful.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandon B, Manager at The Roosevelt A Coast Hotel, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Thank you so much for your compliments regarding our concierge and bellhop team. Taking the light rail is very convenient and I certainly appreciate you mentioning the tip for future guests! I look forward to sharing your review with the rest of our staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro/Brazil
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

The room is small but confortable, the hotel offers a good sense of security. Absolute free wifi. Location is the best. The staff is nice, and there's nothing I dislike about this hotel. I recommend it and would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandon B, Manager at The Roosevelt A Coast Hotel, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
I am so pleased to see you enjoyed our complimentary WiFi and convenient location. I appreciate your endorsement and for mentioning you would stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford, Virginia, United States
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

Nothing special - just a good bed in a super location in Seattle. Spent two nights and had no complaints. Maybe a little old and outdated - but the room was clean and comfortable. Would certainly stay again. Only downer was you had to go out for meals - but tons of places within walking distance.

Room Tip: In the city - higher is better. 10th floor and i could hear the street noise. But not so bad that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandon B, Manager at The Roosevelt A Coast Hotel, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
I appreciate your feedback! Thank you for your compliments regarding our location and for noting you would stay with us again. We look forward to serving you the next time you visit Seattle!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013 via mobile

I am an event planner and see a lot of hotels, but the Roosevelt is set apart. I won a free nights stay so my husband and I decided to spend a couple days downtown to shop and enjoy the sites, entertainment and food downtown. What an incredible location! We walked to everything, including Pike Place Market, 5th Avenue Theatre for Oliver, and all of the best shopping. The hotel room was nicely appointed, very clean, and the front desk staff was exceptional! I will be recommending friends and groups I work with to stay at the Roosevelt!

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandon B, Manager at The Roosevelt A Coast Hotel, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay with us. We certainly appreciate all of your feedback. We are happy you were pleased with our accommodations and found our staff friendly and helpful! Thank you again for the kind words. We hope to see you the next time you visit Seattle.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Roosevelt A Coast Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Roosevelt A Coast Hotel

Address: 1531 7th Avenue, Seattle, WA 98101
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Business Hotel in Seattle
#35 Romantic Hotel in Seattle
#35 Family Hotel in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Roosevelt A Coast Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historical hotel and iconic landmark located in the heart of downtown with easy access to Washington State Convention Center, Seattle's retail core, the famous Pike Place market, and the myriad of restaurant, entertainment and nightlife venues that Seattle has to offer. Downtown & Pine...can't get any closer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Roosevelt A Coast Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Roosevelt Hotel Seattle

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Roosevelt A Coast Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.