We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place downtown Seattle” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Max

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Max to your Saves list
Hotel Max
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   620 Stewart Street, Seattle, WA 98101 (Belltown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
A $50 Visa with your stay
Ranked #31 of 98 Hotels in Seattle
Null
1 review
“Great place downtown Seattle”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

I was there for a conference in May 2015. The hotel was nice, clean rooms, not too small with a nice bed. They have free beer from 5.30 to 6.30 which was an awesome way to meet new people! The only negative thing I could come up with is that the breakfast is quite expensive. I paid 20 dollar for some eggs and potatoes. The food was good, but not worth that much. However, overall I would say this was an excellent place to stay and would definitely recommend it to others.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

583 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    282
    183
    73
    37
    8
See reviews for
56
227
54
140
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bellingham, Washington
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

VERY overpriced. We had decided to book something "nice" for our anniversary. The pictures are very deceiving and our room was a huge disappointment. We got stuck in a very small room with an awkward layout, TINY bathroom and the "view," well that was of nothing but part of the roof with a huge air conditioning (or something) right outside our window that was VERY noisy. We couldn't even see the sky. Also, the elevator is basically never working when you want to come downstairs. We had to wait several minutes every time before we decided to just take the stairs. I would NEVER book here again. You can stay at many other places in Seattle for the same price- or less with a much better experience.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin S, General Manager at Hotel Max, responded to this review, yesterday
Hey there 120karah!
Thanks for choosing the Max on your recent anniversary trip to Seattle. Overall, I'm truly sorry to hear about your disappointment in regards of your experience. We take a lot of pride in making sure our guests know exactly what they should expect when staying at the Max. Our "mini" rooms all have split shower and bathrooms. While not the norm many of our guests find them very useful when traveling as a couple. Also, my apologizes about the room that was selected. We were fully committed this past weekend which made complimentary upgrades a challenge. We always suggest giving us a heads up prior to arriving if you are celebrating a special occasion. It gives us the chance to be a little more proactive and ensure that all goes well from the moment of arrival.
Again, thank you for giving us a chance and I'm sorry we fell short this time around. We wish you safe and adventurous travels in the future.
Cheers,
Kevin Scott
kevin.scott@hotelmaxseattle.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Had a great stay. After spending hours driving and getting into the city during rush hour all we wanted was a cold beer. When we finally got there and started to check in, to my surprise there was a girl in the lobby pouring....get this....FREE craft beer for anyone staying at the hotel between 530-630 pm.

It was a great start to our hotel experience there, the staff was great and super friendly, the hotel was cool and boutique style. Loved the room, only issue we had was the mattress was a bit too stiff for us. Other than that we would definitely stay again. Thanks Hotel Max.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We went to Seattle for a week's holiday from the UK.

Easy access to central Seattle via the light railway/monorail from the airport and hotel max is just a few minutes walk from the station.

The hotel looked quirky from photos we had seen before going and we were not to be disappointed when we arrived. Check in was quick and effortless. The staff even recommended places to eat and bars. We were offered free wifi which was nice and had a room given to us on a higher floor as requested (although we would understand this is always dependant on how occupied the hotel is). Each floor has different styles of doors, I think designed by different artists. This makes it more interesting than your standard chain hotels. Our room was in the corner out of the way of a lot of foot traffic. The room was small (but this is normal with some city hotels). Bathroom tub/shower were separate from the toilet and sink. Both were small but they worked just fine. The room was decorated nicely and if your going to moan about anything to do with the rooms the worst it got was there wasn't much space to store our suitcases.

Each evening in the lobby guests are served with a different craft beer - Free of charge! I've never heard of anything like this but what a neat idea and it was one of those things that I didn't even see people taking advantage of in a ridiculous kind of way (ie. woo hoo it's free lets get drink kind of way) just guests casually having a beer before a meal out. It was a nice touch.

The hotel had a business centre which allowed us to re check in for our return flight and a small gym which we used one morning when it was raining.

I think with the room they are working with hotel max does very well with what its got.

There is a restaurant next door - we didn't use it so I cant comment on that but it did look nice.

Hotel max is in a great location in Seattle - literally everything is within walking distance. We walked everywhere.

We used the in room film service during our stay and it had really bad picture quality. We rang down to reception and they sent maintenance up to fix it with no problem at all.

Overall this hotel is:
In a great area - walking distance to everything
Free hour of beer every evening
Quirky style of hotel (don't go here if your expecting huge rooms Hilton style)
Nice staff

When we return to Seattle we will go back to the Max.

Room Tip: High floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Our queen room had about 2 feet on either side of the bed and 4 feet from the foot of the bed to the wall with 2 feet of that occupied by desk space. The bathroom and shower/closet were odd at best. You had to shower with the shower door to the room open and step out of the shower onto the carpet after you showered. The sink was configured so the shelf was in between your face an the sink bowl.

So summary is that, if you're going to be downtown Seattle and use this place to just sleep, it is fine. If you are going to spend any time in the room, you might want to consider something a bit more spacious.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naperville, Illinois
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I have to admit if the staff was not so amazing I would have rated the hotel much less. The rooms are well, odd. Our queen room barely had room on each side of the bed to step out of the bed. The shower was located in a small stand alone closet. The toilet and sink bathroom was about the size of what you would find in an airplane. Al that being said it was a fun hotel located in the middle of everything. They have made the most with what they have in this 80+ year old building.

Room Tip: Stay away from the elevators. Come prepared for a quirky small room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northamptonshire
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

A satisfactory city hotel , but in my opinion, reception service could be improved upon (with the exception of Jaymie who was most helpful and very friendly)
Unable to check in an hour early and whilst this is understandable, it is a drag after a long haul flight.
Rooms and bathrooms are tiny (although I did know that at the time of booking), but beds and pillows very comfortable. Good standard of cleanliness.
No breakfast
Overall OK experience

Room Tip: Look into paying for larger rooms perhaps
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel Max? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Max

Address: 620 Stewart Street, Seattle, WA 98101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle > Belltown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Family Hotel in Seattle
#28 Romantic Hotel in Seattle
#30 Business Hotel in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Max 3.5*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of downtown, just steps from Pike Place Market and hip Capitol Hill, Hotel Max is Seattle's home away from home for art lovers, musicians and the creatively inclined. Showcasing the work of iconic local photographers on each floor and original paintings all guest rooms, Hotel Max mixes urban adventure with art, music and style. Within easy walking distance of the city's most iconic attractions, best restaurants and world-class shopping, the 163-room Hotel Max is the perfect place to stay while soaking up the hip Seattle scene. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, BookIt.com, Odigeo, Otel, getaroom.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Max reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Max Hotel Seattle
Hotel Max Seattle

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Max, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.