We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Max

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Max to your Saves list
Hotel Max
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   620 Stewart Street, Seattle, WA 98101 (Belltown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #43 of 95 Hotels in Seattle
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Very good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

Although my reservation was not available until 4pm the staff managed to get my room ready for 10.30am which I was very appreciated off as my flight arrived in Seattle at 5am I would have had to kill time for nearly 10 hours to settle into my room. Everything was clean well run. The hotel is in a good position for all local attractions. Thank you very much for making my short stay memorable. Top marks to staff.

Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin S, General Manager at Hotel Max, responded to this review, yesterday
Hello there Stone882009!
Thank you so staying with us on your recent trip to Seattle. Furthermore, thank you for taking the time to share your story with TripAdvisor. We are thrilled to hear that our team was able to accommodate an early arrival which gave you time to enjoy our amazing city. Both our Front Desk and Housekeeping teams will be delighted to hear about your experience.
Again, thank you for staying with us and we hope to welcome you back soon. Hopefully, next time will be for a bit longer.
Cheers,
Kevin Scott
kevin.scott@hotelmaxseattle.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    78
    38
    17
    3
See reviews for
24
90
16
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

The rooms are nice, the location great and the entire staff is outstanding!, This was my second time staying at the Hotel Max. Although I was traveling there for business I brought my wife along this time. I called ahead and Jennifer pulled out all the stops to make my wife feel welcomed and even left her a bottle of wine and a personal note in our room!

Checking in, my wife casually mentioned she was interested in finding a good local organic juice place. Without skipping a beat, the desk clerk jumped online to research available places and gave her several good recommendations.

I had the pleasure of meeting the general manger, Kevin, who was pouring a great craft beer at the free happy hour and he was all about making sure we were having a great stay.

We walked all over downtown Seattle and had an absolutely wonderful time.

This is THE place I stay now when traveling to Seattle. In fact, I'm coming back in October!

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin S, General Manager at Hotel Max, responded to this review, yesterday
Hello there Ron F.!
Thank you so much for staying with us AGAIN and for extending the invitation to your wife as well. We truly enjoyed having you stay with us and love welcoming back friendly faces. Additionally, thank you for the kind words about Jennifer and our amazing Front Desk team who jumped into action upon hearing your wife mention local organic juices. We love partnering with our local vendors and showing our support for their crafts.
Again, thank you so much for staying with us. We look forward to having both you and your wife back soon.
Cheers,
Kevin Scott
kevin.scott@hotelmaxseattle.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Had the pleasure of staying here this past weekend for the Hawks/Bronco rematch. Hotel Max is very clean and comfortable. Bed and linens are amongthe best we've had. The staff is great - but the rooms are small for the money. AC is LOUD! Great location, walk everywhere. We will definitely be back at The Max if the price is right.

Room Tip: We had a corner room - 3 windows - good for fresh air and light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin S, General Manager at Hotel Max, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Hey there XLR8R-BC!
Thanks for staying with us last weekend and for taking the time to share your story on TripAdvisor. Additionally, thank you for taking the time to acknowledge the great work our Housekeeping team does each day, our location and your overall sleeping experience. Italian linens are no joke! We always encourage guests to check out our website and see if we have any special offers out. This is especially the case as we move into fall/winter.
Again, thanks for staying with us and we hope to see you soon.
Cheers,
Kevin Scott
kevin.scott@hotelmaxseattle.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We only stayed one night between train trips but absolutely loved this quirky hotel!The room was small but fun and the minibar selection was a story on its own! The front desk service was great and the little doorman was adorable! I would stay there again in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed September 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin S, General Manager at Hotel Max, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Hello there blossom kench!
Thank you so much for staying with us and for taking the time to share your glowing review with TripAdvisor. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your Max experience and that you found our hotel a little quirky. We are and we like it that way. Additionally, truly appreciate your kind words about your Valet team. Tanner will be so pleased to hear the feedback.
Again, thanks so staying with us and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Cheers,
Kevin Scott
kevin.scott@hotelmaxseattle.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I had two nights reserved at Hotel Max, one pre- cruise and one post cruise. Unfortunately, the ADA room I specifically requested had been given to someone else, no idea why, and this created somewhat of an ... inconvenience for the paraplegic friend with whom I was traveling. She's been in a chair for 30 years, so she's dealt with this before. I, however, vented to Twitter and was pleasantly surprised to receive a personal response from the hotel's General Manager, who was genuinely apologetic, took every possible step to ensure that our post-cruise stay met our expectations, and basically bent over backwards to BOTH remedy any dissatisfaction that we previously felt AND made sure that our 2nd stay was absolutely perfect and trouble-free. The hotel is in an older, renovated building and may appeal more to the hip crowd rather than the over-40 folks seeking a wheelchair accessible room, but if you ARE that crowd, if you are clear in your needs, they WILL accommodate you. Room 1014 is ADA compliant with a roll in shower and is directly across from the elevator. It is the room we had hope for the first night, and is the room that the GM made sure we were in on night #2. Thanks to Kevin (GM) and Andrew (front desk) for their care & concern. The hotel has a great location and a super friendly staff who are eager to help & make your stay as comfortable & pleasant as possible.

Stayed September 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin S, General Manager at Hotel Max, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Hello there KSham!
Thank you so much for staying with us TWICE and for sharing your collective experiences with TripAdvisor. We are beyond thrilled to hear that you ladies had a much better experience the second time around. I truly appreciate you reaching out to us, explaining where we could improve and allowing us to show you what we are made of. Our team, especially Andrew, really wanted to make sure that your post cruise experience was a complete 180 and we were all overjoyed to see your review shared here.
Again, thank you so much for choosing the Max and we hope to have an opportunity to welcome you ladies back in the future.
All the best,
Kevin Scott
kevin.scott@hotelmaxseattle.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

My room is claustrophobic small with an awful view of the back of another building. Unbelievably bottles of water on the counter had a $4.00 price tag on them...how cheap! I am on the last leg of a two week trip during which we stayed in wonderful, generous establishments whose staff were incredibly accommodating. This is by far the worst. Staff barely speak to you.

The location is good. It is clean and sheets are crisp cotton. And perhaps other rooms are more spacious....this omen is minuscule.

Stayed September 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin S, General Manager at Hotel Max, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Hello there Pat H.,
Thank you so much for staying with us at the Max and for sharing your experience with TripAdvisor. I must apologize for the lack of service from our team. You mentioned that they barely spoke with you throughout your time with us. This is highly unusual and not the norm. We pride ourselves on being a small boutique hotel in a great location that offers you a comfortable sleeping experience, personalized service with a focus on supporting some of Seattle's finest vendors and highlighting their stories. We know our rooms are small but believe that we have something for everyone. I'm sorry this didn't resonate with you.
Again, thank you for staying with us and we wish you all the best in your future travels.
Regards,
Kevin Scott
kevin.scott@hotelmaxseattle.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winthrop, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The best little hotel with a perfect location in downtown Seattle! I was a bit concerned over the reviews of it being a boutique hotel with small rooms and bath, however, we found it comfortable and without any incidence of being cramped. I did request a quiet room setting at time of reservation and the manager was fantastic in making sure we had an excellent location of room. The staff members were the best team a hotel manager could have...informative, friendly, helpful, courteous and reliable. The elevators were small yet had a unique security feature...the elevator would not move until your room card was placed in the slot and scanned proving that you belonged in the hotel!!! We did not need to rent a car for the 7 days we stayed there as it was located close to the Space Needle, Pike's Market, downtown shopping stores, fabulous restaurants, trolley, subway and monorail. Complimentary beer in the lobby every evening from 5:30 to 6:30 made my husband a very happy traveler. Perfect hotel in a perfect setting and secure neighborhood. Thanks to those at Hotel Max and we hope to enjoy another visit with you again.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin S, General Manager at Hotel Max, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Hello there Marie C.,
Thank you so much for staying with us at the Max and for sharing your comments with TripAdvisor. I have to admit that I'm blushing at this glowing review and all of your kind words about our team. They are going to be so thrilled to hear your feedback. Furthermore, thank you for recognizing that not all of our rooms are mini. We like to think that we have a little something for everyone. Also, so happy to hear that you enjoyed our location and our one of a kind craft beer hour.
Again, thank you so much for staying with us and we cannot wait to welcome you back in the future.
Cheers,
Kevin Scott
kevin.scott@hotelmaxseattle.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Max? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Max

Address: 620 Stewart Street, Seattle, WA 98101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle > Belltown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#43 Business Hotel in Seattle
#45 Romantic Hotel in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Max 3.5*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of downtown, just steps from Pike Place Market and hip Capitol Hill, Hotel Max is Seattle's home away from home for art lovers, musicians and the creatively inclined. Showcasing the work of iconic local photographers on each floor and original paintings all guest rooms, Hotel Max mixes urban adventure with art, music and style.Within easy walking distance of the city’s most iconic attractions, best restaurants and world-class shopping, the 163-room Hotel Max is the perfect place to stay while soaking up the hip Seattle scene. Just off the lobby, Hotel Max offers a boardroom with seating for 14 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Max reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Max Hotel Seattle
Hotel Max Seattle

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Max, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.