We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Seattle in September” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Max

Save Saved
You added Hotel Max to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Max
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   620 Stewart Street, Seattle, WA 98101 (Belltown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #41 of 95 Hotels in Seattle
Birmingham, Alabama
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Seattle in September”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Pros: within walking distance of Pike Place and close to monorail for Space Needle. We parked our car and did not use it again until we left. Desk staff was very helpful and courteous.Our room was on the 10th floor and noise was not a problem as I had read in some other reviews. I called before we arrived and asked for a quieter room. Enjoyed complimentary Cider Beer in lobby one afternoon (daily but we were only there at the right time the day we checked in )
Cons: Room is quite compact..queen bed.. No refrig, pay $10/day for WiFi. Shower is very small (think closet or travel trailer size). But having the separate sink/toilet was kind of nice (also closet size) . Parking fee was about $40/night. (they quote $33.00 but add taxes). Would not recommend this hotel for larger people (tall or wide :) Window unit a/c had it's own personality (noise)

Room Tip: Higher floors have less noise from traffic
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    75
    35
    16
    3
See reviews for
24
84
15
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I'll start with the good: Hotel Max is in a good location only a few blocks to Pike Place and the main shopping area. The hotel is very cool and stylish, and the staff were all friendly and professional.

The bad: The room is easily the tiniest hotel room I have ever stayed in, and I have been to Paris on a student budget! Literally the shower was in a closet. An actual closet. The toilet and sink were in a seperate room, also the size of the closet. So small was the bathroom that my husband could not sit on the toilet and have the bathroom door closed, as his knees hit the door! So, so tiny. The rest of the room was also similarly tiny, two people could not both get dressed at the same time.

The elevator was really slow and unreliable, we found you had to allow 5-10 minutes for the elevator - and the fire stairs only take you to level 1 so there was no other option but to wait for the world's slowest elevator.

I was glad we were only there for a very short stay, to stay longer would have been unbearable!

Room Tip: Ask for the biggest possible room, and query whether your bathroom is indeed a closet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln RI
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I was in Seattle for a conference and stayed here because the conference hotel was full. It was a very nice place and less expensive. All the major sites are within walking distance. Also the train from the airport to the Westlake station is 2.75 compared to a 40 dollar taxi ride.
The only draw back ( not for me) but those of you who did not like small bathrooms then do not stay here.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

We decided we wanted to stay in Downtown Seattle for a central location on our trip. The Hotel Max offers a nice central location. We were able to walk to some of our destinations, get a bus easily for others, or easily take a taxi to yet other destinations. The hotel is a small boutique hotel and like many other reviewers the emphasis is on small. However, our room worked quite well for 2 people. The service was quite acceptable. The decor is quite an attempt to appear as a hipster type of place and succeeds partially. however, the essentials are all there. If you want a place to stay in downtown Seattle, I think Hotel Max would fit the bill.

Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

This hotel is very modern and clean. The hotel has a perfect location and near great restaurants. I came with my girlfriend for a trip to Seattle. The space needle was fairly close and the FD helped us with our travel plans, awesome service.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin S, General Manager at Hotel Max, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Hello there Mel B.,
Thank you so much for staying with us on your recent travels to Seattle and for taking the time to share your experience with the TripAdvisor community. Thrilled to hear you and your girlfriend had a great trip. Additionally, we truly appreciate your kind words in regards of our design, overall cleanliness and the awesome service you received. Our team will be elated to hear your comments.
Again, thank you for staying with us and we cannot wait to welcome you back.
Cheers,
Kevin Scott
kevin.scott@hotelmaxseattle.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Midlands
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Had 3 nights here over labour day weekend. This hotel is in a great location within walking distance to nearly everything you want to see in the city. The hotel itself is very cool, yes the rooms are on the small side and there is noise from the street but its a city hotel! None of these factors spoilt our stay here, we don't spend much time in our room on a city break so size doesn't bother us and ear plugs control the noise!
The hotel is very clean with great décor and very helpful staff, the craft beer in a afternoon is a bonus and such a fab idea.
As I mentioned the rooms are on the small side but they have everything you need and a very comfortable bed. Will definitely return to this hotel when next in Seattle.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin S, General Manager at Hotel Max, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Hello there APinkLady!
Thank you so much for staying with us and for taking the time to share your glowing review with TripAdvisor. We are beyond thrilled to read your comments and are happy to have been able to play a small role in making your Labor Day weekend one to remember. Thank you for acknowledging that even though our rooms are small that we provide a great sleeping experience, clean well appointed rooms and personalized service. Our goal is to shift the focus and put these in the forefront of why guests stay at the Max. Truly appreciate your support!
Again, thank you for staying with us and we cannot wait to welcome you back.
Cheers,
Kevin Scott
kevin.scott@hotelmaxseattle.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twinsburg, Ohio
Top Contributor
165 reviews 165 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

This hotel is trendy and located in a perfect spot in downtown, about a mile from the waterfront and major sites. The staff was excellent. The lobby is small and comfortable, maybe a little too comfortable because after I checked out I had a two hour wait before my next event so sat in a comfortable chair to work, and fell asleep for 90 minutes. The king bed was very comfortable and the linens and towels were first rate. The desk work area and chair were comfortable for a few hours. The furnishings and colors were energizing. The lighting was excellent for a hotel of this vintage. There were enough electrical outlets for a family of four and I counted 4 USB ports. The room itself was small and cooled by a window unit that was noisier than central air but a lot more responsive to my need to cool the room down or warm it up than any other central air. Internet speed was good. The flaw was the bathroom, which was uncomfortable small. The shower was not large enough not to bump into a wall or curtain during the shower. The shower was an open unit so was elevated about 2 inches above the commode and sink. This is a bit of a trip and fall risk (I stubbed my toe several times). Aside from the bathroom this hotel is excellent.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin S, General Manager at Hotel Max, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Hello there Bruce C.,
Thank you so much for staying with us on your recent trip to Seattle and for letting the TripAdvisor community know about your experience. We are so pleased to read your detailed review and comments. I cannot wait to share your review with the team. We take a lot of pride in providing our guests with a comfortable sleeping experience and thoughtful amenities throughout the room. Thank you for acknowledging the work we've done.
Again, thank you for staying with us and we hope to welcome you back soon. Don't hesitate to give us a heads up on your next visit and we will do our best to provide you with a larger bathroom.
Cheers,
Kevin Scott
kevin.scott@hotelmaxseattle.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Max? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Max

Address: 620 Stewart Street, Seattle, WA 98101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle > Belltown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#44 Business Hotel in Seattle
#46 Romantic Hotel in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Max 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of downtown, just steps from Pike Place Market and hip Capitol Hill, Hotel Max is Seattle's home away from home for art lovers, musicians and the creatively inclined. Showcasing the work of iconic local photographers on each floor and original paintings all guest rooms, Hotel Max mixes urban adventure with art, music and style.Within easy walking distance of the city’s most iconic attractions, best restaurants and world-class shopping, the 163-room Hotel Max is the perfect place to stay while soaking up the hip Seattle scene. Just off the lobby, Hotel Max offers a boardroom with seating for 14 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TravelClick, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Otel, Odigeo, Venere, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Max reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Max Hotel Seattle
Hotel Max Seattle

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Max, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.