We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun boutique hotel, good location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Max

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Orbitz.com Booking.com
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Max
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   620 Stewart Street, Seattle, WA 98101 (Belltown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% Off Room & Free Wifi
Ranked #50 of 93 hotels in Seattle
Omaha, Nebraska
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Fun boutique hotel, good location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

This is a fun "art" hotel. I found it was a bit cheaper than most of the surround chains and had an interesting vibe.

You can definitely tell the hotel was a remodel from something older. It lacked the sterile neutrality most chain hotels have in them

Yes, the rooms were on the small side, but decor and the bed were nice. The window mount AC was ok and I had no problems with the noise in my room.

My feeling is that if you get the room at a discount compared to the Westin or other neighboring hotels it's a good deal

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMaxGM, General Manager at Hotel Max, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Dear ronin308 (Omaha, Nebraska) on 1/11/13,
Thank you for the feedback. I am glad to learn you enjoyed the Hotel and the service staff.
Some of the rooms are cozy but I am certain we have a room that would meet your needs. We look forward to your next visit to the Hotel Max.
Regards,
Jim Chittenden
General Manager
Hotel Max
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,017 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    337
    369
    189
    77
    45
See reviews for
87
419
114
200
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Woodinville, Washington, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

For $160 a night you don't even get soap or free wifi.
The walls are paper thin and the rooms are barely 10X15.
The coffee was terrible.
Zero free parking. Pay lot across street or find street parking
Room was very drafty

Room Tip: Better for business travelers than vacationers
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMaxGM, General Manager at Hotel Max, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear Daniel B (Woodinville, Washington, United States) on 1/7/13,
Thank you for the feedback. I am sorry to learn you felt the hotel was over priced. There is soap, shampoo, and lotion in every room therefore if the soap was missing we forgot it. All the hotels in the city charge a valet fee and ours is $7.00 less than the average in the city. We often promote packages that includes valet parking so please keep an eye out for that. We hope you will change your mind and stay with us at the Hotel Max.
Regards,
Jim Chittenden
General Manager
Hotel Max
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia, Washington
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Many previous reviews were that the rooms were too small. I loved it! All you need is a bed, bathroom, and a place for you things. It was prefectly spaced for two people. It was cozy, clean, and very sexy. We loved the location and the package deal we bought was worth every dollar we spent. When we visit the city we will surely be staying at Hotel Max! Seattle's sexiest hotel!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMaxGM, General Manager at Hotel Max, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear MarissaFinn (Olympia, Washington) on 1/7/13,
Thank you for the feedback and we are delighted to learn you enjoyed the Hotel sevices; we do have some very cozy rooms but as we have nine floor plans I am certain we have one that would meet your needs. We hope to see you again soon at the Hotel Max.
Regards,
Jim Chittenden
General Manager
Hotel Max
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poulsbo, Washington
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We booked for a New Year's night on the town that included Champagne, free valet, Starbucks & Pacific Place gift cards for about $260. These were great perks to our visit. Other perks: location, Red Fin restaraunt, knowledgable staff. The bad; rooms are VERY small. Don't plan on adding a rollaway or anything of that sort. Road noise may be an issue for those on the lower floors. We were on the 10th (top floor) and didn't notice much. Also, they charge you for EVERYTHING, don't assume something is free.

Room Tip: If you can upgrade to a larger sized room, do so.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMaxGM, General Manager at Hotel Max, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Dear Jessica B (Poulsbo, Washington) on 1/6/13,
Thank you for the feedback and we are delighted to learn that you enjoyed the service staff and hotel during your visit to the Hotel Max. We hope you will return again soon.
Regards,
Jim Chittenden
General Manager
Hotel Max
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

So here's what we thought of Hotel Max...

We did book very last minute, after finishing at the Seattle Outlets, and managed to get a room for the sale price of $119. The Reservations Agent who took our call was polite and pleasant and did offer us this sale, price after the initial offer of $159. For a downtown, boutique hotel it seemed good value. We asked if was difficult to find the hotel, coming from the North, on I-5, and after some hesitation the young lady told us she wasn't sure, but to look for Virginia Street, from which we could turn onto Stewart Street...

Of course it wasn't quite that simple...

HEAD'S UP: If you're coming into Seattle for the first time, or don't have much experience with the American freeway systems in large cities MAKE SURE IN ADVANCE that you know exactly where you need to exit, and be ready... if you don't know, or are unsure, you will find yourself on the other end of town, needing to exit the freeway, and then somehow get back on...like us.

We did manage to get turned around, and make it into the city center, and called the hotel. We gave the Guest Agent our approximate location and he rattled off some street names for us to look for...and 15 minutes later we were outside the city again. A second call to the hotel and we were told "I really have no idea where you are at this point."

Okay, fair enough. By now we'd been driving around for nearly an hour, and the hotel couldn't help us at all. Thank god for Google Maps. While I'm not really looking forward to the $50+ from Bell in data roaming charges, the Navigator did finally get us to the hotel. Total time lost in city: 70 minutes.

So... the hotel. Pulling up, the Valet offered to park us for $40, but advised the lot directly across the street was about $10, cheaper. On weekends, it is actually $10 for 10 hours, so if you're looking to save a little, it's a good option BUT you'll need to pay every 10 hours or risk getting towed. Street parking, if you can find it, is also free on Sundays.

I believe a previous reviewer described the hotel as modern and kitschy, and you get your first taste of that walking into the lobby, with it's funky artwork and bright red front desk. We thought "very cool." The Guest Agent who I had spoken with over the phone, was efficient, if not overly friendly. I was a little taken aback when he indirectly suggested that perhaps it was our fault we got lost, but I let the comment slide as I was pretty sure he had not intended to come across how he sounded,

The elevator floors were quite dirty--or at least needed a good vacuum--but the lobby, guestroom floors, and most importantly our room, were very clean. As noted elsewhere, the room is very small, and we were somewhat amused that the toilet and sink were separate from the shower/tub. Being the two of us, we didn't mind at all. Paintings from local Seattle artists decorated the walls, and the bedding package was very modern, again with the red accents. Again, think boutique. Think older renovated property. Think cool hotel close to Pike Place Market, and Belltown.

The bed was VERY COMFORTABLE and we both slept well. The wake up call I had asked for never came, but my cell alarm thankfully worked fine. The Front Desk was a little crowded as we were near checkout time, but the Guest Agent on duty was efficient (and this time very friendly) and we were on our way in no time. (Tip: you might want to bring your own bottled water if you don't want to pay $4/bottle for water in your room.)

Overall we quite liked the hotel and if you get your room for $120 you're getting a good deal on a boutique hotel in the heart of everything. We didn't feel the the evening service was that great--but perhaps we were just tired after driving around "lost" for some time--but a.m. service and efficiency more than made up for this.

As a former hotelier myself, the only recommendation I would have for Hotel Max is to ensure that the front desk and reservation team have some sort of written directions to the hotel--from the North and South, from the airport, ferries, etc--handy because not everyone has GPS or Google Maps.

Would we return? If we were looking to be close to PIke Place, the waterfront, Space Needle etc... probably yes. We would have given "four circles" overall, but my feeling is that service slipped, if only slightly, in the evening. It really isn't the guests fault if they get lost, in a new city.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMaxGM, General Manager at Hotel Max, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear TheOriginalCWMis (Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada),
Thank you for the feedback and I apologize that you were lost on your way to the hotel. We do have directions from the interstates into the hotel so I am unsure why we did not get the correct information to you. We hope you will return again to the Hotel Max.
Regards,
Jim Chittenden
General Manager
Hotel Max
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, Washington, United States
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Lets start with the good: Location is great. 1 block from Pacific place mall (restaurants, movie theater, lots of stores) 2 blocks from Nordstrom & Macy's. Starbucks next door. 3 short blocks from Paramount Theater. Very close to all downtown shopping and to monorail to get to Seattle center. Beds very comfortable. Rooms clean and reasonably well appointed. Staff was friendly A++. Very 1920's Hollywood art deco decor... kitschy and cute... different.

Now the challenging: Rooms very small (not a deal breaker- as we aren't there alot). Our bathroom was split into 2 rooms (yes separate rooms) the shower was in one room (no mirror) and the loo and sink with mirror in another-- and there was no way more than one person could be in the loo room at a time. This WAS a deal breaker- it was inconvenient and awful.

We stay in Seattle once every December right before Christmas- this was our first time at the Max, and likely our last.

Room Tip: Make sure the bathroom is in one room~!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMaxGM, General Manager at Hotel Max, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear CM_G279 (Manchester, Washington, United States),
Thank you for the feedback. The room you were assigned is #21's which there are only nine in the hotel with the seperated washroom out of #163 rooms. Allot of our guest prefer the room; but in you case we should have assigned you a different one. I am certain we have one that will meet your needs if you give us the opportunity to serve you again in the future.
Regards,
Jim Chittenden
General Manager
Hotel Max
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012 via mobile

This hotel has some modern kitschy appeal to those who like the ambiance of older renovated hotels. The hotel is brightly painted and filled with local artists' works. Each guest room door is covered with a life-size photograph of classic movie scenes. The decor is a welcome change to the usual high-rise downtown hotel. However, the rooms are miniscule. While filled with modern minimalist furniture and a comfortable bed, it is almost impossible to navigate the room with two adults. And, there is an excessive amount of expensive wet bar items covering every flat surface, adding to the cramped feeling - water is four dollars, a toothbrush is three dollars (a first time for me that a hotel would charge for a toothbrush - usually a gratuity for the forgetful traveller). The housekeeping is well-intentioned and friendly but somewhat lacking in thoroughness and completion. Our room lacked any soap, a large container of dirty laundry was left in front of our room, the grout in the tub was moldy and all corners had substantial accumulations of dust. Plus, there were hairs in the tub - yuck. There are strange inconsistencies - the advertised dog bed was sized for a chihuahua yet the milkbones were sized for Great Danes; the robes were large and comfy but the towels were small and threadbare. The room HVAC was incredibly noisy and there was a measurable cold draft from around the in-window placement. Ask for a higher level room - our third level room was inundated with constant sirens and bus traffic noise. That said, it is incredibly convenient to the federal courthouse (across the street) and the downtown shopping core - all within blocks. The price was reasonable for such a location. Be prepared for noise and inconsistencies with your convenience...a bit of a trade for a little unusual charm.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMaxGM, General Manager at Hotel Max, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Dear Pippin G on 12/11/12,
Thank you for the feedback. I apologize for the cleanliness issue in your room. We pride ourselves in regards to running a clean hotel. I am certain we have rooms that would better meet your needs in regards to size as we have over nine differenct floor plans. We hope you will give us an opportunity to serve you again in the future.
Regards,
Jim Chittenden
General Manager
Hotel Max
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Max? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Max

Also Known As:
Max Hotel Seattle
Hotel Max Seattle
Address: 620 Stewart Street, Seattle, WA 98101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle > Belltown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#39 Family Hotel in Seattle
#45 Business Hotel in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Max 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of downtown, just steps from Pike Place Market and hip Capitol Hill, Hotel Max is Seattle's home away from home for art lovers, musicians and the creatively inclined. Showcasing the work of iconic local photographers on each floor and original paintings all guest rooms, Hotel Max mixes urban adventure with art, music and style.Within easy walking distance of the city’s most iconic attractions, best restaurants and world-class shopping, the 163-room Hotel Max is the perfect place to stay while soaking up the hip Seattle scene. Just off the lobby, Hotel Max offers a boardroom with seating for 14 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Expedia, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Otel, getaroom.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Max reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Max, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Hotel Max to your Saves list