We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in Seattle” 5 of 5 stars
Review of W Seattle

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added W Seattle to your Saves list
W Seattle
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1112 4th Ave., Seattle, WA 98101 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Cyber Monday Exclusive
Ranked #57 of 95 Hotels in Seattle
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Denver, Colorado
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great hotel in Seattle”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

The W brand is always a great experience and the W Seattle continues that tradition. The staff is friendly and professional. The fitness center is awesome with lots of weight machines. Trace restaurant serves great sushi at night and breakfast in the morning. The rooms well appointed for the road warrior with spacious desks and great beds for a restful nights sleep. I highly recommend staying at this hotel in Seattle.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,168 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    338
    435
    237
    95
    63
See reviews for
119
361
82
390
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (214)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Albany, NY
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

In room amenities included robes, in room safe, and an array of personal care items including body butter, soapy suds body wash and bubbly bath, facial cleanser along with shampoo, conditioner and a nice bar of soap. No coffee maker in the room although morning coffee is available in the lobby. Built in sofa window seat nice to stretch out and browse a book. The lobby "living room" with fire place is a lively gathering spot. Staff unfailingly pleasant, engaging on a personal level and very helpful. The only down side -- my next door neighbor let the door slam repeatedly in the morning when entering and exiting the room (many trips to lobby for coffee?) Newspaper offerings included local paper and Wall Street Journal. One block from the Light Rail station which is great since Light Rail provides swift and economical transport to and from SeaTac. Terrific downtown location more or less in between Space Needle and Pioneer Square; easy walk to the waterfront.

Room Tip: is there a particular view you would prefer -- the water? cityscape? ask for it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

The W Downtown Seattle is in a great location for walking. Everything you could want to do downtown Seattle can be reached from the hotel. Shopping, dining and many local attractions are within steps from the lobby.
The service from staff is top notch, as expected from a W property. The management is quick to respond to any issues, and the email follow up after the stay only confirmed the exceptional level of service offered.
Rooms and public areas are tastefully decorated in a stylish decor. Rooms are clean well kept.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

When traveling for work, I try to stay in loyal to Starwood Properties and often choose the W if available. The W in Seattle was very disappointing. The corner suite was small, fine, but was eye level with a parking garage that was literally feet away. I had to keep my curtains drawn the entire 3 days I stayed there so strange men couldn't see into my room (they could have--I saw and heard them). The funny part is that you pay more for the corner suites, but I would have much rather had a non-corner room on that level if it meant I could face something other than a parking lot. I have a feeling they often receive complaints as they told me that I didn't have a "great view" and gave me free wifi to make up for it before I even saw the room.

I should note that Seattle is a great city with many cool areas, but the hotel is right in the middle of a business district and is completely desolate in the evenings. Overall, I will stick with Starwood and probably stay at another W elsewhere (for the Bliss products if nothing else), but I will definitely look elsewhere next time I'm in Seattle.

Room Tip: Confirm your floor level and be sure to request the side away from the garage. I have a feeling thi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sammamish
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Room was very nice. We had a corner room with many windows, unfortunately it overlooks other buildings, so the view isnt anything beautiful. The bed was very comfortable, the room was very spacious. The hotel itself is very dark inside, which felt creepy when returning to our room late at night. The packed the bar with many people (company party) and were served quickly and efficiently.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room, much more natural light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

As W properties go, this one is an uninspiring "average". Location is average (can still walk the city but other Starwood properties are arguably better - The Westin & The Sheraton). Food is average. The only thing above average is price of parking (almost $40/night). We stayed for New Year's Eve 2012, and while the hipster vibe that characterizes most W hotels was evident, it just didn't feel like the extra money was buying anything cool. Overall: Meh.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013 via mobile

The W, the W, the W. "Oh, you're so lucky!" Sorry, I don't get it, there's nothing really special about this hotel. The decor looks like someone who never had the benefit of visiting really cool hotels decorated it. The "Living Room" is more of a Star Trek intergalactic bus station waiting room, circa 1980 (and I don't mean this in a cool way...). The rooms are okay, but are pretty standard and do not gel with the überhip image. The restaurant, however, is fantastic (both staff and food). Try the egg white fritata which is delicious, as is the sushi.

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to W Seattle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W Seattle

Address: 1112 4th Ave., Seattle, WA 98101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Seattle
#20 Luxury Hotel in Seattle
#51 Business Hotel in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — W Seattle 4*
Number of rooms: 426
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 26-story W is a beacon welcoming the urban, urbane and contemporary to their refuge in Seattle's cultural core. In the heart of downtown, W Seattle is close to Seattle's best attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Starwood, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets and Tingo so you can book your W Seattle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w Seattle Hotel Seattle
w Hotels Seattle

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage W Seattle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.