We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A University of Washington Parents "Best" bet.........!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of University Inn - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added University Inn - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality to your Saves list
University Inn - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4140 Roosevelt Way NE, Seattle, WA 98105   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$30 Off per Night!
Ranked #36 of 97 Hotels in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Washington
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“A University of Washington Parents "Best" bet.........!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

If you have kids attending UW you won't find a more convenient place to stay than The University Inn. The rooms are clean and quiet, the staff is very friendly & helpful, they offer a daily complimentary breakfast bar, it's within walking distance to the campus and they have free parking (Which is hard to come by in the city) Prices are very reasonable and they're a pet friendly establishment as well..........:)

Some of the other nice features are -

Complimentary Wireless Internet
Complimentary Shuttle Service
Seasonal Outdoor Pool
Free Laundry Facility
Complimentary Bicycles for Guest Use

Room Tip: Book your room way ahead of time on a weekend when there's a football game at Husky Stadium...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaceyKing, Manager at University Inn - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Hi Baytrader,

Thank you for taking the time to review the University Inn. We're glad that you found our location convenient for you needs and that our staff was very welcoming. Great tip to make your reservations early, there are always different events going on in the city and at UW that can make last minute reservations a little hard to come by.
Thanks again and I'm sure we'll see you again soon,

Lacey King
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

430 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    205
    168
    39
    15
    3
See reviews for
151
92
33
80
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Top Contributor
236 reviews 236 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

We have stayed here before. It is nicely located for the university area. Good restaurant next door. Short walk to shopping. It is also not to long a drive to downtown Seattle or the Green Lake area. It was also a great place before we drove up to the San Juan Islands. Large, clean rooms and a nice pool that we did not use. Continental breakfast in the lobby which we did use.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaceyKing, Manager at University Inn - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
2Travel-4funNow,

Thank you for the great review and for choosing to stay with us again! We're pleased that we continued to live up to your expectations and could offer a great home base while you were in Seattle.
Thank you again and we hope to welcome you back soon,

Lacey King
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medford, Oregon
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

This 'boutique' hotel near the U of W campus was a good fit for us over an extended Memorial Day weekend. We were there to watch our granddaughter play in a volleyball tournament on campus, but added a couple of days to make it a mini-vacation. The price was right and we managed to get everywhere we wanted either by walking, using the complimentary bright yellow cruiser bikes (which got a LOT of positive attention on the great, nearby Burke-Gilman trail!) or their free shuttle. The shuttle only goes to some designated stops (not real clear on the website...it says 'within 5 miles' and we thought we could go anywhere w/in 5 miles) but they are well placed. We spent a day exploring the waterfront, Seattle Center (happened to be there during the Folk Life Festival) and walking to the top of the Queen Anne hill. We visited the University Village shopping center a couple of times and found good restaurants, and of course were at the volleyball venue which was in the sports area of campus which was right on the lake and had good places to explore between games. The hotel staff was very friendly and accommodating, rooms were clean, the free breakfast was nothing to write home about, but decent and they did have pineapple mini-cupcakes at 5:00 every day. :) The shuttle drivers were friendly, prompt and called us if there was to be any delay or problem. Reserve your shuttle pickups as soon as you know when/where you want to go, as it's first-come, first-served. We didn't bring swim suits as the website said the pool was open in June, and we were there during the (early in May this year) Memorial Day weekend...we wished we'd known it would be open. We would definitely stay there again if the occasion arises. They do have specials on their website, and will price match, so plan ahead and check prices.

Room Tip: We were facing 42nd Street and it was fairly noisy, I imagine the rooms facing the pool would be qui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaceyKing, Manager at University Inn - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Hi Susanfrey,

Thank you for the great review! Sounds like you enjoyed your time exploring Seattle and some of the fun stuff our city has to offer, we're pleased to have been a part of that for you. You are absolutely correct in that we will always match the lowest price for our rooms so just give us a call next time you're headed to Seattle 1.866.866.7977 we're always here to help with your travel plans!

Lacey King
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

We chose the University Inn because of their proximity to Seattle Children's Hospital and were happy to have a short commute.

Pros:
Super friendly and helpful staff. We enjoyed that the rooms seemed very solid and not flimsy construction. Our room was overlooking the pool and was very quiet for how noisy it was outside. We loved that the beds were extremely comfortable and the room was a decent size. We were also thankful for free parking, even though it is on a first come first serve basis.

Cons:
I wish they had a refrigerator in the room, I had thought this was pretty standard in most hotels and was wrong to assume there would be one. The breakfast.. well, isn't breakfast.. it's toast and bagels. The bathroom was very small. We enjoyed the larger tub, but it didn't offset the fact that there is hardly any room to put things on the counter. The room also reeked of some sort of air freshener when we got there. It took about an hour to get it all aired out.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the pool are less noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaceyKing, Manager at University Inn - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Hello Social_Travlr,

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. We're pleased to see that you enjoyed your overall stay with us. I do apologize if our complimentary breakfast didn't meet your expectations. We offer a basic quick breakfast selection for our guests, you can find the items listed on our webpage. Unfortunately we do not have the abilities of a full kitchen/restaurant. Most of our rooms do have a refrigerators and hopefully after our renovation this winter we can offer them in all of our rooms.

We do hope to welcome you back in the future to our freshly renovated rooms!

Lacey King
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

Front desk is super helpful,so is the shuttle bus driver.
Free parking,free shuttle to the city centre,free breakfast, restaurants are only 4 blocks away,what else would you want?
Better room?yes,maybe,but that'd be more expensive? :P

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaceyKing, Manager at University Inn - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality, responded to this review, May 22, 2014
Hi Johnny C.,

Wow, thanks for the great review! We're so excited that we have exceeded you expectations. If you come back to see us next year we will have freshly renovated room for you as well!

We hope to welcome you back,

Lacey King
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walla Walla, Washington
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

Last time we were in Seattle, we stayed at the Maxwell and LOVED it. They were sold out this trip, so we went with their sister Pineapple property, the University Inn. This was definitely a mixed bag by comparison. Let's start with the good news.

PROS:
SLEEP - The beds and especially the pillows are trademark wonderful. If all I wanted the room for was sleep, then this is a slam dunk.
CLEANLINESS - They keep the property and the rooms sparkling.
PERSONNEL - The staff is about as kind and friendly as it gets.
PET FRIENDLY - Lots of spots for their walks.
RIGHT ABOVE PORTAGE BAY - Best breakfast in the PacNW
FREE PARKING - In Seattle, that's golden.

CONS:
WIFI - If you're here to do business or anything on the web, this is not the place. The wifi is abysmally slow when it works. I was told after we unpacked and settled in that the rooms furthest from the lobby area were prone to poor connectivity. We do our entire business online and every task was either a non-starter or just plain took about ten times longer than dial-up. Their IT guy installed an access point near our room, but that didn't work. After three days, I realized I had to change the automatic settings on my computer. If you know how to do this, you need to change the DHCP settings manually. Manually enter a higher (above 50) router address on their router IP (you'll see it in the settings) until you're on. Also, make sure your subnet mask is set to the standard 255.255.255.0. They have theirs default to a wrong setting. I don't know how they do that. But they did.
LAUNDRY - The complimentary laundry room was out of order the whole time we were here. Not what we were counting on when we packed.
POOL - "Outdoor seasonal pool is open May-September." What they didn't say was it wasn't open until May 29, Memorial Day weekend. One less activity crossed off the list.

Those seemingly benign annoyances really sapped a lot of the enjoyment and need for accomplishment from what we were expecting and what was advertised. I can't eat the complimentary cupcakes, but they looked great.

So again, if you're not here trying to do online business or binge watch internet TV, have a full arsenal of clean clothes for the week, or actually hit the swimming timeframe, you'll love it here. Nearby restaurants along University Place are eclectic and terrific, and the Trinity Grocery makes outstanding sandwiches. Bonus. If I could give U Inn a 3-1/2, I would, but I can't quite give it a 4.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the front may be warm with the sun beaming in and trucks do barrel down Roosevelt, a on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaceyKing, Manager at University Inn - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Hello HowHoff,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. I do apologize that you found our wifi a bit lacking for your needs, we do share all of our guest feedback with our IT team as to correct any deficiencies we may face. We are pleased that you found our hotel to be clean and comfortable during your stay and that our staff was very welcoming.

If there is anything I may do please feel free to contact me directly at 206.632.6867

Lacey King
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

Excellent boutique hotel that is convenient, clean, dog friendly with a excellent staff. We were not sure what to expect, yet after our first trip to Seattle for business we will be back to explore the city more and plan on staying here. Parking was a concern though not a problem at all. Beds are comfortable, modest sized rooms and although walls seem thin (you could hear people from the hallway) inside the rooms all was quite. Appreciated the alcohol swabs left by the phone & alarm clock.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaceyKing, Manager at University Inn - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Hi Y S,

Thank you for the great review! We're so happy to see that we have exceeded your expectations. Seattle has so much to offer you can always find new things to see and do; and yes, we love your four legged guests too! Seattle is a very dog friendly city.
#PineapplePups
We look forward to your next visit,

Lacey King
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to University Inn - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about University Inn - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality

Address: 4140 Roosevelt Way NE, Seattle, WA 98105
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Family Hotel in Seattle
#40 Romantic Hotel in Seattle
#44 Business Hotel in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — University Inn - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality 2.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The University Inn. Where mod meets modern. Hip and happening, eclectic and groovy-The University Inn is a throwback to times when travelling was a supreme adventure and dazzling service came standard. Complementing our fun and funky decor are fantastically comfortable guest accommodations, award-winning organic cuisine and a location that can’t be beat. Here you’re just minutes from the University of Washington and a short drive to all Seattle has to offer: The Pike Place Market, Space Needle, Seattle Waterfront and more. We invite you do be our guest. Can you dig it? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your University Inn - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
University Hotel Seattle
University b&b

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage University Inn - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.