We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of University Inn - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added University Inn - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality to your Saves list
University Inn - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4140 Roosevelt Way NE, Seattle, WA 98105   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
$30 Off per Night!
Ranked #31 of 95 Hotels in Seattle
Camas, United States
1 review
“great place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

The University Inn is perfect when visiting the U of W. Walking distance to everything, quiet, large and very clean rooms with comfy beds. We brought both of our dogs and the treatment they got was amazing. Huge dog bed, food and treats!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda G, Manager at University Inn - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear Michelle H,

Thanks for your kind review of University Inn. It was our pleasure to take care of you and your four footed family members! I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Cheers,
Amanda Guyton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

411 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    199
    160
    35
    14
    3
See reviews for
140
87
31
80
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Ideal for everyone visiting Seattle, decent price and great location in the university area. The hotel has all the little touches making it a great stay, from a free breakfast bar (offering basic items) to tea/coffee and muffins throughout the afternoon, down to steriswabs in the rooms for wiping down the phone/tv remote.. Secluded pool offers relaxing break. Free courtesy shuttle to various Seattle locations. Friendly and knowledgeable staff.

Room Tip: Top floor (4th floor, elevator available) very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcoBaumann, General Manager at University Inn - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear PeterJtrips,

Thank you for providing so much detail in your review. Also, thank you for your kind words about our team, we're proud of them. We hope to welcome you back soon to Seattle! In the meantime, all the very best.

Marco Baumann
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmö
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

If you need to be close to the university area (like I did) this hotel is a very good pick. The staff is very friendly and helpful, and the cleaning crew is nice. For example I ran out of toothpaste and the desk supplied me with a few small tubes which lasted during my last days. There's a pool too but I never tried it. The breakfast is OK, nothing fancy but it includes what you expect to find. It is a bit of a hassle coming from the airport with a couple of bus changes so if you have a lot of luggage a cab would be better. I walked downtown a couple of times which took me about 30-40 min. There are busses of course but if the weather allows it at least one walk is recommended for the sights. There are plenty of bars and restaurants in the university area and it is pretty buzzing at night. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcoBaumann, General Manager at University Inn - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear bengtnitram,

Thank you for your detailed review of your stay. We're delighted that our location and amenities were helpful to your stay in the U-District! Thanks again for your review. When your travels bring you back to Seattle, we hope to welcome you back!

Marco Baumann
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

We were told we were up graded to a room with 'pillow top bed' and other amenities. The room seemed typical for hotels of this level. The room had a queen bed and a couch. It was nothing special. The sheets were rough and the pillows were all hard. The hotel is going for a retro sixties look, but it really doesn't work. The breakfast is not very good.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda G, Manager at University Inn - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear GeoT,

Thank you for your feedback. I’m sorry that the hotel was not to your liking. Thank you for giving us a try!

Amanda Guyton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

Perfectly acceptable place to stay. We will definitely stay again. They have lots of ammenities outside of the room itself that make this place worthwhile - shuttle to various popular locals, bicycles to borrow!, pleasant outdoor pool, more than a sweet roll for breakfast. We hadn't realized how easy it was to get to downtown from this area - we will come back for a vacation and feel less isolated than staying downtown.

Room Tip: Our room with a balcony overlooking the pool was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcoBaumann, General Manager at University Inn - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear Laura F,

We were delighted to have you as our guest and are looking forward to seeing you again soon!
Thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback!

Marco Baumann
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
315 reviews 315 reviews
68 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
148 helpful votes 148 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

I had high expectations for this hotel based on the website photos and verbiage. I thought the rate was a little on the high side but wanted somewhere comfortable as my son and I were driving up from San Francisco that day. It was a long and towards the end arduous drive so was really looking forward to a good night's sleep. Our room was in the South Wing overlooking Roosevelt. Even with the window closed it was noisy and at 5:30 am, a truck delivering to Portage Bay was extremely noisy. The truck ran its engine at fast idle right below our room and then the unloading was accomplished with much banging and a bit of yelling. Also, for a hotel of this price, the bathroom amenities were kind of chintzy. These were the wall mounted dispensers for soap, shampoo, conditioner and lotion. Really, even Motel 6 gives you a bar of soap. Besides these issues, the room was comfortable and the staff - friendly, efficient and knowledgeable. The breakfast was decent and helped offset the fatigue from the lack of sleep. One suggestion would be to keep the pool open later. I know it could be a noise issue but it would see more use.

Room Tip: Avoid the South Wing overlooking Roosevelt.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda G, Manager at University Inn - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear John K,

Thanks for taking the time to review University Inn. I’m glad that our staff was able to take care of you however, I apologize that our in-room amenities were not to your liking. For future stays, we do have bars of soap available upon request. We hope to welcome you back soon.

Cheers,
Amanda Guyton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013 via mobile

This hotel exceeded our expectations. I was there for 9 days with my two son, one of whom stayed on at UDub. The shuttle was very helpful as we went sightseeing on a couple of days - decide where you are going and at what time and make a reservation the day before - don't wait till the day of, unless you are willing to be flexible with the time.
Breakfast was nice - HB eggs, bagels, mini-muffins, cereal, etc.
The front desk staff were always cheerful. The room was spacious - even with 3 adults and our luggage we did not feel cramped. I highly recommend!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcoBaumann, General Manager at University Inn - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear UmalifromRT,

Thank you so much for your positive feedback! We're delighted to have made a great impression on your stay with us. Glad you were able to use our Pineapple Express shuttle service. Looking forward to welcoming you back...

Marco Baumann
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to University Inn - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about University Inn - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality

Address: 4140 Roosevelt Way NE, Seattle, WA 98105
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Family Hotel in Seattle
#32 Romantic Hotel in Seattle
#38 Business Hotel in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — University Inn - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality 2.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The University Inn. Where mod meets modern. Hip and happening, eclectic and groovy-The University Inn is a throwback to times when travelling was a supreme adventure and dazzling service came standard. Complementing our fun and funky decor are fantastically comfortable guest accommodations, award-winning organic cuisine and a location that can’t be beat. Here you’re just minutes from the University of Washington and a short drive to all Seattle has to offer: The Pike Place Market, Space Needle, Seattle Waterfront and more. We invite you do be our guest. Can you dig it? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your University Inn - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
University Hotel Seattle
University b&b

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage University Inn - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.