We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good and predictable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of University Inn - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added University Inn - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality to your Saves list
University Inn - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4140 Roosevelt Way NE, Seattle, WA 98105   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
$30 Off per Night!
Ranked #31 of 95 Hotels in Seattle
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Good and predictable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Good location and consistent service. We liked the cheery decor. Only negative is the loud sound of showering from next floor in the older section.
Great cafe for brunch right net door. Pool a welcome bonus.

Room Tip: Don,t take the older side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda G, Manager at University Inn - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Dear Monicas480,
Thanks for your review! We’re glad to see you enjoyed your stay. We hope to welcome you back soon.
Cheers,
Amanda Guyton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

411 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    199
    160
    35
    14
    3
See reviews for
140
87
31
80
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

I stayed here for a conference at UW campus and it was convenient for that purpose. Room was average, there was no fridge for storing drinks/water. There is coffee/tee in lobby during the day and morning breakfast was a selection of cereals and toast. All the staff members I met were very good and helpful.

Overall, if I only came for a visit to UW I would stay here again, but for a city trip I would get a hotel in city center.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda G, Manager at University Inn - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Dear LKO420,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review! I’m glad our team took care of you during your stay. I would like to recommend one our Deluxe or Premier rooms for your next stay as they accommodate a refrigerator and microwave. We hope to see you again the next time you are visiting the University of Washington.

Cheers,
Amanda Guyton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorba Linda, CA
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We stayed here one night in July 2013 while visiting the Seattle area. The room included two double beds and was a decent size for our party of three. The beds are decently comfortable. The property is conveniently located close to the University Village (a great location for local restaurants and shops). The property provides a continental breakfast in the mornings. It's certainly not gourmet, but a free breakfast is always a welcome amenity. The property provides a shuttle for local activities. We ended up driving to local activities, but the local shuttle is also a welcome amenity since the city parking lots are mostly pay-to-park.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda G, Manager at University Inn - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Dear loveSoCal,

Thanks for reviewing University Inn! I’m glad you found our beds comfortable. During your next stay you’ll have to take advantage of our complimentary Pineapple Express shuttle so you don’t have to pay to park downtown! We look forward to your return the next time you are in the area.

Cheers,
Amanda Guyton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

It's location first; near our son's apartment, but also we enjjoy the friendly young reception staff, the decent breakfast featuring Starbucks coffees, beautifully kept large Standard Queen room, and the swimming pool. We didn't need to use the room's golf sized umbrella but we examined it for next time. Newly built, the Inn has interesting "art nouveau" decor. Downtown isn't far away, and University of Washington campus is even closer. The parking tucked behind one wing seems cramped but we always found a spot. And next door is a really popular breakfast/lunch restaurant, the Portage Inn. (I don't know if it serves dinner; we've not tried.)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda G, Manager at University Inn - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Dear BillG6,

Thank you for your kind words! It’s always great to hear when guests choose University Inn as their home away from home. I’m glad you have been able to enjoy a meal at Portage Bay Café! Unfortunately, they are not open for dinner but they serve a excellent breakfast, lunch and brunch. We can’t wait to welcome you back soon!

Cheers,
Amanda Guyton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

I love this hotel. It is convenient to all of Seattle. It's in the University district and is walking distance to great restaurants and shopping. I like the area because there were always students walking around and you felt very safe.
The rooms are a little small but very cozy and efficient. I liked that mine had a balcony that overlooked the pool. The pool, by the way, is heated and very clean.
They offer a complimentary breakfast each morning that is perfectly acceptable for most business travelers. They also offer tea and coffee in the lobby 24/7 and have little mini cupcakes in the afternoon. A very gracious touch.
Hotel was quiet and seemed to be mostly business travelers or people there looking at the university. It was clean and had a nice smell in the hallway.

Best feature: FREE off street parking!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda G, Manager at University Inn - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Dear True W,
Thank you for reviewing University Inn. I’m glad you enjoyed your stay during your business travel. We hope you welcome you back the next time you are in Seattle for work or for play! Thanks again!
Cheers,
Amanda Guyton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cypress, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

I'm not one to usually make the effort to review places on sites like these but University Inn definitely deserves high praises. Every aspect of our stay here was as amazing as we could've possibly imagined. We arrived to the hotel about 5 hours before check-in and were graciously allowed to enter into our room. Our room was so cute, we had a huge window and balcony, the beds were comfy and, a weird little side note, the soaps/lotions etc. smelled amazing! We were able to schedule rides on the free shuttle which made traveling without a car possible and stress-free. The breakfast was pretty standard continental fare. They have starbucks in the lobby 24/7 and delicious cupcakes in the afternoon. They even let us check our bags in after check-out because our flight didn't leave until the evening. The front desk was amazing, they truly went above and beyond. I'm baffled that this hotel only has a 2 star rating.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda G, Manager at University Inn - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Dear Emily C,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review! We are happy that we exceeded your expectations! We strive to take great care of each and every one of our guests and it looks like we succeeded. We hope to see you again soon.

Cheers,
Amanda Guyton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

Spacious, comfortable room with great beds and pillows, lovely sheets. (Stayed in a Queen Deluxe) Enjoyed the fluffy big towels, Keurig coffee maker and complimentary bottled water, and breakfast. Appreciated the free parking, free wi-fi, and an umbrella in the room.

It was easy to find off the I-5 and is in a great location if you are attending a concert at Meany Hall on the University of Washington campus within easy walking distance. We were impressed with the friendly, helpful staff and all-round cleanliness of the hotel. Definitely would stay there again and will recommend it to friends.

Room Tip: If you like to sleep in and have the window open through the night, ask for a room that is not facin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda G, Manager at University Inn - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Dear Shreddershandmind,

Thank you for your review and recommendation to friends! We always love to hear when guests enjoy our amenities. We look forward to seeing you again the next time your travels bring you to the Emerald City.

Amanda Guyton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to University Inn - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about University Inn - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality

Address: 4140 Roosevelt Way NE, Seattle, WA 98105
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Family Hotel in Seattle
#31 Romantic Hotel in Seattle
#38 Business Hotel in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — University Inn - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality 2.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The University Inn. Where mod meets modern. Hip and happening, eclectic and groovy-The University Inn is a throwback to times when travelling was a supreme adventure and dazzling service came standard. Complementing our fun and funky decor are fantastically comfortable guest accommodations, award-winning organic cuisine and a location that can’t be beat. Here you’re just minutes from the University of Washington and a short drive to all Seattle has to offer: The Pike Place Market, Space Needle, Seattle Waterfront and more. We invite you do be our guest. Can you dig it? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your University Inn - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
University Hotel Seattle
University b&b

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage University Inn - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.