We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hospitality and comfort” 5 of 5 stars
Review of University Inn Seattle

Save Saved
You added University Inn Seattle to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
University Inn Seattle
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4140 Roosevelt Way NE, Seattle, WA 98105   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
$20 Off per Night!
Ranked #30 of 93 hotels in Seattle
Kelowna
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great hospitality and comfort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

Spacious, comfortable room with great beds and pillows, lovely sheets. (Stayed in a Queen Deluxe) Enjoyed the fluffy big towels, Keurig coffee maker and complimentary bottled water, and breakfast. Appreciated the free parking, free wi-fi, and an umbrella in the room.

It was easy to find off the I-5 and is in a great location if you are attending a concert at Meany Hall on the University of Washington campus within easy walking distance. We were impressed with the friendly, helpful staff and all-round cleanliness of the hotel. Definitely would stay there again and will recommend it to friends.

Room Tip: If you like to sleep in and have the window open through the night, ask for a room that is not facin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda G, Manager at University Inn Seattle, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Dear Shreddershandmind,

Thank you for your review and recommendation to friends! We always love to hear when guests enjoy our amenities. We look forward to seeing you again the next time your travels bring you to the Emerald City.

Amanda Guyton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

342 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    171
    132
    26
    11
    2
See reviews for
113
80
26
65
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

Great hotel with free parking and complimentary tasty cupcakes in the afternoon. Within walking distance to everything you will need and not a bad drive down to Pike Place Market. (take the 99 as opposed to I-5)

Very friendly staff, everything was clean and the room/bed was comfortable. Nice basic complimentary breakfast in the morning.

Thanks to the staff of University Inn!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda G, Manager at University Inn Seattle, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Dear cgasaldo,

Thank you for your review. Your pictures of the view from your room are great! I’m glad you enjoyed our Pineapple Cupcakes. We look forward to welcoming you back in the not-so-distant future.

Cheers,
Amanda Guyton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Notre Dame, Indiana, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

Adorable rooms with a cool view of downtown that were well-kept. Microwave and fridge in the room was useful. Convenient location to the Ave and parking was available to hotel guests. Front desk was generally helpful, though sometimes it seemed understaffed. Breakfast was pretty basic, no hot food.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda G, Manager at University Inn Seattle, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Dear Mimi H,

Thanks for your review. I’m glad you enjoyed your stay; it was our pleasure to take care of you. We hope to see you again next time!

Amanda Guyton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
the road
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

We *really* liked this hotel. We didn't quite know what to expect, having picked it for its location and good Yelp reviews. We'd have been happy with a standard sort of place. But it was much better than we expected.

What we liked:

1. Spacious room, w/ microwave and fridge. (There was a TV, but we didn't turn it on.)
2. Free wi-fi internet, seamless and pretty fast.
3. Nice breakfast bar, with bagels and cereal and fruit and other stuff - and Starbucks coffee - included in the room price.
4. Nice spacious lounge with coffee/ tea available all the time.
5. Free, adequate, parking.
6. There's a small outdoor pool, but we didn't use it.
7. Lovely location - easy walk to The Avenue, with lots of interesting student-type restaurants.
8. Reasonable price for what we got.

The bathroom wasn't quite as good.

There's no towel rail as such - the towel rack sits above the loo, and you can hang handtowels on its rail but not bath towels. The shower curtain is a single fabric curtain, and it's too long. That means (a) if it's inside the tub, as it should be for protection, it extends too far and is slippery; I nearly slipped on it. (b) Once it gets wet, you can't take it out of the tub, it touches the floor and drips. So if one person has a shower and the other wants a bath - it doesn't quite work.

Other than that, it was functional, with a washbasin outside the bathroom as well as one inside it. And a nice granite counter.

On the whole, a very nice hotel, and I'd most likely come back here. We'd messed up the reservation (our fault, not theirs) but they patiently and pleasantly sorted it out. All the staff were helpful and acted like they enjoyed what they did. The hotel's decor is Midcentury Modern, sort of 1950s and 1960s; it's bright and cheerful.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda G, Manager at University Inn Seattle, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Dear 09876,

Thanks for writing such a detailed review of University Inn! I know other viewers appreciate it. I’m glad we exceeded your expectations. Thank you for the feedback concerning our bathrooms. I will be sure to take your comments into consideration for our next renovation. We hope to welcome you back the next time your travels bring you to Seattle.

Cheers,
Amanda Guyton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

I really enjoyed staying at this hotel. The lobby is pretty with bright retro furnishings and a constant supply of Starbucks coffee and excellent Tazo teas. The staff are friendly and helpful. Troy was especially welcoming. The elevator is quick. The room was quiet, spacious and the king size bed was comfortable. Bottles of water are available in the room for free (and these days this is not common). The outdoor pool is lovely. There is a free shuttle to and from the city (with reservations) and the location of the hotel itself is great. It's not downtown but only a mile or so from places worth visiting such as Fremont and Capitol hill. I look forward to staying here again. It is now my favorite place to stay in Seattle.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda G, Manager at University Inn Seattle, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Dear Carmelapplepie,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review! I’m so pleased you found our staff to be friendly and helpful; I agree – Troy is a true gem. I’m glad we are your new hotel of choice when visiting Seattle. We can’t wait to welcome you back soon.

Cheers,
Amanda Guyton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ota, Japan
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We enjoyed a pleasant stay while visiting University of Washington. The hotel was very quiet and clean. Basic breakfast was included in self-serve area. Good location for visiting University at a reasonable rate.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda G, Manager at University Inn Seattle, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Dear Heather A,

I’m glad you enjoyed your stay and we hope to welcome you back in the future. Thanks for your review.

Cheers,
Amanda Guyton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel many times and it keeps getting better in service and amenities. For a single traveler or family, this is a great place to stay in Seattle. It's close to the freeway and 10 minutes from downtown. Free parking. Great complimentary breakfast with a microwave and fridge in every room. I had a Keurig coffee/tea maker in my room with a nice selection of coffee, tea and hot chocolate. The buffet bar in the lobby offers a bigger selection of teas and hot drinks 24/7. The rooms are spacious and very clean. Free Wi-Fi. Walking distance to the UW campus and shopping on "the Ave". I haven't used their free shuttle service to downtown and the airport but it's a wonderful service to take advantage of if you don't have a car. Although parking is free, the parking lot gets full quickly because it is shared with the restaurant next door (Portage Bay Cafe). I've had to find on the the street parking in the past when the lot was full.

Room Tip: The newer wing has nicer rooms. My corner room at end of floor had a great view of Mt. Rainier and t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda G, Manager at University Inn Seattle, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Dear Liz T,

Thank you for reviewing University Inn. I’m glad you have been able to take advantage of many of our amenities during your stays with us. Hopefully, you’ll have a chance to utilize our complimentary Pineapple Express shuttle service to local area attractions (Unfortunately, we do not service the airport but we can provide you with several options that do!) the next time you are in Seattle. We look forward to your return soon!

Cheers,
Amanda Guyton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to University Inn Seattle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about University Inn Seattle

Also Known As:
University Hotel Seattle
University b&b
Address: 4140 Roosevelt Way NE, Seattle, WA 98105
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Family Hotel in Seattle
#39 Business Hotel in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — University Inn Seattle 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The University Inn. Where mod meets modern. Hip and happening, eclectic and groovy-The University Inn is a throwback to times when travelling was a supreme adventure and dazzling service came standard. Complementing our fun and funky decor are fantastically comfortable guest accommodations, award-winning organic cuisine and a location that can’t be beat. Here you’re just minutes from the University of Washington and a short drive to all Seattle has to offer: The Pike Place Market, Space Needle, Seattle Waterfront and more. We invite you do be our guest. Can you dig it? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Loews Hotels, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Priceline, getaroom.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your University Inn Seattle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage University Inn Seattle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.