We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for a UW Visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of University Inn - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added University Inn - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality to your Saves list
University Inn - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4140 Roosevelt Way NE, Seattle, WA 98105   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$30 Off per Night!
Ranked #29 of 95 Hotels in Seattle
Monterey, California
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Perfect for a UW Visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

We were able to walk to the UW campus from the University Inn. Breakfast was included; had to walk (really run through the rain) to the Watertown Hotel for a workout but that was fun; the Watertown is a sister facility so the workout room was free. There were about 7 bicycles on the wall at the workout area; I presume on a sunny day you can take these out. The University Inn is clean, basic, but with funky additions like geometric pillows that appealed to my 18 year old daughter. There was an outdoor pool that no one used, again, it was raining. We'll stay here again because the location was perfect.

Room Tip: We were on the 2nd floor on Roosevelt; might be less noisy on the parking lot side, higher up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda G, Manager at University Inn - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Dear Anne M.,

Thanks for taking the time to write a review of University Inn. I’m glad you were able to utilize the fitness room at our sister property, Watertown Hotel. Watertown Hotel’s guests are able to utilize our seasonal pool as well. The bikes you mentioned are available for guest use and can be checked out from the front desk. Hopefully the weather will be nicer during your next trip so you can use them! We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Cheers,
Amanda Guyton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

408 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    199
    159
    33
    14
    3
See reviews for
139
87
31
79
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Rocklin, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

Hotel is very nice for visiting UW. Close to the university and the staff are very friendly and accommodating. They checked in our luggage both before and after our stay, so that we could visit the university. They also let us into a room early, after our trip to Seattle. Will stay here again, if the kid decides to go to UW.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda G, Manager at University Inn - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Dear PlumasSierra,

Thank you for your kind review! I hope you had a great tour of the University of Washington. I’m glad we were able to accommodate a check-in earlier than our normal check-in time of 3:00 pm. We hope to welcome you back in the fall!

Cheers,
Amanda Guyton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orem, Utah
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

An employee of the University of Washington recommended this hotel. Very pleased with this hotel. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Comfortable room. Close to the campus and just about 15 minutes from Pike's Market. They offer a free shuttle to the market. Beats paying $18 for parking for 2 hours by the market. My room was very clean and the beds comfortable. They offer a free breakfast. Free parking.

Room Tip: Since this was my first stay,I can't make any comments.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda G, Manager at University Inn - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Dear chris1916,
Thank you for writing a review. I’m delighted that you were able to take advantage of our complimentary parking and local area shuttle to the downtown area. We will upgrading our vehicle to a roomier 13 passenger bus in the very near future.

We look forward to seeing you again the next time your travels bring you to Seattle!

Amanda Guyton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fair Oaks, CA
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

This hotel is only about 4-5 blocks from the campus, so is perfectly located for a visit to UW (my older daughter is considering college there). The rooms are clean and reasonably priced. The continental breakfast was decent (cereal, juice, coffee/tea, hard-boiled eggs, toast) and included in the price. Hotel staff were very helpful and friendly.

Ask for a room NOT on the Roosevelt side if you want a quieter room for sleeping. The view from that side is nothing special, anyway, and we did have a fair amount of traffic during the night.

Room Tip: Ask for a room NOT on the Roosevelt side if you want a quieter room for sleeping. The view from tha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda G, Manager at University Inn - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Dear a_local_doctor,

Thank you for taking the time to review University Inn. I’m glad that you found our location perfect for your tour of the University of Washington. Go Huskies! Thanks for leaving your room tip; our rooms overlooking the parking lot tend to be quieter than those overlooking Roosevelt Way.

We hope to be welcoming you back soon!

Cheers,
Amanda Guyton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

The patriarch of our very large family died suddenly two weeks ago. Family members descended on Seattle from everywhere -- 51 of us in all. The staff at the University Inn could not have been more considerate. Command and Control for a dozen kids, their parents, aunts and uncles was the lobby of the Inn. When there wasn't enough room at the Inn, the hotel found additional lodging nearby. The rooms are lovely. The location is convenient to the University, to the Lake, to everything that makes Seattle so beautiful.

This grateful family most highly recommends the University Inn to any visitor in Seattle.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda G, Manager at University Inn - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Dear Rudaigh,

Thank you so much for your kind review. I’m please to see you enjoyed our rooms and convenient location. It was our pleasure to be your home away from home for your family during a difficult time.

We hope to welcome you back for a happier visit soon.

Amanda Guyton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

We stayed overnight on a layover. We arrived early and were greeted by the very pleasant staff at the front desk. There was no problem checking our luggage. The hotel was full, but we were given the first available room that fit out reservation.
The location is great. The hotel provides a shuttle to the downtown area, but public transportation is easy and close by. Reasonable fun places to eat are around the corner. Coffee and tea all day as well as a nice complementary breakfast are offered in a nice meeting area.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcoBaumann, General Manager at University Inn - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Dear KaiFL,

Thank you so much for choosing us for your layover in Seattle! We're delighted to have welcomed you and that our amenities and services were memorable. The time our guests take to feedback to us is valuable, and we appreciate it very much!

Hope to welcome you back for a longer stay some day. Until then, all the very best from Seattle!

Marco Baumann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twin Falls, Idaho
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

We stayed 3 nights at the University Inn. We will definitely stay there again the next time we travel to Seattle! No problems, it was "Just Fabulous"! Loved the afternoon tea and cupcakes.
The breakfast served lots of dairy milk products, my favorite!

Room Tip: call the Hotel directly for a reservation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcoBaumann, General Manager at University Inn - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Dear ValB,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay! We are delighted that our cupcakes and afternoon coffee were a hit. Our brand new recipe seems to be a favorite with our guests (and the staff too).

Hope to see you back here soon. Thanks again for your comments!

Marco Baumann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to University Inn - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about University Inn - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality

Address: 4140 Roosevelt Way NE, Seattle, WA 98105
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Family Hotel in Seattle
#32 Romantic Hotel in Seattle
#38 Business Hotel in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — University Inn - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality 2.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The University Inn. Where mod meets modern. Hip and happening, eclectic and groovy-The University Inn is a throwback to times when travelling was a supreme adventure and dazzling service came standard. Complementing our fun and funky decor are fantastically comfortable guest accommodations, award-winning organic cuisine and a location that can’t be beat. Here you’re just minutes from the University of Washington and a short drive to all Seattle has to offer: The Pike Place Market, Space Needle, Seattle Waterfront and more. We invite you do be our guest. Can you dig it? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, T4B, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your University Inn - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
University Hotel Seattle
University b&b

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage University Inn - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.