We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly attitudes with welcoming and accommodating staff.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of University Inn - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added University Inn - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality to your Saves list
University Inn - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4140 Roosevelt Way NE, Seattle, WA 98105   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$30 Off per Night!
Ranked #36 of 97 Hotels in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Coquitlam, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Friendly attitudes with welcoming and accommodating staff.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

Ever arrive exhausted from a drive after an already eventful day, but that has you at your destination in the wee hours of the morning ahead of schedule because anticipated much vaunted border delays didn't transpire. Then you wondered whether to curl up asleep in your car? Before taking up parking space in the University Inn where I had a reservation for Monday night, I was prompted to check with the night staff and let them know my plan because I had an early appointment at U of W Med Ctr close by and wouldn't be able to check-in until much later in the afternoon. I was greeted brightly by Joel and before I knew it I was whisked off to my room that was already available following Sunday checkouts and with the welcoming news that the gym was available at their sister Waterford Hotel next door through agreement. Breakfast was absolutely inviting and all the staff mirrored the initial welcome by Joel in their eagerness to assist everyone. The hotel is bright and clean with all the amenities and a great well-lit running trail through the university district and Lake Washington. Free shuttle service runs around the area and stops across the street every 15 minutes and the bus service to downtown is less than 20 minutes with Pike Street Market; Pioneer Square, and other waterfront attractions all laid out in a walking distance. Perfect accommodation by Joel; returning soon!

Room Tip: I was given a balcony on the fourth floor which was quiet and had a view towards the south.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda G, Manager at University Inn - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review of University Inn! I look forward to sharing your praises with our entire team. Our location is prime for visits to the University Of Washington Medical Center. As you noted, the University operates a complimentary shuttle service which picks up just across the street at the UW Roosevelt Clinic and runs every 15 minutes. However, we also offer complimentary shuttle service to and from the medical center as well as several other locations in the area and downtown. I’m glad that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

430 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    205
    168
    39
    15
    3
See reviews for
151
92
33
80
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

I stayed here in December for a residency interview at UW. This was a very convenient place to stay, about a 15 minute brisk walk from the medical center. The service was very good and the staff was very friendly. The pineapple cupcakes in the lobby were a nice touch. The room was clean, comfortable, and colorful, suited with usual amenities. The shuttle to certain parts of town is also very convenient. The only problem during my stay was that the hot water heater broke the morning of my interview and I had to take a cold shower at about 6am. The person that addresses those kinds of issues arrives at the hotel at 6:30am; and promptly thereafter, there was hot water again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda G, Manager at University Inn - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I hope that your interview went well. I’m pleased to see that we were able to create a convenient and comfortable stay for you. I sincerely apologize for the lack of hot water on your early morning but I’m glad to see that we were able to promptly rectify the issue. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

I was pleasantly surprised during my staff at the University Inn in Seattle. Despite it's nondescript outer facade, the inside is modern and clean. I received an upgrade to a suite when I checked in, which was a pleasant surprise. I had a room in the south building. It was very clean, quiet, had it's own Keurig coffee maker and fridge and microwave. Wireless Internet access was free with a good connection. I had no problems controlling the heat / air con in my room. The free shuttle (need to book ahead of time) is great and will drop you off / pick you up from main attractions, including the Space Needle. There is also a public bus right across the street that will take you downtown in 10-15 minutes (on the weekend). I stayed 3 nights and got the 3rd night free. The breakfast is a bit sparse, but there is tea / coffee available at all times in the lobby. There is also a public computer and printer in the lobby. The front desk staff were pleasant and helpful in providing directions. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the South side, not on the groud floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda G, Manager at University Inn - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Thanks for your lovely review of University Inn. I’m delighted to see you enjoyed your complimentary upgrade and were able to utilize many of our amenities. Thanks again for the recommendation. We hope to see you again the next time you’re in the Emerald City.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

I'm a celiac like to pass on tips for those in same position. Bring ur own gf bread, there is gf yogurt, toaster, cream cheese, peanut butter, hard boiled eggs, fruit, juice, tea and coffee. Portage bay cafe next door does Gf but I didn't go there. Close by there is a Chipotle Grill on university wsy between NE 42nd & 43rd they do a gf burrito bowl. I would stay here again. Shuttle goes on every hour and comes back on the half hour but book in advance.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda G, Manager at University Inn - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Thank you for writing a helpful review for our gluten-free guests. I’m glad that you found options available in our complimentary breakfast! I’m pleased you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

As the title suggests, this hotel is good for a short stay. I would not stay here for more than a few nights. The service people are very friendly and helpful. They know a lot about the city and can help you out. The sitting areas, lobby, and rooms are all clean. They provide a continental breakfast that it pretty good. When I was there there where different cereal choices, bagels, toast, muffins. They provide a complimentary shuttle to several areas including Pikes Place, the zoo, the Space Needle, etc. I did not have a car and found this helpful. This hotel is also located in a conveniant location. It is close to the University of Washington and the shops around the University. There are many good places to eat around the hotel that are within walking distance. The rooms also had microwaves and a fridge. The main problem was the heater. The rooms got extremely cold in the night unless you left the heater on. If you left the heater on the room would get extremely hot. The heater was also very loud. The beds were okay. They were not very comfortable, but were adequate for the short time I stayed there. Overall, a good experience and would return.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda G, Manager at University Inn - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Thank you for reviewing our hotel. I’m pleased to see you were able to utilize our complimentary shuttle service and that overall you enjoyed your stay. I apologize that our beds or in-room heaters did not meet your expecations. Please know that it is in the plans to upgrade these two items later this year. We can’t wait to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redmond
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Pros: location is great, the hotel value is excellent - if you search around you'll find they have the best reviews, but lower costs per night (we got 3rd night free) and they have a nice coffee machine in the room, and tea/coffee available at the lobby when you arrive. Internet worked very well. The free parking was a good perk at the end of our stay.

Cons: Breakfast and service is not awesome. Rooms are kept clean, but the old part is... old. Creaking floors, average bathroom, carpets look old, balcony doors look old. This is an issue if it bothers you (we don't care, especially for the price) Our TV set had a detached cable, which I repaired. Our room was next to the elevator, and the guests upstairs were very noisy with their steps, so it was not a quiet room at all.

Anecdotes:

1. We took a shuttle straight from the airport, there was another girl checking in with a huge bag, we were ahead of her but I helped her open the door, she went straight to the front desk (it was late, nobody queued) and the receptionist yelled: "we're giving you a free upgrade to the new part of the hotel!" Cool! Guess what? We didn't get an upgrade. Of course we didn't ask for it, but with only two guests in your front desk at midnight, you can have some tact. It didn't bother us much except for...

2. No hot water for one night. We understood, the equipment just broke down in "our part" of the hotel. That's fine. But near freezing temperatures prevented us from taking a shower after a 12 hours international trip, and forced us to go out next day without proper showering :( They did solve the issue by late afternoon we arrived, and they said we could leave for another hotel with no penalty (well... moving to another hotel without showering in the middle of our vacations was not our plan)

However, we understand those are temporary issues, and the hotel has otherwise great reviews and offers excellent value, so we would stay there again and/or recommend the hotel to others.

Room Tip: Away from the elevators, and probably in the upper floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda G, Manager at University Inn - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Thank you for writing such a detailed review! I’m glad that you found value during your stay. I’m disappointed to hear that our traditional rooms were not to your pleasing. Please know that we are currently planning on completing an upgrade to our traditional rooms later this year that will address many of the issues you mentioned. I would like to sincerely apologize for the lack of hot water during your stay. Please know it was a once in a blue moon situation and we worked as fast as we could to rectify the issue. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
160 reviews 160 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

Normally always staying in the Maxwell, but because 1 group member stayed longer there was no availibilty. The suggestion was to stay nearby at the university, first impression was good as we were served excellent at the reception. The room looked old and cleanish. But the heating was terrible, tempature wasnt managed automaticly so you had to put the heating on yourselves and made a terrible noise( in all rooms) further the beds and pillows where far from nice. So we had 3 nights of major bad sleeps and were so happy we could switch back to maxwell..so No when you dint need to be in area dont go!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda G, Manager at University Inn - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to write a review. I’m disappointed to hear we did not meet your expectations. I sincerely apologize you did not receive a restful night’s sleep. Please know that we are planning upgrade our mattresses and sheets as well as the personal heating and air conditioning units in all of our guest rooms in the near future. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to University Inn - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about University Inn - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality

Address: 4140 Roosevelt Way NE, Seattle, WA 98105
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Family Hotel in Seattle
#40 Romantic Hotel in Seattle
#43 Business Hotel in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — University Inn - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality 2.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The University Inn. Where mod meets modern. Hip and happening, eclectic and groovy-The University Inn is a throwback to times when travelling was a supreme adventure and dazzling service came standard. Complementing our fun and funky decor are fantastically comfortable guest accommodations, award-winning organic cuisine and a location that can’t be beat. Here you’re just minutes from the University of Washington and a short drive to all Seattle has to offer: The Pike Place Market, Space Needle, Seattle Waterfront and more. We invite you do be our guest. Can you dig it? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your University Inn - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
University Hotel Seattle
University b&b

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage University Inn - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.