We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place to stay! Such a great hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of University Inn - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added University Inn - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality to your Saves list
University Inn - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4140 Roosevelt Way NE, Seattle, WA 98105   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$30 Off per Night!
Ranked #29 of 95 Hotels in Seattle
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Perfect place to stay! Such a great hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

This was my first time in Seattle and I picked the University Inn because it was well priced, had free breakfast and parking, and a free shuttle. It seemed to have good reviews, so we blindly went with it. I could not be more pleased!! It was possibly the best hotel I have ever stayed in, and I travel a lot. Granted, it is not super fancy, but the staff was wonderful, the place was immaculate and adorably decorated, the breakfast was generous, the room was charming and large, and the beds were incredible. I cannot say enough good things about this place! Parking was super easy and the shuttle was so wonderful to have in order to do touristy things in the city. Overall, this was a fantastic hotel and I will never stay anywhere else in Seattle. You cannot beat it for the price, but knowing what I now know, I would pay even more. I highly recommend the University Inn!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda G, Manager at University Inn - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Thank you for generous review! I will be sure to share your kind words with the whole team. I'm please to see you enjoyed so many of our amenities and I'm glad that we have become your new home when visiting Seattle. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

408 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    199
    159
    33
    14
    3
See reviews for
139
87
31
79
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

This is a great hotel, with a great price and location - in the U district, near lots of good restaurants, and of course, the University of Washington and the UW Medical Center. The decor is sort of mod-hip, but very pleasing. The room was great - lots of pillows on the bed, flat screen TV. Our deluxe room had a microwave and fridge as well. Parking was free, in lots right on the property. The front desk staff was very friendly and helpful.

They have an airport shuttle for $25.

My only complaint was breakfast - it was only the typical hotel fair: bagels, cereal, donuts, etc. The only fresh fruit was bananas (but at least they were organic). And, the had STARBUCKS coffee - ugh! I would think that with all the local, boutique roasters in Seattle, that a hip little hotel like this would have decent coffee.

If their breakfast/coffee had been better, they would have received 5 stars. I will definitely stay here on my next trip to Seattle.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcoBaumann, General Manager at University Inn - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear KrisRudin,

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback and share your experiences with other travelers. We truly appreciate that you chose our hotel for your visit. Unfortunately , you did not enjoy our complimentary breakfast offering or coffee. In our efforts to provide a quality experience for our guests, we decided to select a nationally-recognized local coffee. (Well, they started locally) We can definitely recommend our neighbor, Portage Bay for a much wider selection of breakfast offerings. We hope to welcome you back! Thanks again for your review!

Marco Baumann
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juneau, Alaska
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

I really appreciated everything about this place, as a matter of fact, I am having trouble trying to elaborate on any of the already perfect reviews. There are few the more outstanding things I would like to farther add a couple more additional comments. From the moment I walked in the front desk made me and my little dog so competely welcome. They were so outgoing I was curious to how some of their co-workers would be, I thought these 2 gals had to be an exception, geez, was I ever wrong! Every single staff person was so wonderful, outgoing and helpful! Everyone from the front desk staff to the housekeeping staff and the shuttle driver. It was also great that they had several delivery menus. Another outstanding and intuitive thing the staff did for me was, I got in late, overloaded and totally exhausted. The front desk gave me a room that was the first one outside of the elevator, a few steps outside the elavator. I found that room to be perfect and the elevator was no issue at all. I was also impressed by the locations their shuttle will take you to.

Only one thing I wish was different was the fee, per night, to have my little dog in my room. I am thrilled that they are such a pet friendly hotel, please don't change that, that was a huge draw for me. I just wish the fee was refundable. I am confident that we left the room perfectly acceptable on our check out and it could not have been $20 per night extra dirty

Otherwise, this is the best choice of a hotel and location I could have chosen. The location was ideal, comfortably outside town and the area has anything you might need.

Well so much for a short review, without elaborating on all of the other great reviews.

Room Tip: If you get in late, tired and overloaded or expect to be, request the closest room to the elevator...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcoBaumann, General Manager at University Inn - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Thank you so much for having been our guest! We're glad that our team made you and your four-legged companion feel welcome! We take great pride in our personal service and attention to every detail. We're glad you felt our commitment to hospitality.
We hope to welcome you back. In the meantime, all the very best!

Marco Baumann
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Stayed here because of its proximity to U of Washington campus. You can walk there in 5-10 minutes. Giving it only 4 stars b/c they penalize you for wanting two beds in the room instead of 1. Their h/vac system is very loud & could use an upgrade, so when we turned on the heat, it was noisy. However...it should not deter you from staying here. People are great, they have a super free breakfast and the rooms are fastidiously clean. Beds are ultra comfy, rooms are quiet, even though located on busy street.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcoBaumann, General Manager at University Inn - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear bagdad-by-the-bay,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We're delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and that the service you received was memorable. We apologize for the volume of the HVAC units. We are addressing this in a future evolution of new units in the coming months.

Thanks again for staying with us and we look forward to welcoming you back!
In the meantime, all the very best!

Marco Baumann
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita, Kansas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

I was looking for a reasonable place to stay on a short business trip. University Inn was recommended by a local. What a wonderful surprise! Fom the outside it may not look like much, but the minute you walk in the door, it feels like you have come home. The front desk people could not be nicer. Not only are they knowledgable about the area, they will go the extra mile to google directions for you AND ask how everything went when you return!

Beds are very comfortable. Bottled water and coffee free in the room. Bagels and yogurt for breakfast hit the spot (but hard boiled eggs and French toast were also available. And, if you are in the mood for a larger meal, the Portage Bay Cafe (recommended by the front desk) is right next door. Unbelievable organic and natural foods including a pancake/waffle fixings bar with fresh fruits and anything else you can imagine.

Free off-street parking made life so much easier and the hotel's free local shuttle (though we didn't have time to take advantage of it) would allow people to just leave the car and let someone else battle the Seattle traffic!

Next trip to Seattle will find me right back at the University Inn!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda G, Manager at University Inn - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Wow! What a great review! Thank you so much for recognizing the efforts of our team. I hope you are able to take advantage of our complimentary local area shuttle during your next visit. We can’t wait to welcome you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia, WA
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

We needed three rooms for three families to stay close to the UW as we were coming up to visit our niece at UW and attend a football game. We got a great advance purchase price. The staff was very helpful as we made numerous calls in the days / weeks in advance of our visit to ask questions re. transportation to the game, off street parking, directions to pubs / restaurants, etc.
The staff was so helpful. We had gorgeous, comfortable rooms on the same floor and could not have been happier.

Room Tip: Ask to be away from the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcoBaumann, General Manager at University Inn - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear NomadOlympia,

We're delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you so much for providing the glowing feedback. We're proud of our hotel and our team and are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We hope to welcome you back in the near future!
In the meantime, all the very best!

Marco Baumann
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, WA
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012 via mobile

Comfortable, cozy and warm with friendly staff walking distance to the university. The breakfast is mediocre, rooms are good size and cheery. Best perk is Keurig and assortment of tea and coffee pods. All areas of hotel are very well maintained. price seems a bit high but this is where I'll stay when visiting at the school.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to University Inn - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about University Inn - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality

Address: 4140 Roosevelt Way NE, Seattle, WA 98105
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Family Hotel in Seattle
#32 Romantic Hotel in Seattle
#37 Business Hotel in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — University Inn - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality 2.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The University Inn. Where mod meets modern. Hip and happening, eclectic and groovy-The University Inn is a throwback to times when travelling was a supreme adventure and dazzling service came standard. Complementing our fun and funky decor are fantastically comfortable guest accommodations, award-winning organic cuisine and a location that can’t be beat. Here you’re just minutes from the University of Washington and a short drive to all Seattle has to offer: The Pike Place Market, Space Needle, Seattle Waterfront and more. We invite you do be our guest. Can you dig it? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, getaroom.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your University Inn - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
University Hotel Seattle
University b&b

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage University Inn - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.