We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always a wonderful place to stay in Seattle!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Seattle

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Westin Seattle to your Saves list
The Westin Seattle
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1900 5th Ave., Seattle, WA 98101 (Belltown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #47 of 96 Hotels in Seattle
GreenLeadersGold level
Las Vegas, Nevada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Always a wonderful place to stay in Seattle!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

This hotel has impressed my expectations every time I have stayed here. Nice rooms, incredible views and very kind onsite staff to welcome you. The hotel is older but has been kept in nice condition, the restaurant RELISH Burger Bistro is great and the bar was quick and easy to access. I will stay here again and would encourage anybody looking for a nice hotel while in Seattle to do the same.

Room Tip: High floor city view rooms are amazing!
See more room tips
Green Features: this hotel participates in the green choice program and if you're able to conserve they'll reward you for it.
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

863 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    283
    371
    146
    40
    23
See reviews for
174
234
29
273
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (313)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Clemson, South Carolina
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

This is a very nice hotel near to major downtown attractions. Good hotel for business travelers and those seeking a downtown experience. Request a room on a high floor with a view of the Sound. The restaurant options could be improved, but there are many options within walking distance from the hotel.

Stayed March 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

With several great hotel options in Seattle (Sheraton, W, Renaissance, Hyatt, Fairmont…), I suggest you select the Westin as a last resort option.

The late 1960’s twin cylindrical towers were no doubt an interesting feature on the skyline in their day, but the interiors today are dated and dingy. Because the hotel is very vertical, the wait on the elevators can be annoyingly long. The rooms are pie shape, making for a very cramped bathroom. The common areas (bar, restaurant, gym etc) are certainly not up to the brand standard of a Westin. Service is very spotty and the wait can take ages for a valet-checked car.

I’m a Starwood Platinum member so if my experiences (I’ve stayed at this hotel three times in the last two months) are poor I can only imagine what someone without preferred status will be like. Trust me - - try other options first.

But if you must? The location is good with easy access to shopping, convention center etc. The bed is a typical Westin bed which is very good in my book. I’d not give the property high marks on cleanliness but the rooms are OK.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Saint Paul, Minnesota
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Great place to stay!!! Centrally located to everything. Could walk to Pikes Market Place, can take the tram or walk to the Space Needle. Would definitely stay here again. Hotel staff was friendly. Good food at the restaurant.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooke H, Manager at The Westin Seattle, responded to this review, yesterday
Thank you so much for your kind review! We are so delighted to hear that your stay was a great one and that you were able to enjoy our close proximity to Seattle attractions, our friendly staff and the food at our in-house Relish Burger Bistro. We can't wait to have you stay with us on your next visit to downtown Seattle!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

I stayed at the Weston for two nights with my family. It was the best priced hotel in downtown Seattle. The bedrooms are wonderful: comfortable bedding, with a beautiful view of Seattle. However, the breakfast was not that great. It was a small buffet with minimum choices. Halal/Kosher food was hard to get because they mixed everything. Nonetheless, this doesn't really matter considering you can just have brunch in Pike Place market

Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooke H, Manager at The Westin Seattle, responded to this review, yesterday
IThank you so much for your review. We are thrilled you were able to enjoy a comfortable stay with your family as well as a beautiful view and our close proximity to Pike Place Market. We will take your suggestions for improvements to our in-house restaurant's breakfast buffet into consideration as well as we want to ensure guests with all dietary needs are well taken care of. Our restaurant does have a seperate breakfast menu apart from the buffet and we do hope you'll have the opportunity to come back and try it. We can't wait for your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Self-parking was about $50.. The hot tub / jaccuzzi was under construction which disappointed me. Wifi costs $9 a day. Mediocre stay. I expected a lot more from them because of my past experiences with Westin in other cities.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooke H, Manager at The Westin Seattle, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Thank you for your review. All of our prices are listed on our website as well as all of our OTAs to provide clear costs when making your buying decision. WIFI is free for SPG members as well who book a stay through our website. The hot tub is no longer at our location, nor is it listed as it has been removed due to safety concerns from our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

This was a 3 day family trip for 2 adults and two children, one of whom is in a wheelchair. This hotel has 2 towers, my family and I stayed in the North Tower. You are paying for the view at this hotel. You will not get free breakfast or complimentary tea and coffee in your room. But housekeeping does give you ONE free bottle of water a day. The hotel also boasts a complimentary Westin Kids Club amenity bag full of distractions for your kids. My kids were looking forward to that and the hotel doesn't do those anymore (even though they're still advertised on their website) so my kids each got cheesy sports bottle with their logo on it. We stayed on the 47th floor which is the highest. We could see all of downtown Seattle and part of the bay...spectacular! There was no traffic noise way up there. Our neighbors were quiet and so were the elevators. The room wasn't very big; there's no drawers for your clothes however there was a small 3 drawer cabinet in the closet and 2 luggage stands to bring out into the room to put 2 of our suitcases on. The other 2 suitcases had to be accessed on the floor. The bathroom is sufficient; room for one at a time, and clean. The beds were very comfortable, however the bottom portion of our TV screen had a fuzzy interference. There's a very tiny ice bucket but there was never any ice in the ice machine down the hall. There are 4 elevators in the North Tower and they can get quite full and busy. They move very fast and can give your stomach a queasy feeling. Our first day there elevator 2 wasn't working properly; the door kept opening and closing spontaneously at Lobby level...quite disconcerting. My daughter and I enjoyed the swimming pool on the 5th floor however when we returned the next evening with my son (that uses a wheelchair) we discovered that the handicap accessible chair that was suppose to lift him into and out of the water, wasn't working. Also, beware that you must use a teeny little lift (like a miniature elevator) to even access the door to the pool. My husband squeezed onto it with our son and it shook horribly and took about 3 minutes to move up 3 feet then the door lock/latch wouldn't release so my husband had to use his room card like a credit card and slide it into the latch to get it to open.
We did like that the hotel was centrally located and we were across from a McDonald's and one block from a Bartel's Drug Store and West Lake Mall where we could eat at the food court and board the Monorail to go to the Space Needle etc. The Westin has extremely expensive valet parking. They tell you that you can use their self park garage but beware that at certain times of the day they block the entrance to self park with a sign that says "Self park closed". It's not because it's full, it's so that you'll have to use valet. I left self park at 7:30 am to drop off my husband at a conference and when I returned at 8am I couldn't get back in. The valet parking going crazy; cars were lined up out onto the street waiting to get in and I had to too. However, when i finally got up there I told them we were guests and had been parking in the self park and they let me back into that area. Overall, we will not be going back. Too much hassle with the parking, too many things weren't working and it was far too expensive to eat there.

Room Tip: If you want quiet go as high up as possible, at least higher than the 20th floor.
See more room tips
Green Features: They had a recycle garbage can in addition to the regular trash can in the room.
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Westin Seattle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Seattle

Address: 1900 5th Ave., Seattle, WA 98101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle > Belltown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Seattle
#18 Luxury Hotel in Seattle
#37 Romantic Hotel in Seattle
#40 Business Hotel in Seattle
#44 Family Hotel in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Seattle 4*
Number of rooms: 891
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Downtown Seattle Hotel is the front door to shopping, dining and the vibrant downtown Seattle experience. Walk to the Space Needle, Pike Place Market, the Great Wheel, the Aquarium and more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Starwood, BookIt.com, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Westin Seattle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Seattle Hotel Seattle
Westin Seattle
The Westin Hotel Seattle Wa
Seattle Westin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Seattle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.