We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible Experience ” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Seattle

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Westin Seattle to your Saves list
The Westin Seattle
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1900 5th Ave., Seattle, WA 98101 (Belltown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #45 of 95 Hotels in Seattle
GreenLeadersGold level
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Horrible Experience ”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

The hotel was packed. We got into a line and 20 minutes later we were told the lineup was for gold and silver SPG members. They could've put up a sign to let people know when there's a big crowd.

We booked the shopping package and the front desk lady forgot to give us our shopping voucher. We used valet and was told to give our luggage tag to the front desk agent and we waited a long time in our room for the luggages. Later on found out from the porter that he only just received the call. So the lady probably also forgot to give it to the porter.

Will not stay here again.

Stayed December 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

769 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    249
    334
    132
    35
    19
See reviews for
153
214
26
241
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (278)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jersey City, New Jersey
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
68 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This is not the Best Westin I have been to, but I am kind of surprised by all the negative feedback. The location is ok - its an easy walk to Pike Place Market and the monorail to get to the Space Needle area, but there just isn't much of interest nearby unless you like malls. They gave me a breezy check-in about four hours early, and by Seattle standards, my king room in the south tower was pretty reasonable (circa $100/night). I actually thought the tower design was handy in keeping people from having rooms far from elevators. Admittedly, the finishing of the common areas leaves a little to be desired. As for the room itself, bathroom was up to Westin standards and I didn't notice anything defective. Heavenly shower and bed were the same as other Westins and I loved them (Got an amazing night of sleep). I was on the 19th floor and the tower rooms have nice big windows looking out at downtown. I admit some of the peripheral furniture could be a little nicer. The hot tub was sadly under renovation, and the gym was the size of a closet.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This twin tower Westin didn't disappoint me. I have stayed Sheraton Seattle and Westin Seattle and I will choose this hotel over Sheraton. The rooms were updated with nice bed. Wide panoramic window across room give a extra plus. Pike Market is close by and one of my restaurant is very nearby (Serious Pie). One bad thing about this hotel is that you can't take anything out from fridge because of all the sensors!!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The Westin Seattle never fails to meet up to my expectations! The rooms are clean with nice views, the beds so comfy and the bathrooms are very nice. The best part of all is the location - one block from Macy's and a short walk to almost anything else downtown. There are lots of great restaurants nearby - and Pike Place Market is only 3 blocks away.
The lobby is a lovely place to have a night cap before heading up to your room. They also have good package rates available on the internet or through your travel agent.

Room Tip: The North Tower has the best rooms of Puget Sound. Ask for a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This review almost mirrors the review by Brian W. In our case, we stayed in 3736 (North Tower) after being given a room, 3159, in the South Tower. The first room, the bed felt mushy and the minibar door was off the hinge. The second room, 3736, appeared better.....that was until the late afternoon when we were trying to get ready for dinner only to discover that not only was there no hot water, there was no water. We called the front desk and they did send up an engineer. He was nice, patient and went about trying to figure out the problem. He said the room next to us had the same problem and that he had never seen this before. Not his fault, but it did make me wonder how thoroughly the management of this property inspects EVERYTHING. Case in point, the tub in our bathroom was horribly chipped. And when we finally got hot water, let alone water, the force coming out of the "rain shower" was pitiful. It was like watching an old man with a swollen prostate take a leak. Seriously, the price we paid for the room was not worth it given these few problems we encountered. BTW, because of the water issue, we had to cancel reservations for dinner and could not get a table for the following night. Other issues concern the elevators (slow), lack of parking (they were double parking cars in the garage), lack of decent cable service and entertainment selection in the room, and the fact that if you wanted to store ANYTHING in the fridge in the room, you would be charged $7. Moreover, if you even removed anything from the min-bar, regardless of whether you consumed it or not, you would be charged for the item, plus a 20% service charge and 8.9% sales tax. About the only thing that I can recommend about this property is its proximity to Nordstrom's and to Pike Place Market. That and the fact that the hotel personnel we interacted with were pleasant. In this regard, this negative review is no reflection on the staff, rather on the physical property. One last thing, there is no way to open the windows to get some fresh air in the room.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Netherlands
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The Westin is a very centric, comfortable hotel. Our rate did not include breakfast but there are lots of restaurants around and shopping centers, the concierge was always helpful to us when it came to advice on entertainment, shopping, renting a car etc.
Rooms are big with a fantastic view, food reasonably priced and beds are really comfortable.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Townsend, Washington
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

An ice machine outside our room was extremely loud and could be heard inside our room. The bathroom was not fully clean, no hot water for a shower and the bathtub dripped all night. The view was nice but for the price I would have expected a much better experience. For less than half the price I would suggest the Silvercloud On Broadway. I would never suggest staying here.
45 dollars for parking, overpriced food and beverages and you have to pay for wifi.
If you do find yourself staying here, bring earplugs and plenty of cash.

Room Tip: Don't stay here
See more room tips
Green Features: I stayed one night only. Ran the water for 45 minutes waiting for hot water...never came....not very eco-friendly
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Westin Seattle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Seattle

Address: 1900 5th Ave., Seattle, WA 98101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle > Belltown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Seattle
#17 Luxury Hotel in Seattle
#31 Romantic Hotel in Seattle
#40 Business Hotel in Seattle
#44 Family Hotel in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Seattle 4*
Number of rooms: 891
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Downtown Seattle Hotel is at the front door to shopping, dining and the vibrant theater district. The Westin Seattle Hotel is in the heart of it all near all the great Seattle attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Starwood, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, BookIt.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Westin Seattle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Seattle Hotel Seattle
Westin Seattle
The Westin Hotel Seattle Wa
Seattle Westin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Seattle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.