We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a bad stay and a number of minor issues” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Seattle

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added The Westin Seattle to your Saves list
The Westin Seattle
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1900 5th Ave., Seattle, WA 98101 (Belltown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #45 of 95 Hotels in Seattle
GreenLeadersGold level
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Not a bad stay and a number of minor issues”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We spent 3 nights at the Westin, having previously stayed at the Hilton. We moved due to work commitments.

When we arrived there was no one to help with the bags, there was a long queue for check in (we waited about 10 minutes), the person who checked us in had a slightly arrogant tone he wanted photo ID which was fine but the passports were in the middle of a case. We suggested he check us in and we bring then down when we had unpacked, we were told this was not possible ‘due to hotel policy’, we did mange to find some other photo ID in my wife’s handbag, which when produced for only glanced at for a millisecond.

The room we had was large and a good layout. However the bathroom is small and not a good layout, the bathroom really needs to be bigger and there is room to achieve this by reducing the wardrobe space. In addition my wife felt the bathroom floor needed a deep clean. The amenities are basic, for example there is soap but no shower gel, quality is okay but nothing special. We did hear some noise from the corridor during the night. The heating control in the room works well and the heating is very quite.

We opted to no have the room cleaned every day, and earn extra SPG points, they were however happy to provide addition soap and conditioner etc if requested, again there was a queue at reception.

We ordered room service on the first night and enjoyed the meal, it arrived promptly and was hot. My only minor comment might be that the portion sizes were a bit small (very unusual for America).

The hotel is well located for visiting the city centre and also walking to either Lake Union (20 minutes) or the Space Needle (15 minutes).

On our last full day is rained, again there for a queue to borrow an umbrella and then a queue when we came to return it a day later, they need more concierge.

On checkout again there was no one to help with the bags.

Room Tip: See if they have a room with a sensible sized bathroom.
See more room tips
Green Features: Very good, the room had a dedicated recycling bin.
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

739 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    238
    322
    127
    34
    18
See reviews for
145
210
24
234
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (268)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

We are SPG members so are always looking to stay at an SPG hotel. We have stayed at the Westin in the past and like the location of this hotel. Although we were on vacation, this is more a business hotel, but the service to wonderful, layout easy to maneuver, and a perfect place to stay to get to Pike Market as well as the museums and downtown.

The room on the SPG floor was clean, with excellent service. Beds are very comfy and the layout of the tower makes it a quick walk to the elevators.

The Westin Fitness area is incredible. There is a cardio room, resistence training in another room and a beautiful pool.

The concierge was able to help us make reservations one evening, and although the place she recommended was good, when discussing travel, she did not know to warn us of after work traffic delays. In fact because of this oversight when advising us on travel we missed the first 15 minutes of a tour we had planned. But if that is the only negative, then that is no big deal.

Will stay there again when returning to Seattle.

Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I'm a fan of the heavenly beds and showers and this Westin did not disappoint. The staff was nice and it's in a good location. I was able to walk to shopping, my business meetings and restaurants. Will definitely stay again on my next trip to the city

Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Fl
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

As longtime SPG members, we have stayed in too many Westin hotels to count.
This tired property was the worst.
The room was just o-k: everything, including the bed, looked and felt old and used up.
This is a hotel to stay in if you have no other option.
Like it's sister property, The Sheraton, it is crazy busy continuously with hoards of cranky travelers.

There are so many other great hotels in Seattle-check them out instead of suffering here.

Room Tip: Go to another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reykjavik, Iceland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

I really liked the checkin process, smooth and was offered to switch from a king to two doubles higher up the towers with a better view of the city. Concierge seemed to know what she was talking about and gave me good pointers on how to spend my one day layover in Seattle.

Room was ok sized, clean and really nothing to complain about. Really short distances from elevators to the rooms since all rooms spiral around the elevators in a tower-like shape.

Smack in the middle of the city, walking distance to all the major stores, target city, macys, nordström, jc and a short walk to the monorail station (to go to the space needle and glass museum) and to pike market.

All in all: this would be a 5 star review if it wasn't for the paid internet...

Room Tip: Ask for a room high up facing the water, the view from the window is quite good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie S, Sales Coordinator at The Westin Seattle, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Thank you for sharing your experience. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time spent in Seattle and at the Westin. We look forward to your next stay with us.

Be Well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The Westin has always been a quality hotel brand and this hotel kept that trend alive. I was here mainly for a few days before business in nearby cities to check out the city. The location is walking distance to the Market Place and lots of shops! The bed was comfy, room had lots of space, plenty of outlets and I enjoyed a high floor view. Food options were just alright - nothing too exciting. Hotel and valet staff was top notch.

Sadly, I had to spend a lot of time in here for unplanned business and there was one major letdown...the basic wifi (free via my SPG Gold status) was BEYOND SLOW, even on a simple Google search. I'm talking 1998 AOL dial up speeds; exactly what the businessman of today cannot have. This forced me to spend more time waiting on downloads of business docs than out enjoying the city. I couldn't complain at the time because I was on a deadline but I did complain afterwards. The staff were very nice and apologetic about it and upgraded my speed for free during the rest of my stay but it was of little help after the fact. Personally, I think it's highway robbery to advertise free wifi for SPG Gold members (when it is insanely slow) then ask for $30/day for faster speed. The speeds and pricing policy for wireless needs to be addressed ASAP.

The wireless was my ONLY major complaint about this stay; everything else was great.

My personal needs checklist:

King Sized Pillows on King Size Bed: YES
Fast WIFI Option (4mbs+): YES (but a $30/day cost)
Walk In Shower: NO
Fan on option for nighttime sound suppression: YES
HD Feed on every channel: YES
Fridge available (aside from in room hotel paid snacks): Did not ask/was not needed
Hot Tub: NO
Sanua/Steam Room: NO
Light blocking shades: YES (did not wake me up!)

Room Tip: Pick a high floor for a great view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie S, Sales Coordinator at The Westin Seattle, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Thank you for sharing your positive experience. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and found the staff to be top notch! We look forward to your next visit.

Be Well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, Washington
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

and a spacious room. The location couldn't be better for those who like to shop and is centrally located for other activities downtown. Parking is expensive so be prepared but is comparable throughout downtown Seattle.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Westin Seattle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Seattle

Address: 1900 5th Ave., Seattle, WA 98101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle > Belltown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Seattle
#17 Luxury Hotel in Seattle
#31 Romantic Hotel in Seattle
#42 Business Hotel in Seattle
#43 Family Hotel in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Seattle 4*
Number of rooms: 891
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Downtown Seattle Hotel is at the front door to shopping, dining and the vibrant theater district. The Westin Seattle Hotel is in the heart of it all near all the great Seattle attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Starwood, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Reservation Counter, Odigeo, Otel, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Westin Seattle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Seattle Hotel Seattle
Westin Seattle
The Westin Hotel Seattle Wa
Seattle Westin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Seattle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.