We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay and superb position” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Seattle

Save Saved
You added The Westin Seattle to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Westin Seattle
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1900 5th Ave., Seattle, WA 98101 (Belltown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #45 of 95 Hotels in Seattle
GreenLeadersGold level
Cape Town
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent stay and superb position”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

A clean business type hotel, all amenities and extremely helpful efficient staff. Clean, centrally positioned ie. close to Macy's, Nordstrom and Starbucks as well as the monorail that takes you directly to the Space Needle and the 2 other museums right next to each other. Walking distance to Pike Market as well.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

675 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    219
    298
    110
    32
    16
See reviews for
136
193
23
207
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (244)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
El Paso, Texas
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

I have always preferred the Seattle Sheraton over it's sister property,the Seattle Westin, because it has always given me a nice room upgrade and it has a club lounge for certain SPG members. The Sheraton was fully booked this time around, so I visited the Westin. I had to wait a long time to be checked in. While waiting, a woman came out of a small enclave and called the next person out of line to check in with her - it turned out to be the SPG member line. It was not well advertised at all, it could have saved me a lot of time if it was better marked.

The person that checked me in was a flaming asian, but with otherwise pretty plain service. I scored a very nice room upgrade with a wonderful view. Unfortunately Seattle Westin still doesn't have a club, but they do provide a credit to platinum members to their restaurant for breakfast, good for either a free continental breakfast or a $12 breakfast buffet (after the credit). It was okay, but not great. The valet charge is always being jacked up every year, approaching $50/night.

What really burned my butt was that they only give a single bottle of complimentary water and put a $10 sucker bottle of Fiji water in the room. I did without, yet a charge of $10 still showed up on my invoice. I don't like having to denigrate myself to call and fight about this type of a rip-off. So, despite what might have otherwise been a 4/5 rating, I must relegate it down to a 3/5. if not for the upgrade, it would have tempted a 2/5 rating.

Room Tip: Be SPG with over 100 nights/year
See more room tips
Green Features: The showers stink in environmentally-friendly hotels. I was not impressed with the shower, so it must be environmentally-friendly.
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

This hotel was so easy to get to using the light rail from the airport. The hotel itself had excellent rooms although the curved windows were a little weird for me. The bed was comfortable and the in room wi-fi was very good quality. The restaurant on the ground floor of the hotel had excellent food for both breakfast and lunch. The late check-out on Sunday, which was coincidentally when I was leaving was also very helpful as I had time to go have a shower just before taking the 2 minute walk to the light rail station to go back to the airport/

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Jersey
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Location couldn't be better, I walked absolutely everywhere, including to the monorail. When reserving, I had requested a high floor with a view of the Space Needle, and this is what I got. What a view!! The room was spotless, and the bed was very comfortable. No complaints really.

Great staff.

I love Seattle!! Hope to come back to this great city, and The Westin will be my home.

Room Tip: Request high floor with view of Space Needle. Watch the sunset!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macomb, Michigan
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

The rooms were a good size and very clean. Beds were comfortable and made for a good nights sleep. Great location, not too far of a walk to some main attractions!
We did not utilize the fitness center, but it looked decent. Only negative was the price of breakfast. A coffee, a yogurt and two muffins cost $25. A bit steep!!

  • Stayed September 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
douglassville
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We stayed here before our cruise to Alaska, fantastic hotel, great location, you can just walk around the town from this hotel. The staff was very nice. We stayed on 43rd floor , great view.Can just walk right to the Space Needle,.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I gave this Westin a 3 solely because of the view. Last time we stayed in Downtown Seattle we stayed at a boutique because it was less expensive than the Westin but we won't be choosing the Westin again any time soon. Our boutique hotel was MUCH better. The location of this Westin is great in terms of proximity to Pike Place, but it's hideous entry was disheartening. Staff mischarged us for the upgrade we requested and we had to fix that. Mistyped and entered my name for my Starwood preferred - twice. It didn't feel safe walking around the block at night either. Absolutely no staff outside or near entry when we got back from dinner and the key-card entry to get in to the building was being really finnicky. Did I mention a bum was literally following us around as we scrambled to enter? Harrassing us and asking if we had cash and we couldn't get in the hotel.... and there was no one helping us in... it was scary. No robes in the rooms. Mediocre ammenities. A weighted mini bar? SERIOUSLY? Didn't those get tossed out years ago? Yes, I had to call to make sure I didn't get charged for simply picking up a diet coke and putting it back. Again - GREAT view but that was it. We will be choosing our boutique hotel again next time. This is the second Westin we've stayed at lately that has been sub par compared to the one in our home town. I will be taking Westin off my radar from now on unfortunately.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a higher floor so you can enjoy the great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Westin Seattle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Seattle

Address: 1900 5th Ave., Seattle, WA 98101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle > Belltown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Seattle
#17 Luxury Hotel in Seattle
#31 Romantic Hotel in Seattle
#41 Family Hotel in Seattle
#43 Business Hotel in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Seattle 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Downtown Seattle Hotel is at the front door to shopping, dining and the vibrant theater district. The Westin Seattle Hotel is in the heart of it all near all the great Seattle attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Starwood, Booking.com, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Tingo, Orbitz, Priceline, Reservation Counter, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Otel and Venere so you can book your The Westin Seattle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Seattle Hotel Seattle
Westin Seattle
The Westin Hotel Seattle Wa
Seattle Westin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Seattle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.