We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, fabulous view, dinky room” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Seattle

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Westin Seattle to your Saves list
The Westin Seattle
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1900 5th Ave., Seattle, WA 98101 (Belltown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #48 of 97 Hotels in Seattle
GreenLeadersGold level
South Florida
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Great location, fabulous view, dinky room”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

We stayed at the Westin Seattle for four nights. The location can't be beat. We were able to take light rail from and to the airport and walked between the hotel and the station.

I fell for a teaser offer from the hotel ahead of our stay and booked a high floor room with a view. The view was absolutely stunning. We were able to see the Great Wheel, Pike Place Market and the sound.

I still found the room way overpriced, even with a conference rate. We had two double beds in the room, which was smallish by today's business hotel standards. There was only one tiny nightstand between the beds and it was completely occupied by the lamp, phone, and clock radio. While I appreciated having a desk and two conversation chairs and a small table, the extra bed meant the room was absolutely crammed full of furniture. There was a small closet with one tiny chest of drawers. For two people (even light packers like us) on a four-night stay, I found the room to be too small. We couldn't stow our luggage out of the way and it seemed like we were constantly tripping over each other and our luggage. I can't even imagine the horror of trying to fit four people into this room.

There were plenty of outlets for charging devices. We just had to find them. There was a charging station tucked behind the TV.

The room had a safe, though ours didn't work and we didn't bother to call and get it fixed.

The room and the bathroom were clean. The bathroom had a magnification mirror. Once the fluorescent lights warmed up, the bathroom was well-lit. I really appreciated the light directly over the tub/shower. And we both liked the rain shower head.

The staff here were gracious, attentive, and friendly.

I'd stay here again if the price was right, though I'd shop for a better value and a larger room.

Room Tip: Go for a high floor with a view of the sound. Try to avoid a room with two beds--that's too muc...
See more room tips
Green Features: I appreciate what Westin is doing in terms of water saving and energy saving. As an alternative to "no maid service", I'd prefer a "light maid service" option where the maid will still empty trash, vacuum, and change out a towel or two if needed.
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshleyGuestServices, Public Relations Manager at The Westin Seattle, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback with us and the TripAdvisor community. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the views, convenient location and friendly staff. Your comments regarding the room will be communicated to our staff as we are always seeking to improve the guest experience. We look forward to having you stay with us again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

903 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    292
    391
    154
    43
    23
See reviews for
183
242
30
291
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (330)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Osaka, Japan
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

Great place to be. Located in centre of the city, cozy rooms.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

I just returned from staying in one of the "deluxe suites" at the Westin and while the view was excellent I found the amenities to include the bathrooms really tired especially for a "Deluxe Suite". Truthfully the tub/ shower reminded me of my days staying at a Motel 6 or some other budget hotel where you had a chintzy shower curtain and water pressure I'd liken to that of a clogged hose. I have no issue paying for quality but this wasn't what I'd term "deluxe suite" except for the view.

On the bright side the staff were brilliant in every way. One night we had a rather large party and Mali worked her wonders to get us into a great Indian Restaurant down by Pike's Market.

While I'd stay there again in main part because of the views I'd definitely NOT waste my money for a suite

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshleyGuestServices, Public Relations Manager at The Westin Seattle, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience with us and the TripAdvisor community. We are happy to hear the location was an excellent fit and the customer service was exceptional. Thank you for your feedback on the bathroom. We are always looking to improve and take our guests suggestions very seriously. We hope that you will give us another opportunity of service again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

It is downtown and close to Nordstroms, however, for the price of the room at $259.00 I've stayed at nicer hotels with more amenities for allot less money. There is only one restaurant in this hotel and it's claim to fame is hamburgers! I'll review Relishes under restaurants. Wi-Fi is not free!! unless you join there points club not a big deal just irritating to deal with at check in. The only parking available is there valet garage and it's billed to your room at the rate of $47.31 per night! We were there for the U of Arizona event there were supposed to be rooms for $180.00 but they weren't honoring that since the block of rooms were closed out. Not a great experience with two rooms, valet and over priced hamburgers!

Room Tip: At least ask for a view, none of the windows open so it does get stuffy at night
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niva, Denmark
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

Couldn't have been a better stay. The staff was friendly and were quickly to help us getting a crip and refrigerator for our baby. We stayed in a Grand View Room and it was worth every $, fantastic view - will stay there again definitely.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, UK
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014 via mobile

This should be far better than it is. A great location with fabulous views out over the bay and city, certainly from our room on the 33rd floor. The rooms are spacious, with all the usual facilities, although the bathroom lacked a separate shower, and the shower head over the bath could rise no further than 5ft, meaning to shower properly and wash your hair you have to bend double. Also only a soap bar and no shower gel. Is this a cost cutting exercise? The pool area is most disappointing for a hotel of this size. The changing room is tiny, with just 9 lockers. There should be 10, but the final one had its door missing. The lockers are keypad operated, but without any instructions. There are disabled hoists besides the pool and whirlpool, but I would be surprised if anyone used them as the pool area itself is only accessed along a narrow corridor and nine steps. The time switch for the whirlpool is 25 feet away from the pool itself, which was most irritating.
Overall I would have expected better.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshleyGuestServices, Public Relations Manager at The Westin Seattle, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience with us and the TripAdvisor Community. We are very glad to hear the the location and fabulous views were a perfect fit for you. We are disappointed that there were areas of your stay that did not meet your standards and expectations. We apologize for the inconveniences and would like you to know your feedback will be shared with the appropriate staff. We hope that we will be able to have you join us again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Hills, California
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

If you want walking access to everything that Seattle has to offer, then this is the place! The rooms are a bit small and some rooms have better views than others, but overall a great place. You have to try to tater tots in the onsite restaurant - so good! Additionally, the staff is super helpful and friendsly. I highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for one on the upper floors so you get the view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshleyGuestServices, Public Relations Manager at The Westin Seattle, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience with us and the TripAdvisor community. We are delighted to hear that you had a great time with us during your visit. We hope to be your home away from home when you are in Seattle.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Westin Seattle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Seattle

Address: 1900 5th Ave., Seattle, WA 98101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle > Belltown
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Seattle
#20 Luxury Hotel in Seattle
#36 Romantic Hotel in Seattle
#42 Business Hotel in Seattle
#46 Family Hotel in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Seattle 4*
Number of rooms: 891
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Downtown Seattle Hotel is the front door to shopping, dining and the vibrant downtown Seattle experience. Walk to the Space Needle, Pike Place Market, the Great Wheel, the Aquarium and more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Starwood, Hotels.com, BookIt.com and Priceline so you can book your The Westin Seattle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Seattle Hotel Seattle
Westin Seattle
The Westin Hotel Seattle Wa
Seattle Westin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Seattle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.