We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Seattle

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Westin Seattle to your Saves list
The Westin Seattle
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1900 5th Ave., Seattle, WA 98101 (Belltown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #46 of 95 Hotels in Seattle
GreenLeadersGold level
Long Beach, CA
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 5 nights last July. The location is the best part of the hotel! You can walk to most places and its very close to Pikes market, coffee, bars and if course tons of restaurants. We do enjoy staying downtown when we travel though.
The room was spacious and we upgraded to the deluxe with a water view. The windows are floor to ceiling so we really had an amazing view.
The downside to the hotel is that it's extremely crowded all the time. This was our 2nd stay here (another time in October for a Seahawks game) and there's a lot of people everywhere. If you're looking for a quaint hotel, this is NOT it.
Also, it was a little overpriced for a Westin. We are Starwood members so stay at them often. This sent one of my favorites but it will do because of the service and views.
Overall, I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Upgrade for a room with a water view!
See more room tips
Green Features: Very green hotel. You can refuse room service and get Starwood points or free meals.
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

765 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    248
    332
    132
    35
    18
See reviews for
153
214
25
240
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (278)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City, Utah
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Unfortunately this hotel did not live up to the “Starwood” reputation. I am a really easy person to please, but this hotel was horrible. There were dogs in the room next to ours that barked incessantly. Security showed up at our door at 8PM to say that the dog-owners said we were being too noisy. We immediately brought up the barking dogs and they seemed uninterested. We called security 2 more times to complain about the barking dogs…still nothing. Beware of all the fees too. Parking is outrageous $41 overnight to self park at the hotel – we ended up using a lot down the street that was less expensive. Beverages and snacks in the room are extremely overpriced ($5.00 for a coke). And take note that you WILL be charged for items if they get moved even 1 centimeter…really inconvenient when you have small kids who like to touch everything. There is also a $7.00 charge to put anything of your own in the fridge, which is weighted so they will know! What a rip-off. $10 for WiFi. Did I mention the beds are small, saggy and uncomfortable? We stopped in Seattle again a week later and chose not to stay here again. Trust me when I say this: Stay at the Hyatt Place! Free Internet, Free 24 hour shuttle within a mile (they took us to dinner and picked us up and also took us to the aquarium), Free hot breakfast, Free use of the fridge, SUPER friendly staff, nice little café with wine, beer, coffee menu items, parking here is only $20. Best of all…..the bed at Hyatt Place was better than our bed at home!

Room Tip: Ask if you are being placed next to a pet-friendly room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park City, Utah
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Had a great time visiting Seattle and I loved the Westin! Centrally located and awesome room with an amazing view! Within walking distance of great restaurants, night life, and Pikes Place. Perfect for a weekend getaway.

Green Features: They have "Make A Green Choice" program! Easy for us over the weekend to stay green in such a beautiful city!
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little River, South Carolina
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Centrally located, within walking distance of attractions, dining and public transportation the Westin was a great ending to our most recent trip. The service was fantastic as was the restaurant within the hotel. Clean and well appointed rooms, good views and an excellent staff. Would highly recommend and definitely would stay there again.

Room Tip: The hotel is circular - almost any room will have some sort of city view, on higher floors you may e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MIami Fllorida, USA
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

I went on my first Alaskan Cruise in 2010 and i wanted to stay in a very nice hotel. I thought about it long and hard and finally settled on the Westin. I was not disappointed with my stay one bit, the heavenly bed was a welcoming relief to such a long flight all the way from Miami. So in 2013 I went on my 2nd Alaskan Cruise and i chose non other than the Westin, and the service was just as i left it. Close to alot of sights and shopping and the Monorail that goes striaght to the Sky needle. In 2015 I am planning another Alaskan cruise and Westin is still my pick.

Room Tip: Get a room at the top Floors the Views are Amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary AB
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Ryan the hiker was fantastic at check in/out. Only reason I gave 4 on service was the housekeeping staff who woke us up at 8am on one morning. However hotel handled it amazingly well. The view from our room was breathtaking and I did not even go up the needle-our view was comparable.
I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairbanks, Alaska
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013 via mobile

I've probably stayed at this property 60 times in the last 15 years. It's like a wife. We've had our ups and downs but she's always there for me when I need her.

The driving access is a little funky because of the way Virginia cuts diagonally in front of the hotel. You will figure it out. The lobby and counter area are nice an roomy. They do fill up at peak times. The towers are identical except for the views. Rooms are standard Westin except they have built in beds with lights for reading. The curved building makes the rooms a little oddly shaped.

The only negative is the lack of a really good restaurant on premises. The area around the hotel has hundreds of restaurants so its not a big deal. If your room faces the other tower watch your curtains. Other rooms are visible.

Easy walking to everything downtown. This is a nice predictable hotel that will serve anyone needing a place in Downtown Seattle.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Westin Seattle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Seattle

Address: 1900 5th Ave., Seattle, WA 98101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle > Belltown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Seattle
#17 Luxury Hotel in Seattle
#31 Romantic Hotel in Seattle
#40 Business Hotel in Seattle
#44 Family Hotel in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Seattle 4*
Number of rooms: 891
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Downtown Seattle Hotel is at the front door to shopping, dining and the vibrant theater district. The Westin Seattle Hotel is in the heart of it all near all the great Seattle attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Starwood, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Westin Seattle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Seattle Hotel Seattle
Westin Seattle
The Westin Hotel Seattle Wa
Seattle Westin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Seattle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.