We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely not for families with small children” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Sorrento Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Sorrento Hotel to your Saves list
The Sorrento Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   900 Madison St., Seattle, WA 98104   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 95 Hotels in Seattle
Seattle, Washington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Definitely not for families with small children”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2010

Let me preface this review by saying that I did book through Priceline and got this hotel when I bid on a 4 star downtown resort. After being told by Priceline that I was booked at the Sorrento, I checked their individual website and tried to cancel the reservation because I knew it wouldn't work for a family. Here's why: the resort is TECHNICALLY "downtown" but in the First Hill district, past the I-5. HILL being the key word here. Yes, it is totally possible to walk to the waterfront and Pike's Place areas, but it is a very steep incline and you have to pass the I-5 there and back. Now, add a stroller to the equation and you're going to have a not so great time going down and a hell of time heading back up. There is NO shuttle service. NO shuttle service to the airport, NO shuttle service to the waterfront or Pike's place. As my family and I were walking down and up town, we were amazed at all the other hotels that offered shuttle services, it seems like that would be an amenity offered by a so-called 4 star resort. Well, not the Sorrento. Granted, the concierge or valet could dispatch you a taxi, but after paying $35.00/day for valet, plus tip, the last thing I wanted to do was pay $10.00 for a cab ride. And yes, we could've driven closer to the meca of downtown but parking can be problematic and will cost you just as much as our hotel valet fees.
The Sorrento is in a "quieter" part of town; however, there is an Emergency room entrance within stone's throw of the hotel. Which means we were woken up only twice by ambulance sirens. Upon check-in we were told we were booked in a queen size suite (of course they don't tell you that all of their rooms are "suites." When asked if we could get a room with two beds, due to traveling with kids, we were told that our "suite" had a pull-out sofa. After previewing the pull out, we opted for the roll-away that they also offered upon check-in. It barely fit in our "living" area and was not very comfortable. The air conditioning in the room is also located in the "living" area and didn't work very well. Which meant that the person sleeping on the pullout would be cold and the persons sleeping in the bedroom would be hot. I would have opened the windows; but they were positioned to low to the floor and having kids, would have been disastrous. The curtain rod in the living area kept falling down when we tried to close the curtains and the toilet "ran" unless you jiggled the handle after every flush. The caulking under the toilet is also cracking away which means that the toilet wobbles as you're using it. There is no indoor pool or hot tub, another amenity that I expected with a four star hotel. The customer service was above average and everyone we dealt with was pleasant. The internet was free but wired. I don't know how "stars' are awarded but this is definitely NOT a 4 star hotel.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

601 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    391
    144
    39
    20
    7
See reviews for
70
247
46
117
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2010

Found a deal through hotels.com for $75 dollars off and upon arrival was told we were receiving a free upgrade. Yay! Room was big and clean. Staff was friendly and helpful, but when inquired about the complementary car service to go to the train station, was told they could call us a cab. Was quieter than expected since it is between two hospitals, only heard one siren during the night; but, was woken around 2am by the person above walking around, could hear everything and made it difficult to sleep. The biggest pitfall is the location, the hotel is at the top of a huge hill and if you do not have a vehicle is definitely not enjoyable to walk to at the end of a long day on your feet. Also, was not able to connect to the hotels Wi-Fi. It is within walking distance to all major sight seeing places. There is a cafe across the street and a drug store one block up, also a grocery store a couple blocks down.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2010

This is by no means a new and modern hotel but it is so clean, the service is great and it's so darn charming and romantic. We'd definitely stay there again. Our first night we had a queen size bed which wasn't going to work for us (our mistake for not requesting a king on check-in). The second day we requested a king room - no problem - they cheerfully changed our room for us. The $32 per day parking is steep. We decided that in light of that and the cost of a rental car, parking fees wherever we went - we just wouldn't bother renting a car again. Cheaper to do cabs. Wonderful hotel - we recommend it - the staff is great!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
British Columbia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2010

If you go on expedia, you can get an amazing deal on the Sorrento suite - a large 1 bedroom beautifully appointed suite. The hotel was built at the turn of the century and has preserved that decor - high ceilings, antiques, Rookwood tile, walnut paneling, etc. The staff are young, intelligent, and actually engaged in their positions! Excellent service. We are light sleepers so the very quiet (and safe) location in the middle of the medical district was ideal. We also like to walk - the hotel is a 10 minute walk from downtown (waterfront), and a 10 minute walk from the funky Broadway area, so it was perfectly situated for us. If you like your hotels to feel quiet, intimate, boutique, and oozing with character, this is the place for you.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2010

The Sorrento was on a "best list" over four years ago based on the certificate in the lobby. I can understand why it hasn't been on any lists since and it only has its owners to blame. Broken windows (or ones that don't shut), leaking AC units (if you have one), worn and mismatched furniture. The list goes on. We were in two different suites and most everything needs to be repaired or updated. It looks like a historic luxury hotel in the lobby and exterior but sadly it's crying on the inside for some TLC. The staff was awesome though but I wouldn't stay here again.

Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2010 via mobile

Wow, I stayed here for my honeymoon and it could not have been better. Now, my wife and I are not accustomed to luxury so every tiny detail was a pleasant surprise. Ie they change the elevator carpet every night at midnight to display the new day. Also our room had a beautiful bathroom the size of a new York apartment lol jk but it was large with a double size bathtub and marble tile. The service was great extremely helpful and courteous. The only downside and this is not the hotels fault but Seattle esp. This area is very hilly so if u are fit have no worries everything is accessible from walking but if walking is problematic U may want to find a different location. Since I don't mind walking thus is definitely my new go to for Seattle if I ever come back or recommend.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sedona, AZ
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2010

The Sorrento Hotel is definitely at the top of my list. Charming boutique hotel with turn of the century charm but up to date amenities. At the top of a hill and a 15-20 minute walk from Capitol Hill or downtown, the hotel was generous with the Towne Car. The service was excellent, the young staff knowledgeable about restaurants, and all apparently emotionally invested in the hotel. Travelocity failed to let the hotel know our son was with us, but we were quickly upgraded to a suite. Thank you Sorrento for a great first time in Seattle.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Sorrento Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sorrento Hotel

Address: 900 Madison St., Seattle, WA 98104
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Seattle
#18 Romantic Hotel in Seattle
#19 Family Hotel in Seattle
#22 Business Hotel in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Sorrento Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your The Sorrento Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sorrento Hotel Seattle

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Sorrento Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.